We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly affordable”
Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 424 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Northside Dr.
Description: Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday. Private dining and catering are available for groups.
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent taste and quality food at affordable prices. Great ambiance and high class service. Perfect for special occasions or date night, or business lunch. Highly recommended.

Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Carla,

Thank you for the recommendation! It is a delight to hear that your recent visit to Char was a memorable one. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the food and ambiance of the restaurant. Thanks again for sharing your feedback; we hope you'll return again in the near future!

Panna Varga
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

Went here for lunch one Friday afternoon. Easily one of better restaurants in Jackson.Loved the ambience here. Very attentive service on a busy day. Would strongly recommend the Fried Green Tomatoes, Crab Claws, BBQ Shrimp and the Pecan Crusted Blackfish!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank divinedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi,
Thank you for the five stars! It's a pleasure to hear that your recent visit to Char was a memorable one. We strive to provide an outstanding dining experience to each and every guest, so it's wonderful knowing yours was no exception. The Fried Green Tomatoes and the Pecan Crusted Blackfish are some of our favorites too. Thanks again for the review; we hope you'll return again in the near future!
Panna Varga
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I recently enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Char Restaurant in Jackson. The ambiance was classy, very nice. The tables had white tablecloths so you got the feeling of dining but without the stuffiness of some establishments. The restaurant was full of families and friends enjoying a meal after church. We sat towards the back of the restaurant and I noticed a good-sized private room where a large group was celebrating a baby shower. We also enjoyed a couple of songs by a roving 3-piece jazz band. The food was delicious. I had the French Toast, my husband had the Southern Benny and our friends had the chicken and waffles. It was a very pleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scrapgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi,
Thank you for the five stars! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance and food from your recent visit to Char. It sounds like you made excellent brunch menu choices- the French Toast and Southern Benny are always winners! Thanks again for sharing your feedback; we hope you'll return again in the near future!
Panna Varga
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Great Steak! Best in Jackson. Central location. Great for a business lunch, or a nice date night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gwe2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison W, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi,
Thank you for the recommendation! It's a pleasure to hear that your recent visit to Char was a memorable one. We strive to provide an outstanding dining experience to each and every guest that walks through our doors, so it's wonderful knowing that yours was no exception. Thanks again for the review; we hope you'll return again soon!
Panna Varga
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We went to Char today for lunch, 10/2/2018) because they have a lunch special on Tuesday which includes short ribs. They are usually exceptional! Today as we sat down we noticed the price had jumped substantially to $17.00! I know beef prices are on the upswing so I tried to understand. We ordered as normal and the service was outstanding as always but I was very disappointed when the meal came. The short rib was approximately one third the normal portion and the meat was completely off of the bone. I know this may be considered a good this but if they are going to serve the bone, shouldn't the meat, at least, be touching the bone in some manner. If not, just toss the bone????? Anyway, the short rib was missing the normal sauce that usually comes poured on top of the beef. Very disappointed an will be hesitant to return there for lunch any time soon. Such a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boomer2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your recent visit to Char. We did recently update that particular dish, however, I'm sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the presentation. The new cut of beef we are serving has a higher meat to fat ratio (it's a shorter cut that is higher up on the rib than our previous cut), leading to a more "fall-off-the-bone" tenderness. As you mentioned, the cost of beef has risen, given the higher price for the dish. Again, I apologize that this is not what you were expecting, and regret that you didn't care for the new version. We offer two specials each day as well as an extensive selection of other lunch entrees, so we do hope that you will return to try some of those in the near future. We appreciate your patronage and feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing