We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
USD 71*
USD 62*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
USD 71*
USD 60*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 318*
USD 309*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
USD 88*
USD 74*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
105
29
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
29
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxikenepuru soundqueen charlotte tracktranquil locationwaterfront motelbought groceriesthe kitchenmusselsfrozen mealsself catershower gelmotel unitswonderful retreatfor saleglow wormsqc trackfresh bread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed here for our last night on the QCT. Some people go all the way to Anakiwa from Portage in one hit but we chose to break it down into two shorter days and we were glad we had. It enabled us to have the last night in Te Mahia and we just loved it.

We were very fortunate with weather so that probably helped, but it was just lovely sitting outside our waterfront studio room looking out over the bay with a glass of wine. We purchased the latter from the on-site shop and it was pricey as with most things on the Queen Charlotte track.

The room itself was very large for just 2 of us. It was also well equipped so it was easy to self-cater. And the shower was great! And everything was spotlessly clean. The only downside (if it IS a downside!) is that the wifi didn't reach our room.

If ever we do the QCT again, I'd have no hesitation in going back to Te Mahia. I was sad to leave the next day and it made for a really easy end to our trek

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mocampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Yes Te Mahia is a lovely place to stay on the last night of the Queen Charlotte track for sure. One of the beauties of Te Mahia is its idyllic location in the heart of the Kenepuru Sound, but sadly the super fast WiFi Fiber Optic cable hasn't reached our front door yet! We are just so pleased to have a great community based WiFi system that we can offer our guests out here in the sounds. We do hope you will be able to come back and visit us again and share in some more of the beautiful Te Mahia magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped at Te Mahia Resort for morning tea on the terrace. This resort is set in bush with fabulous views of the Sounds. The service was prompt, the coffee & cakes yummy. The lemon slice was exceptional. This would be an excellent stop if you want relaxation & water views.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank WanaKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review- yes great coffee and cake is a must when on holiday and with a fantastic view of the Kenepuru Sound what more could you ask for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Loved it for the waterside location, link to water taxi and amazing hikes. The rooms are outdated but I would imagine great for large families. For couples you pay for more than you get in terms of rooms but if you want to spend all day outside it's perfect. We had a several hour hike (with amazing vistas throughout) to another lodge for lunch and got a water taxi back, simply perfect.
Definitely shop for provisions before you drive there - though Trevor's pizzas are well worth the price and truly gourmet.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sausalito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Stayed for four days with some work colleagues. The weather held out, luckily, so were able to travel around the area a little. We had a wonderful time and the hosts were superb. I've been lucky to have dropped in a few times since this trip, and the staff have always been welcoming and remembered me- service truly exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you Andrew for your lovely comments, we are thrilled with all the repeat business that we have from clients like yourselves. We look forward to your return and finding some new adventures to see and do in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed for one night at Te Mahia while walking the Queen Charlotte Track. We decided to make a break here and enjoy the walk over 5 days rather than the typical 4 days.

I booked a Waterfront Motel Unit at a rate of $NZ188.

Te Mahia was frankly very disappointing.

The location on Te Mahia Bay is scenic enough, so that is a positive and our room did look out to the Bay.

Our room was large and spacious but the furnishings are a bit of a strange mix and dated. In fact the whole complex looks tired and weary. What was presumably once an attractive garden setting is tired and tatty and the small beach in front of the resort is also scruffy and in disrepair.

Arriving on foot at this remote location and wet I asked if our bags had arrived from Portage. I was advised 'no' but that as soon as they came they would be delivered to our room. Having waited in damp clothing for an hour I thought I would check on progress. The bags were up near reception, they had forgotten to bring them down.

We found that meal options are very limited at Te Mahia. There is what is described as a cafe but it is really no more than two or the internal tables in a very basic little area that serves as the reception area and a basic shop (jars of coffee, mik, soft drinks, some cakes etc). It is not a place for a meal. It is true that you could buy some very basic supplies to make up beans on toast or similar in your room but we were expecting the option of a nice meal from a resort complex (which is what other similarly priced accommodation along the Trail provides).

There is an option to order a four course meal made by someone for $100 per head which seemed an excessive option (we were dining very well along the trail elsewhere for much less than that)! The other alternative was to buy a pizza from the shop (they cook it and deliver it to your room). This was the option we ended up taking, two pizzas at $NZ18 each. They were really not very good at all.

At breakfast time we had the option of a breakfast basket, which was described as a sort of continental breakfast. We asked if it was possible to just get some toast and jam for breakfast. We were told they would provide us a loaf of fresh bread with jam for breakfast at 8am which sounded fine. It never came and when I went to the shop/cafe to enquire there was a loaf available but clearly no communication on what we had been promised the night before. In the end we got bread and jam but it all seemed dislocated and unnecesarily complicated.

WiFi access here presumably works across some of the Resort but it didn't along our section of the Motel units (Unit J). I was told that if I came to the shop and got a connection it would continue to work when I got back to the unit. It didn't. I was told that it must be the weather and I accepted that. The next morning under clear skies the WiFi was no more effective!

A strange old fashioned place with poor service and facilities. I have no doubt it was once appealing.

The total cost of our accommodation, a bottle of wine, two small pizzas and the loaf of bread and jam was $NZ274. This was not good value for money in my opinion.

There are not really other easy options when you are on foot. You could get down to Te Mahia and transfer by water taxi back to Portage or across to Raetihi Lodge for the night although this becomes a bit expensive. Probably its best to stay with a 4 day walk itinerary and walk on through.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

In our 25 years of fantastic experiences and thousands of awesome guests staying here at the resort with us who love Te Mahia and keep on returning, all we can say is... there are some people in life you just can't please and we certainly have absolutely no control over the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews