We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a policeofficer”
Review of Char Restaurant

Char Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 414 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: E Northside Dr.
Description: Experience modern Southern cuisine and excellent service in a warm, inviting atmosphere at Char. Our specialties include USDA Prime and Choice cuts of beef, veal and lamb, along with seafood and shellfish roasted to perfection. Open for lunch and dinner daily, with weekday lunch specials and brunch every Saturday and Sunday. Private dining and catering are available for groups.
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We went into town to visit a restaurant on Sunday eve. However everything was closed. There was a church event going on an we asked a police offer where to go and he advised us to go to char. Outside town but easy to find.
We were sitting on the bar and had some nice drinks. We decided to share an entree as well as the main dish as we are not big eaters. We enjoyed the chosen crab legs and so we did the ribeye, accompanied by a char salat and a sweet potatoe. Coocked to perfect.
When we were sitting in the bar, the girl at the entrance offered us a place in the restaurant, we did deny as we were very well treated by the bar ladies and the pianoman.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steenhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience. We are thrilled to hear that we could accommodate you on Sunday, and that we were easy to find. The Crab Legs and the Ribeye are some of our favorites as well, great choices! We hope to see you again soon.

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Consistently good food at Char. Conveniently located with a great, diverse Sunday brunch menu and with a trio wandering among the tables playing soft background music. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Thank Early E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience; we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for the 5 stars!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Great ambience, loved the music the piano guy was playing, the fried green tomatoes!!!!Amazing. Unfortunately I didn't have any main course but dessert was awesome as well- I had the brownie...great!!! I'll be back next time I'm in Jackson.

Thank Zanzibar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hello Zanzibar,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed everything. Please come back soon!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My colleague and I had lunch at this restaurant recently. We ordered the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer, and they were fabulous. I had a wedge salad with chicken and it was very good.

I would certainly return to this restaurant and would recommend it to others

Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are thrilled you enjoyed the fried green tomatoes and wedge salad - great choices! We look forward to seeing you in again soon.

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

This is a great place to patronize. It's a little expensive but you don't expect to run into the average citizen. Most of your affluent people can be found dining here. The service is great! Make sure you try the crab claws and/or the crab cakes. I'm not too fond of their salad there. Also, if you go for lunch, go early because they are know to run out of their lunch specials. I highly recommend you make reservations as well. Enjoy!

Thank Rodericklrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Top_Hospitality, Public Relations Manager at Char Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you have received top notch service and have enjoyed our crab claws and crab cakes on a number of occasions. It is true that we sometimes run out of our daily specials on busy lunches; thank you for the recommendation for fellow Trip Advisors to arrive early! We do accept reservations starting right at 11am. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you in again soon!

Ali Gensert,
Char

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Char Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing