We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit still great ”
Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 413 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Northside Dr.
Description: Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday. Private dining and catering are available for groups.
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We came here with a large group of 11 for lunch. The food is always good here. We did have some mix ups with our food with a couple of people getting their food late. The restaurant handled it well taking off the meals from the bill. A true class act.

Thank Funtimes522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

First time there. Waitress was personable but over loaded. Atmosphere was nice. My ribeye was very tough. Had major expectations for a great steak based on the name of the restaurant and the prices. Disappointed but didn't complain. Doubt we will go back.

Thank jacsanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent meal with us. We take pride in serving high quality meats, so it is disappointing to hear that your ribeye was tough. Please know that we are always happy to take care of or replace anything you do not absolutely love. Would you be willing to give us another chance to show you the type of meal we are fully capable of providing? If so, please email me at ali.gensert@amerigo.net so we can send you something for a return visit. We appreciate your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you soon

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We went into town to visit a restaurant on Sunday eve. However everything was closed. There was a church event going on an we asked a police offer where to go and he advised us to go to char. Outside town but easy to find.
We were sitting on the bar and had some nice drinks. We decided to share an entree as well as the main dish as we are not big eaters. We enjoyed the chosen crab legs and so we did the ribeye, accompanied by a char salat and a sweet potatoe. Coocked to perfect.
When we were sitting in the bar, the girl at the entrance offered us a place in the restaurant, we did deny as we were very well treated by the bar ladies and the pianoman.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steenhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience. We are thrilled to hear that we could accommodate you on Sunday, and that we were easy to find. The Crab Legs and the Ribeye are some of our favorites as well, great choices! We hope to see you again soon.

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Consistently good food at Char. Conveniently located with a great, diverse Sunday brunch menu and with a trio wandering among the tables playing soft background music. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Thank Early E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience; we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for the 5 stars!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Great ambience, loved the music the piano guy was playing, the fried green tomatoes!!!!Amazing. Unfortunately I didn't have any main course but dessert was awesome as well- I had the brownie...great!!! I'll be back next time I'm in Jackson.

Thank Zanzibar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hello Zanzibar,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed everything. Please come back soon!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing