We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”
Review of Hattiesburg Zoo

Hattiesburg Zoo
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Hattiesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 12-acre Zoo featuring 100 species of animals including tiger, tapir, capybara, zebras, alpacas, primates, birds, sloths, reptiles, flamingos, servals, porcupines, etc. Attactions include train, carousel, 4-story high ropes adventure course, splash pad and Safari Grill Cafe. Open Tuesday through Sunday, 10a - 4pm. Admission is $5 for ages 2 years and older.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Okay so it's quite small with a limited number of animals, but it's only $5 so it's absolutely worth it. There's a new wallaby walkabout where you can mingle with a couple of animals and there's a goat petting area.

The tiger and jaguar look lonely and bored, and to be honest, they're not necessary in a small zoo like this.

Worth every penny.

1  Thank jarvo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to leave us some kind words! We are thrilled that you loved our zoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"train ride"
in 23 reviews
"splash pad"
in 41 reviews
"ropes course"
in 8 reviews
"small children"
in 14 reviews
"merry go round"
in 6 reviews
"small town"
in 6 reviews
"cool off"
in 7 reviews
"playground area"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the price"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 7 reviews
"perfect size"
in 3 reviews
"well taken care"
in 6 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 3 reviews
"new orleans"
in 8 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 4 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 6 reviews
"great price"
in 3 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This is a small zoo, but very well maintained. All exhibits were very clean, staff friendly, and games put out for kids to play. In addition, they have a train, carousel, gem mining, play area, and climbing tower.

We very much enjoyed our visit. They seem to be continuously updating their exhibits. You can tell they care about their zoo appearance and animals.

Only $5 to enter and no parking fee. Win win.

1  Thank disfam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily H, Marketing Manager at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We went to this zoo during spring break and had to park in a nearby lot. I was worried that the place would be too packed, but even with tons of people, it didn't feel packed and was very easy to see all the exhibits.

It is a great little zoo and definitely a great place to take the family for a couple of hours. There's also a small gift shop, which is nice.

There were a few animals that I haven't seen at larger zoos, definitely kudos to this zoo!

If you are in the area with family, don't pass this place up!

Thank TrentFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily H, Marketing Manager at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting! We are glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We took our 2 and 5 year old and it was the perfect size. It also had playground equipment, train, and others. We stayed 3 hours.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the zoo! Thanks for letting us know how we are doing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I've lived here since the early 90's and I've watched this zoo grow. I used to take my kids there and now I take my grandkids. It just gets better and better. The grandkids particularly love the splash pad and it comes in handy if you are visiting in the hot humid summer time. Great place.

Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hello, Amy! Thank you so much for taking the time to let people know how wonderful your experiences with our zoo have been! We are grateful to have people like you visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hattiesburg Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Hattiesburg Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing