We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Impromptu stop on the trip between Natchez and Vicksburg

A historical gem. Wandered upon it, by accident, directed by signs on Hwy 61. Well worth the stop... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
N6687EOjulies
,
Slidell, Louisiana
via mobile
Great history

This is a very neat site with out buildings to tour and a well established museum. Shelley was very... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
TSchae
,
Foxworth, Mississippi
via mobile
Read all 91 reviews
  
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
58
22
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
22
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation tower mississippi river horse drawn military park civil war interesting artifacts full hookups old church the loop vicksburg campaign plan to return rv camping lower campground picnic area new orleans great history natchez trace
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We camped here and my rating is not for the camp but for a visit to the park. There is a museum with lots of artifacts and nice staff to help you out. After perusing the museum we walked out and viewed the various buildings with equipment and and older home which was empty but you could walk through it and even get up into the attic. The site includes a driving or walking loop to the top of a hill with an observation tower, which was fun and easy to climb. You could see the river from this tower and it was nice to get an overall view of the area. We finished the walk through the rest of the loop and felt we got a good dose of history, the outdoors and a little bit of a workout, too.

We stated in the lower loop of the camp ground. Most if not all of the spots are taken by locals with RVs that are parked there but not occupied or were occupied by workers at the next door nuclear power plant. It created a very strange vibe to the place, we ended up leaving early because our site was sunny and it was getting hot and humid, and there wasn’t much else to do there. The bathhouses were nice but needed some cleaning.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank FulltimeRVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The lay out is a bit strange, upper loop and lower loop, definitely not good for people needing to use the bath house. IT is close to a civil war iron side boat, a great restoration, and the travel along the Mississippi is very interesting.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

I have visited the park since I was little, I am 63 ! It is beautiful, not just Civil War, so much to see so plan a whole day but bring your lunch and enjoy a peaceful lunch at one of the many picnic tables. Great campgrounds with concrete RV pads. Observation tower you can see up and down the Mississippi River. Many old buildings housing history, museum has thousands of artifacts from a mastodon bone to WWII items. The old town of Grand Gulf cemetery is on the grounds, a horse drawn Hearse bought in New Orleans, a Civil War Ambulance made by Studebaker. About 30 miles south of Vicksburg, it was a part of the Vicksburg Campaign. Check it out, support this great place.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank CRMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

In planning our drive between Vicksburg and Natchez, I saw almost no mention of Grand Gulf. But after seeing some of the great reviews on this site I decided to take the short detour off the Trace to visit the park. It turned out to be a great decision; the park was one of our favorite stops during our drive.

The history of Grand Gulf is fascinating. From a thriving port city, to a ghost town in less than a year century. The park pays tribute to that history.

For those use to the polished National Park Service historic parks, Grand Gulf Military Park may seem a little underdeveloped. But I appreciated the low-key style of the park. There's a small, interesting welcome center/museum, with an eclectic collection of objects - from dinosaur bones, to arrowheads, to cannonballs. The friendly staff gave us a quick, fascinating history of Grand Gulf and a one-page map of the site. Then we were on our own to wonder as we chose, visiting the remains of the confederate fort, an old mill, a pretty church, and some interesting gun placements at the top of the hill.

Another highlight of the visit was across the street from the main portion of the park. You can follow a paved road down to the Mississippi River. There's a pretty picnic area and one of the few places we found where you can walk right down to the river (you have to navigate some rocks). We had the place to ourselves and it was a great spot to stop and really appreciate the power of the river, as it came around a bend.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay. We were there for three nights and were able to learn so much about the history of this area. It is a civil war battlefield sight and my cousins reenactment group was there doing Q&A for visitors. The spots on top campground were spacious with all amenities except internet.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews