We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Without doubt this has to be the best equipped place us world travellers have ever stayed it. The absolute peace and quiet apart from the beautiful bellbirds was worth the drive to the resort. The road in is sealed with beautiful vistas around every corner. The hosts, Jann and Trevor Hook were most welcoming. Self catering wasnt a problem as we bought groceries at nearby Picton before going on to Te Mahia. The kitchen in our unit had a microwave, hobs, and a small bench oven. The glow worms in the bank were well worth going outside on a dark moonless night. Its a place we intend visiting again, often.

Room Tip: Any, they are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

That is such awesome news that you rate us as the best equipped place that you have ever stayed. We try hard to make all our accommodation styles like home away from home with lots of personal touches and accessories in the self catering kitchens. We do hope you can visit us again soon, as it was such a pleasure to host you as well and you left the motel in such pristine condition!
Regards Jann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We arrived from the UK here, so felt a bit jaded!!! ( We have been to NZ before, so, did stock up with grocery shopping in Nelson). The room was great, it had a lovely sea view, and the ability to cook is wonderful!!. Very well set out rooms. The Owners are very helpful with what to do and where to go. The walks suggested were just great!!!!. Look forwards to coming back!

Room Tip: Ask the Owners, as rooms were built at different times. Having a view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 782DebbieW782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Yes that UK trip is always a long haul, but we are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings at Te Mahia Bay Resort for a few days. We look forward to your return visit so we can share the many more wonderful things that the Kenepuru Sound has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

What a lovely accomodation after days and days on the QCT! We started with rainy weather and freezing temperatures but this gem in the Malborough Sounds made up for everything! Staff was super friendly, rooms very clean and the view amazing! We went for a swim to cool off. Highly recommend it and it is worth every penny!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We wish we could have stayed longer.
The Queen Charlotte drive of the Marlborough Sound suggested we were in for something special and we were not disappointed.
Charming, secluded tranquility with stunning views from the bed of our spacious room with all necessary BnB amenities.
You can leave your car parked and find plenty to do here; on land, with spectacular hikes, and on water, with canoes and kayaks, exploring the coastline.
Low tide reveals a most intriguing beach.
Nighttime offers glow-worms in a natural setting, away from the tourist hordes (though not as spectacular).
And hey, royalty has slept here, so you're in good company!
Meals can be ordered in advance, and we suggest you do so.
Don't hesitate.
Book it.

Room Tip: all rooms have equally fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

We wished you could have stayed longer too, as you were delightful clients and a pleasure to have at the resort. The Kenepuru Sound has so much to offer, both on and off the water and we are happy to assist with any plans and bookings to help our clients get out and enjoy these experiences.
We hope on your next visit back to us you will be able to stay la little longer and experience more of what we can offer here at Te Mahia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It takes a while to get there but it is worth it. Book the Seaview Apartment and enjoy a spacious and comfortable accomodation with a perfect view of the bay. You will even have a complete kitchen, a BBQ and your own washing machine and tumble dryer. The hosts are very friendly and provide you with detailed information regarding options for local activities.

Room Tip: The Seaview Apartments are fantatastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friedemann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

We are so glad the scenic route led you to our magical spot at Te Mahia. We take pride in our beautiful apartments and their location so close to the waters edge and all the conveniences like a home away from home. Safe travels for the rest of your journey and we look forward to hosting you again some time in the near future we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
2.5 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
5.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.4 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
32.8 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
655 reviews
4.4 km away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#7 of 86 in Marlborough Region
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Price Range: $147 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing