We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
206
14
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
14
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie social hour oscar wilde suite browning suite lewis carroll byron suite grand suite orient express carriage house gourmet breakfast local ingredients bed chamber bose radio bed and breakfast the main house stained glass cooking class
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We stayed for 2 nights, in the Rosetti bedchamber. The service and the food were truly outstanding, and overall it was a very good stay. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable, making sleep difficult. The mattress was extremely soft and lumpy. I realize preferences vary in terms of firmness, but I suspect even a person who prefers a soft mattress would find this to be terribly uncomfortable. There was also no place to hang up your clothes -- no closet or armoire or any other place to hang something at all. They have added modern amenities to this wonderful restoration, but seem to have forgotten a few of the most important basics -- a comfortable bed and a place to hang your clothes.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe80228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

My daughter was married in a small family ceremony at Rivertown. The plans moved indoors due to rain. On arrival, all was beautifully arranged in the parlor. Cake had a presentation table and our luncheon in the dining room was elegant and service attentive and understated. The honeymoon suite was lovely. Breakfast was outstanding. I can’t thank Larry and chef Maggie enough. Worth every penny. Would r ecommend venue for anyone seeking simple, understated service and an elegant setting. Definitely felt like a destination.

Room tip: Trust the online photos or staff recommendations
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We were warmly welcomed. Drinks and cookies were waiting for us upon our arrival. Breakfast was truly unique and gourmet. The wrap-around porch is high above the street making it especially relaxing to use the wooden rockers surrounding the front door. The room was comfortable and the giant bathtub was a real luxury. Each person working at the house provided superb service. It is a fun walk down and up the giant hill that connects the B&B to the river and town.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We stayed for one night only, but a wonderful 24-hour escape. A short 3 block walk to downtown. Favorite part of the stay was the 3 course gourmet breakfast served outdoors mid-morning. Deliciously elegant!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank BJS469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Staying at the Rivertown Inn is like stepping through time into an era of grandeur, elegance, and leisure.

For our 7 year anniversary, we stayed in the Agatha Christie Grand Suite. The thoroughness and level of detail of the suite is quite remarkable-- from the moment you open the door, you feel as if you have be transported into a 19th century railway station and accompanying luxury pullman car about to depart on the Orient Express. The thunderstorm during our first night provided a consistent "rumble of the train" sound. The suite itself has 6 areas: a railway waiting room (where our morning French Press coffee was served), a living room/reading area with fireplace, an elegant berth-style bed, a Turkish/Egyptian-themed spa room with oversized jetted tub (a nod to Christie's "Death on the Nile"), a water closet with an oversized steam shower, and a lovely outdoor patio. The only electronic device you will find in the suite is a Bose radio tuned to the classical music station. The atmosphere and ambiance, coupled with the opulent detail of the suite, is the perfect recipe for magic and romance.

We stayed 3 nights in the Agatha Christie suite. As early risers, we added the French Press coffee service. The coffee was exceptional, and includes fruit and a baked item. At 9:30am, the 3-course gourmet breakfast on the front porch was served, so the early coffee service was just enough to wake us up properly. Chef Maggie's 3-course breakfast was always a treat, as she would take care to source as many local ingredients as possible and present them in delightful ways.

Since we were staying around July 4th, we decided to not venture out into the crowds as much as possible. We attended the First Friday Dinner at the Inn: India theme. The cuisine was outstanding, as well as the wine pairings, and was served al fresco. We also added the Picnic In The Park Package, which included a 3-course picnic with all the necessary accoutrements. I especially appreciated the little touches, such as wrapping each sandwich in parchment paper tied with cooking twine and including house-made vinaigrette. A blanket and map to the nearest parks was provided, but we opted to eat in the gazebo on the grounds of the Inn.

Our last night, we spent in the new Sir Arthur Conan Doyle suite. This is the newest suite in the Carriage House, on the second floor. It is stylishly decorated in steam-punk industrial-style decor. In contrast to the Agatha Christie and Oscar Wilde, the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle has much more natural light and opens to a large private balcony overlooking the gardens and gazebo. A few notable features of the suite are the parquet black walnut wood flooring and the impressive gas fireplace flanked with black iridescent Spanish tile that shimmers gold in the right light. This tile is also used in the "under the streets of London" steam shower. The bathroom is divided into 3 spaces with a breathtaking floor to ceiling stained glass window as the focal point.

This was our second visit to the Inn and most definitely a memorable one. This is in large part due to General Manager Larry Loyer, Chef Maggie Wescott, and the staff of the Inn who were invariably gracious, hospitable, and always accommodating to our requests. We look forward to our next trip to the Rivertown Inn!

Room tip: The carriage house suites are spectacular
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Portmanteaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews