We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Come and go as if it's your vacation home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rock Garden West Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
Rock Garden
West Room
West Room Bath
East Room
East Room Bath
North Room
North Room Bath
South Room
South Room Bath
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Upstairs Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sofa bed for additional guests
The view from the patio
Our neighborhood
Minnesota Marine Art Mueseum
Scenic Overlook
Mississippi River
National Eagle Center
Historic Downtown
Saint Mary's University
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winona, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara H
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Come and go as if it's your vacation home”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in June 2013

This lovely elegantly refurbished farmhouse is a good value and very pleasant place to stay in Winona. It offers self-sufficient travelers the best kind of service. Breakfast is on your own, but the choices are high quality and fit for people who want a delicious, but not heavy breakfast on their own schedule. It has a patio for relaxing in good weather. Rooms were comfortable and tasteful. Only problem was the air conditioning was set too cool, but the standby staff person came readily when we called about it and reset the thermostat. The owners offer information about local activities and the location is excellent for whatever interests you pursue in Winona.

I'd love to return in the winter and do some cross country skiing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody L
Morgan, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and Friendly Vibe”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Such a welcome change of pace from the usual hotel Very relaxed vibe with a come and go feel of home. The owner was very helpful for accommodating with a special dietary need for breakfast (gluten free). The room was a bit cool for us, though. (Stayed on the ground floor). The TV was a bit small, too, but not a big deal. We weren't there for the TV. Darlene, the caretaker, gave us a nice tour around, too All around great place and we will be sure to come again. Beautifully decorated, too. Just lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrosave...
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We loved our stay at Village House Inn. Our room was perfect with a great big bath and tub, which I love. There are several parlors and a living room to hang out in with your coffee in the morning and even extra baths available. I enjoy staying at a place that has a simple breakfast that we could eat when we wanted instead of an over blown huge formal breakfast that has been part of many B and B's. This was simple and the price was great. The open spaces have a comfortable décor and so it's easy to hang around too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmoeller
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
“Comforts of home”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Overall, a very good place to stay. Very happy with our choice, and we will be return visitors.

We stayed here in lieu of a hotel. Glad we did. It was just like being a guest in a friend's home - a friend who keeps their home remarkably clean and stylish.

This is a little different than a traditional BnB - ie not restored and decorated a la 1900, and breakfast from scratch isn't served. However, the place feels like home, and the self serve breakfast was great for us since we wanted flexibility. We knew to expect this before the stay, as the website says this.

We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEJ4
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven! Clean, Cozy and Relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Village House Inn during my visit to Yarnology in Winona. This place is honestly a "Piece of Heaven"! I stayed in the "South" room and it was so cozy and incredibly CLEAN! All of the rooms are so fresh and inviting! This is more like a "home away from home" and due to a snow storm I was REALLY LUCKY to be able to spend 2 more nights at this delightful place. The Inn Keeper is so accommodating and the sweet treats she leaves for breakfast are out of this world --delicious! While visiting or traveling through Winona, don't miss your chance to stay at this impeccable Inn!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing