We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED our stay here!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Two Harbors
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

What a cozy, charming, incredibly well put together place! Great attention to detail has been lovingly put into the rooms, cottages and grounds. We were in one of the 'motel' rooms and it was lovely. Beautiful, newly finished pine walls, hardwood floors, and complete with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, microwave, and the option to borrow from a collection of 500 DVDs. Each room opens to a deck, ours with an umbrella table and four chairs overlooking the beautifully-maintained lawn and garden.
And the garden is SO lovely!! It's a pleasure to look at and is clearly the product of both vision and a lot of hard work. There are also window boxes filled with flowers adorning cottage windows, and colorful planters on the deck divider walls of the 'motel' units. There are a number of fire rings around the grounds where guests can enjoy an evening fire. The cottages and larger 2-room units have grills available, as well.. A short walk leads you down to the lake where one could sit and enjoy the gorgeous view for hours.
The owners (new as of four years ago) are warm and friendly and have created a wonderfully inviting place to stay. This was a lucky find and we will absolutely be back! Next time we hope to stay in one of the lakeside cottages. Already looking forward to it!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank MinneapolisCMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We recently spent 4 nights in a very nice, clean and comfortable housekeeping cabin with a deck overlooking Lake Superior. Our experience was excellent from beginning to end. The resort is very well kept. It is obvious that the owners, Kirsten and Ted, take pride in their property. The cabin was fully stocked with everything needed for a comfortable stay, including hotel quality bath towels. The beach below the cabins is a rock shelf that is perfect for building a campfire and taking in the awesome majesty of the lake. The resort is about halfway between Two harbors and Silver Bay, and is close to a number of state parks and waysides, so it is a great base from which to explore the North Shore. We will certainly plan to stay there again. By the way, Kirsten's flower garden is awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packrat811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We started renting a cabin at Gooseberry Park Cottage :)s and Motel right after Ted and Kirsten bought the place. We were impressed the first year we stayed, but each year it just keeps getting better and better. Kirsten and a few Master Gardeners have made a beautiful garden space for people to sit, walk, meditate.
There are six cabins and four motel rooms...they are all VERY CLEAN and nice. Kris and Ted take care of the place , no big staff.
We think it would be perfect for a seniors.... :)

Room Tip: Weekends fill up fast...Call and make a reservation ASAP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed three nights at the Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel. We were in motel rooms 10 and 11. Both rooms had window air units. Two days were over 85 during the day so we appreciated the AC unit. Rooms are very well done in knotty pine. Bathrooms are very nice. The bathroom is small but very usable, We had camp fires two nights. All the motel rooms except room 11 had a deck with umbrella facing the lake (see picture). What a great little place. All the cottages are recently update with siding and new roofs. The place looks very north woods with craftsman designed architecture. Nice path down to Lake Superior and fire ring at the lake. It does not have a beach shoreline... it is called a ledge shoreline. You can get down to the water to cool your legs off... must stand on large rock structures in the water.

Room Tip: Cottages catch much more of the cool breeze off Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B2367AIcharlesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Thanks again Trip Advisor, saw reviews and decided to try. Found fantastic clean quiet cabins in great location. Have visited north shore many times and were up for annual heritage days parade in Two Harbors. Location about 10 miles north of Two Harbors , 2 more to gooseberry falls or about 7 to the lighthouse. Across street from Rustic Cafe - to die for pie !!
We were in cabin #6 and it was beautiful and had everything. Two queen beds, one upstairs (loft), one down - comfortable soft sheets. Fans in all rooms. A nice kitchen with stove, microwave and all. Well stocked with all essentials. Clean bathroom with hairdryer and soap - bring shampoo as they instruct. Nice front deck with table,chairs and grill.
Fantastic view of the Lake out front window with the only thing we heard - the beautiful sound of waves.
Beautiful landscaping, flowers, garden and wood carvings.
Friendly, helpful owners there to help.
A great find , can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jimyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted V, Owner at Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for choosing us for your annual North Shore stay! We look forward to seeing you again. Your kind words are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
0.3 km away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#1 of 6 in Two Harbors
553 reviews
13.9 km away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
454 reviews
20.6 km away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Country Inn of Two Harbors
Country Inn of Two Harbors
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
208 reviews
17.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
16.8 km away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#6 of 6 in Two Harbors
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooseberry Park Cottages and Motel

Address: 2778 Highway 61, Two Harbors, MN 55616-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Two Harbors
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing