We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$144
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$144
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Agoda.com
AU$123
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
11
36
37
12
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
36
37
12
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings cross room was clean limited number bus stop location is excellent handy location tea and coffee easy access the air conditioning main road included breakfast is kitchen sink slices of white bread changed daily martin place microwave coles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

I stayed with my 2 sisters for 3 nights. Reception experience is off putting as has been described by others (believe what you read). A smaller room than booked allocated, so had to go back for bigger room - sorry! 2 breakfasts provided for 3 people - sorry! WIFI is paid for and doesn't work - sorry! The location is great; the rooms adequate and overall good value for money. But the place is now a little shabby if not down right dirty, and just poorly managed. The issue with the fire alarms/toasters/shower is ridiculous and needs fixing. The staff need hospitality training. Guests don't need lectures on rules and financial threats. Sad to see a good business and service going backwards.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

We booked for a room for 4 people, and they gave us a 3 people room with a sofabed.
The room smelt of mold, a bed wasn’t done so we had to prepare it ourselves.
Scrict rules for everything and expensive fines if something went wrong.
Wifi service was on payment and didn’t work in every room (specially for iPhones).
Breakfast was provided in the room by the staff and it was bread, butter, jam, old milk and juice; for using the toaster we would have paid 50$ of bail.
At the end nothing has been good in this motel and we’ll never suggest it to anyone!
Bad experience!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Rachele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Having read other reviews of this place, we were apprehensive as to what we might arrive to. However, being between Xmas and NYE, it was all we could get.

It claims to be 3 stars, however according to the Australian hotel star classification, it would only be 1, maybe 2 at a push.

There is no WiFi unless you're in reception (or very close to) and you get 1 hour free, then it's paid only.

When we arrived, we checked our room to find it a bit smelly, very small etc so we asked for another room but that was exactly the same.

In our room, you could not get to the toilet without first stepping into the shower cubicle, then closing the door before stepping out the shower.

They have taken all toasters out of the rooms so you cannot set off the fire alarm, which is fair enough; however the policy in place is a joke. You have to go to reception and deposit $50 to hire one whilst you make your toast, then return it immediately. This can only be done at breakfast time. One evening after a long day, one of our group simply wanted some toast for tea (this was 9:30pm) but was told we cannot have a toaster at this time because it's 'too late'. Never ever came across this in any hotel, EVER.

We are clearly not the only people to think poorly of this hotel - someone has enscribed 'the worst hotel' on the ceiling above the bunk bed in our room.

Also, there is nowhere really to store luggage.

It's comparable to a hostel, if you were to have a private room.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Naffhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

My husband stayed here for 2 nights for business in Sydney. Had to drive from Port MAcquarie but was able to park his car there and still be able to get around the city and attend to his meetings. Small room but the breakfast included is a great idea and very good. Good value for money and very handy to transport and the city of Sydney

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2018

Ill start of with some negatives

Entering the room at check in around 2pm there was a bad stench. Smelt like Asian food that had gone off. Was terrible. I keep a small can of Glen 20 in my backpack and gave the unit a good spray, helped. But when entering the unit later that night could smell the stench again, had to Glen 20 again.

Around 430pm had a quick knock on the door and an Asian lady entering briskly. I intercepted her and inquired why is she coming in? Said to give me milk, which I already hade two small cartons in the fridge. This is not a good look and felt privacy may be an issue here. There is no "do not disturb sign" and you have to question security of the room if you leave to go out. I suggest to Edgecliff Lodge, when someone has checked in, a phone call to the room or a note under the door would be more appropriate than just waltzing in. We want to feel safe and secure, My stay I did not

The bread in the fridge (for breakfast) seemed a few days old. I had a little bit of the fruit bread but couldn't muster it, the white bread was worse. Toasting it would have made it better I guess but couldn't be bothered picking up the toaster from reception and possibly setting of the alarm

Other than the above problems, I found the stay ok. Yes the place is old and some furniture should be replaced. But got a good nights sleep and it ticked couple of the boxes I needed for my stay. There is a sink with small bench and cutlery in the bedroom. There is also free undercover parking, but its limited, maybe 16-18 spots?? If you check in before 3pm id imagine you will get a spot, otherwise you may need to park on the road or side street.

There is Coles supermarket up the road, 5min walk, and a bunch of cafe's and takeaway places as well. Edgecliff train station is in that vicinity as well. The service and friendliness of reception was good

Would stay again, but would definitely check out the room for bad smell before taking the key for the night, as well as bring limited valuables to the room.

Room tip: Inspect for bad smell, request a "do not distrub sign"
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelman2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews