We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Superior Shores Resort
Nearby Hotels
Country Inn of Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
USD 115*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Superior Lodge(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
USD 200*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
USD 126*
USD 114*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Two Harbors)(Great Value!)
USD 110*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Two Harbors)
USD 93*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 201*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Point Lodge(Beaver Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 225*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark(Duluth)
USD 145*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 100*
USD 96*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Pointe Resort(Duluth)(Great Value!)
USD 313*
USD 266*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
176
131
70
53
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
131
70
53
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburlington baymedia roomthe main lodgefull kitchenthe indoor outdoor hot tubnorth shorelake homesking bedmaster bedroomelectric grillgirls weekendgas fireplaceview of the lakeget awaystate parkstayed two nightsbetty's pies
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

The condo we had was all inclusive. It had dining room, kitchen, living room, large bedroom and bathroom and a fireplace between the living room and bedroom, servicing each. A nice balcony to go out on if the weather allowed. A nice swimming pool with indoor/outdoor hot tub. A workout room that was small but accommodating. The on premises restaurant, Kamloops, is all you need to sustain life at its best. The views from all places at this resort show Lake Superior at its finest. We had several opportunities to test this as the weather was wet and cold. We did not go out to hike all week. It was my first time to experience a downpour of "slush". Very interesting phenomenon. Not the fault of Superior Shores! Will be back.

Room Tip: Just make certain it faces the lake.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duluthharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi Duluthharold,

Thank you so very much for the review - we do appreciate the kind words! It has been a wet, cool spring so far on the North Shore - while we envy summer every where else in the state. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations, even though Mother Nature left some to be desired. We can't wait to have you back - in the sunshine!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful rooms with gas fireplaces. Centrally located for Thunder Bay, the Gunflint trail, Glensheen Mansion, Duluth, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area, Gooseberry, Judge Magney, Tettagouchie and Split Rock State Parks.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philotheatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Philotheatoo,
Thanks for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed our accommodations! We really are in the perfect location for all there is to do on the North Shore ~ we're your perfect 'home base' :) We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We have been making our annual family voyage to Superior Shores for the past four years now and couldn't be any more happy with our time spent at this wonderful resort. The staff have always been warm and accommodating and have helped to make sure that we have all the things we need to make our large family feel comfortable. The rooms are spacious and cozy and the views from the lake homes are wonderful. The wife and I especially appreciate the layout of the two bedroom lake homes as the master bedroom has the jacuzzi tub as well as its own fire place in it, allowing us for much needing relaxing adult time once the kids are in bed. The location is perfect as we like to make a trek to Goose Berry Falls, as well as Betty's Pies, when we visit; none of which are too far from the resort. The pools and hot tubs are are also a highlight, as well as roasting marshmallows for s'mores, along the lake front. The whole experience is very tranquil. Though there are televisions in the rooms, we never seem to turn them on (even with small children!). Our kids are content to check out the view, read books, relax and play lots of family board games. Jenna (the manager) has always made sure to that we are taken care of when we are there. Can't say enough great things about this place. We'll keep going back as it has now become a family tradition that the kids look forward to every year!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FFRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi FFRosie,
Thanks for the awesome review! We love having you ~ and look forward to your return each year. It is a really special thing to bring your family to the North Shore; they will enjoy these memories forever! Thank you for choosing us to be a part of that. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I have stayed here multiple times. The views from the resort rooms facing the lake are wonderful as the resort is located on a bay enclosed by rocky, pine-covered peninsulas. In the morning, the sun rises in beautiful color over the lake. Views are best from the second floor or above. The suites are especially nice with a full kitchen and pleasant living area with North-woods type furnishings. The gas fireplace is open to both the living area and the bedroom which is nice unless you want privacy between the rooms. This time our room had a few maintenance issues such as a dishwasher that was not securely fastened, but the rooms were clean and otherwise well kept. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hi Adele,
Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate your loyalty and patronage, as well as the kind words! You really can't beat a sunrise on Lake Superior :)

We can't wait you have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Six friends stayed in a lake home and found it ideal for a short weekend getaway. We all live in the Twin Cities and Two Harbors works well for a two-day weekend, better than farther up the shore. The lake home was very clean and furnished for comfortable lounging. We cooked our meals and the kitchen had everything we needed. The beds were really comfortable. We were able to adjust the heat for comfort. There was a wooden ramp to the entrance and I suspect that it could be icy in bad weather. Summer may be different, but there is no way to actually access the shore from our lake home. One huge negative: because we had some coupons we had brunch in the lodge on Sunday. This was absolutely the worst brunch I have ever had. The eggs did not taste, feel or look like real food - much worse than eggs at complimentary buffets in most hotels. The pancakes were cold and tough. The bacon was edible. This brunch was so bad that I would have to say they should be ashamed to serve it to people. One person in our group ordered off the menu and his omelet looked much better.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank toucangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Manager at Superior Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Hi Toucangirl,
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that you could enjoy our accommodations with a group of friends - those bigger units are really ideal for these types of gatherings! Some lakehomes really don't have the greatest access to the lake, due to the layout of the buildings, and the rocky out-cropping they sit on. The main lodge has the best beach access, but you really can't beat the views and serenity that the lakehomes offer. Summer is different, in that regard, as it's easier to traverse the rocks, and the hills the lakehomes sit on.
We don't generally get complaints on our Sunday breakfast buffet, so I will have to investigate to see what happened during the last one; something out of the ordinary, I think, so I will make sure that we remedy that. I do apologize; you should have been able to use your certificates and enjoy your meal. We hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews