We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury self catering accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old School Islay

Stunning Old School Islay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Old School Islay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Stunning Old School Islay
Finlaggan Bedroom
Islay Bedroom with two single beds
Main Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portnahaven, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
islmor
1 review
“Luxury self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were lucky to secure this converted school house for the October break. It's warm and beautifully appointed and would easily sleep 8. Big garden, plenty of parking space and gates can be closed. Beautiful views of the lighthouse.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly1865...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything one could possibly wish for”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

From my first contact with Lesley, I could not ask for a better response, a better place to stay. I was visiting Islay with my adult grandson from NZ and we both found the Old School at Portnahaven ideal in every way - the design and thought that has gone into transporting an original school building into the latest self-catering home to stay in - has to be experienced. I just wish my school had been like this!! I also wish we were able to stay longer - I could spend a week just reading the books!!! Everything one needs has been thought of - from the excellent quality of the mattress's to the china to the pots and pans etc etc etc etc!!! The location is so peaceful and the distance from anywhere on the Island, so long as you have a vehicle - is not a problem - I know my family in NZ having seen the photos of the Old School - are now making plans to visit Scotland!! Having stayed at different locations and self-catering - this has jumped to the top of the list!!! Thankyou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Molly! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your guests. All Best Wishes, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganaraska
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Century building outside, elegant European renovation inside!”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely fantastic! The kitchen was like something out of the Jetsons (remember that show?), only uber-cool European Jetsons. The beds in the four bedrooms were luxuriously comfortable with lovely linens, so we all had a great sleep. Beautiful bathrooms and the kitchen/diningroom is so big that while a couple of us were putting together dinner (very nice to have the choice to eat at 'home' when on vacation), our 2 year old grand daughter and her uncles had a dance party to the great sound system. The Old School is a short walk to either of two tiny villages (with streetlights!) located right on the ocean, all houses painted white. Being land-locked North Americans, this was the first time we ever heard seals calling to each other in the wild. Bruichladdich is the closest scotch / whisky distillery, but we did the gorgeous-views easy drive to Bowmore and Port Ellen to see others as well. All enjoyed themselves seeing all of Islay, even the ones who don't drink scotch. Port Charlotte is a 15 minute rural drive for dinner out, if you're so inclined. The Old School at Portnahaven provides the contact info of a local fisherman if you want to have him drop off seafood straight from the sea on his way home. How great is that!
We're well travelled and still would call our stay in this house on Islay one of life's great experiences.
Only suggestion for visiting Islay - all the grocery stores on the island are small and produce (greens), especially, are more expensive (of course), so bring groceries in on the ferry and pick up milk, eggs and meat on Islay (great butcher in Bowmore). PS. The drive to Portnahaven is about the same for either of the two Islay ports. But if you can, choose Port Askaig for your first arrival for the spectacular scenery on your way in. You'll see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very private location, 4 bedrooms for families or group of friends
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect Islay Accommodation!”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We can't say enough about our stay on Islay and especially at the Old School House. The property was perfect for our group of 5 who arrived to find locally made tablet, soaps and even whisky for our sampling.

The furnishings were comfortable and tastefully appointed throughout. Of course, the kitchen and dining area was the main gathering spot, and it featured all the modern appliances you would want.

The surrounding area has beautiful scenery with the harbor a short walk away and even a lighthouse in the distance.

The main reason for our visit was to tour the local distilleries, but our time spent at this property was quite enjoyable. We would feel lucky to return someday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Dear Kathy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Kindest Regards,

Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H
1 review
“10/10! Couldn't fault the property!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in December 2014

Stunning property with everything you could require for your stay. Portnahaven is scenic and the harbour is lovely to walk around. The owners were prompt in responding. The house is extremely cosy with 2 woodburning stoves. A car would be advantageous however, the property does have parking facilities for 5 or so cars.

The bathrooms were equipped with shampoo, shower gel and soap from the local business, Spirited Soaps and each guest were given pieces of Tablet which was a lovely gesture.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing