We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurbished BUT Old!”
Review of Walker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walker Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Refurbished BUT Old!”
Reviewed 30 September 2009

This is a very old hotel supposedly one of the first AmericInns. It is a two story facility but it has no elevator so if traveling with a lot of luggage or if elderly or physically disabled be sure to ask for a first floor room.

Rooms are OK. Bathroom is tiny. Acceptable for a one night passing through stay but do not recommend for an extended stay. There is a restaurant next door but we did not eat there. Location is on the edge of town so car is needed to get to main shopping area. Thought it a bit pricey for what is offered there is comparison to other AmericInns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellogg40, Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Our hotel is older, it was one of the first AmericInns built. But where it may lack in new design we make up for in cleanliness and friendliness! The staff will treat you like family and you will find a friendly atmosphere everywhere you go in Walker. Jimmy's Family Retsaurant next door has some of the best food in town and although we are a couple blocks from the heart of downtown there are sidewalks the whole way and so walking downtown is quite easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
19
19
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ntrbtr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We have stayed here multiple times. The past two stays were in the ground floor, king size bed w/ jacuzzi room. The mattress needs to be replaced, free wireless internet was challenging in that if you were by the door, possible connection (room had a nice couch furthest from the door), previously hot breakfast (waffle maker) now not available, stained tiles on ceiling, stained towels. It is a great location to walk to restaurants, etc. Nice staff but needs to be updated.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ntrbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellogg40, General Manager at Walker Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Since your stay we have made some upgrades to the property. Our WIFI is very good no matter where you're at on property. I'm not sure why there wasn't a waffle maker out when you were here but there is now and also other hot items such as sausage gravy and biscuits. We have updated the lobby with new carpet and furniture and it has a very cozy feel to it. Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Walker hotels

Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

We just got back from a two night stay at this hotel. We booked 2 adjoining rooms(201 and 203) as our sons (22 and 18) were also here with us. Our room was number 201 and was quite clean and spacious with a refrigerator and microwave and 2 queen size beds. The other room while not as roomy was also very clean with both rooms having a choice of four kinds of pillows on the beds. We did have to ask the desk manager Ashley to reprogram one of our TVs as it could only get a limited number of channels which she did immediately with a smile on her face. We also had a broken toilet seat in our room but didn't report it until checkout. Our problem came the first evening when we returned from dinner and heard a very loud, whining fan-like noise coming somewhere from outside our windows. It would go on for awhile and then stop for a few minutes and then start up again. Turns out it was the hotel clothes dryer which the staff had to run until 2 am in the morning. Ashley offered to give us a different room the next night but we wanted to be in the adjoining rooms so we declined her offer. There was also a lesser loud fan noise coming from outside the windows all of the time which I suspect was a ventilation fan for the pool. I ended up buying ear plugs for the second night and Ashley did give us the weeknight rate for our room and again was very apologetic. We recommend not staying in rooms 201 or 203 of this hotel. This hotel did have an assortment of three juices and lemonade along with very good coffee,tea and cocoa available 24 hours. The breakfast consisted of assorted fresh fruits, breads, bagels,donuts and make your own waffles. We would stay here again as it is right on the Heartland Bike Trail with easy access to it. If you do stay make sure you eat at Jimmy's which is right next door. Reasonable prices , delicious food and a piano player!

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The noisy room
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 January 2003

We did enjoy our stay at the Americinn Inn In Walker,MN. We stayed 3 nights, I asked for & got Xtra pillows,blanket,& towels. Did not need room service but they came in anyway. My husband said the continental breakfast was o.K., but NO TOAST, just bagels. Some motels let you have rolls/or cookies available when you get there. we needed & got whatever we asked for, but the QUIET & PEACE is what we needed.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
1.7 km away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#2 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 km away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 7 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
39.6 km away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Anderson's Horseshoe Bay Lodge
10.5 km away
Hiawatha Beach Resort
Hiawatha Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Walker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
39.6 km away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel

Property: Walker Hotel
Address: 907 Minnesota Ave, Walker, MN 56484-2295 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Walker
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Walker
Price range (per night): $113 - $189
Hotel Class:2 star — Walker Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly on the shores of picturesque Leech Lake at the junction of Highway 371 North & Highway 34. We are a few minutes drive from a number of other local attractions including: •Chippewa National Forest •Minn Folklore Theater •Cass County Museum •Leech Lake Brewing Company •Forestedge Winery •Long Bow Golf Club . We invite our guests to enjoy our free deluxe continental breakfast and coffee in our lobby. Appreciate the convenience of our Jacuzzi , Enjoy a refreshing swim in our heated indoor pool. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms as well as access to copy and fax services. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a flat panel 32 inch cable TV with ESPN, coffeemaker, desk with lamp, hairdryer, free local calls, and wake-up service. A Jacuzzi and sofa bed are available in select rooms. A microwave and mini-fridge are available in all rooms. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parents room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet per day. When visiting Walker Hotel, you can start by relaxing in your room and surf the web, or catch a movie. Next head out for a little fun at any of the numberous festivals that the Cass Lake area hosts including the International Eelpout Festival, the Moondance Jammin Country Fest, Yikes! Bikes! Bike Tour, the Cajun Fest, or the Leech Lake Regatta. If you are hungry, visit one of the area's notable restaurants including the Lucky Moose Bar, Jimmy's Family Restaurant and Grill Lucette's Pizza. Whether traveling for business or pleasure in Walker or the surrounding Cass County area, Walker Hotel offers friendly and affordable accommodations. We look forward to your visit. Hotel Policies: Check-in Time: 3:00 PM Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Pets Welcome: Yes Pets are welcome for a charge of $10 per pet, per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Walker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing