We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kellie W
River Heads, Australia

Hospital visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 July 2023via mobile
Stayed here as I was having surgery at Sunshine Coast University Private hospital. Staff were amazing and loved my husbands assistace dog hoover. Room was what we needed. Only fault was the water in the shower pools really close to the door so need either couple of bathmats or thicker ones. All in all great stay. Husband enjoyed the resturant. And liked the idea of a $10 credit if you only get your room serviced every couple of days. If your staying more that 2 days understandable. And they had the notes that we put the sign out on file when we checked out.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Courtyard with BBQ area and swimming pools
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Algotels
3.7 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
GUARANTEED CLEAN ROOM
AU$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$479
  • Expedia.com
    AU$508
5.6 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
ALH GBT QUEEN
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Algotels
6.5 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rooftop Terrace view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
AU$157
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.8 km from Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Birtinya
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
253
127
37
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
253
127
37
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunshine coast mini bar appointed rooms comfortable bed conference foxtel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2023

Had a medical specialist appointment & coming from Bundy, decided to do an overnight stay.
Very comfortable bed… interestingly, no mini bar which didn’t phase us. The check-in & check-out were painless & the room was clean & comfortable. We will definitely stay here again & recommend the hotel… It was up to Mercure standard for sure..
The Wildflower Kitchen restaurant was interesting… looking at the menu wasn’t very inspiring… surprisingly to us, the meal was extraordinary.
We had the prawn & smoked salmon share plate as an entree… the description was sparse on information but the reality was beautiful, salmon was arranged very nicely in florets & a half dozen large prawns (they say min of 4) heads & tails on but shelled very nicely, all arranged on a lovely salad plate…
For mains we had the scotch pork fillet… honestly the nicest pork fillet (generous 2 pieces) I’ve had in a restaurant in a long while. Well seasoned & we chose, mushroom sauce & the hasselback potatoes with a shared side of brussel sprouts.
My partner ordered the lamb rump which was also very good & had some of each other’s as we do… we had a bottle of Bleasdale shiraz between us.
The service from our wait staff was excellent & manager Brett came over for a chat.
All in all a lovely evening.

Room tip: Very comfy bed, not a resort hotel, ie no pool or minibar but it’s in a Hospital precinct. Restaurant was excellent.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Smeetla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2023

The service has been exceptional. My toddler had surgery at the local hospital & they went as far as to clean my blood stained clothes. I booked a small room & they moved me to a much larger room with a balcony & a beautiful view. Very single staff member have been so friendly. They cleaned a vomit covered bed in a moment notices. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I'm so grateful they made this process so easy & comfortable. A massive thank you to everyone at mecure Kawana waters.

Room tip: I hope everyone has the same experience as I did.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Orning, Owner at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2023

Thank You Joannan,
We are so happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and that we made your experience comfortable. Thank You also for reviewing us and your kind words. We hope to see you back another time, in better circumstances.
All the best to you and the toddler!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2023 via mobile

We had a great stay, the rooms were spacious and very clean, lots of parking, beautiful water views. We also had an amazing dinner in the restaurant and the buffet breakfast was delicious and fresh. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, staff were so helpful and the family we were travelling with from the Netherlands loved the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank iamrobertanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Orning, Owner at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you Robert, both for staying with us and for your kind words.
We are really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope you had a great continued visit in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2023

Stayed overnight to attend a friend's birthday party. Very spacious, clean and quiet rooms. Beds are so comfortable and lovely outlook over the lake from the restaurant. Highly recommend this Hotel and would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sharyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Orning, Owner at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thank you Sharyn!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2022

Had a very disappointing one night stay at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters. First impression was the terrible damp smell in our room and level 3 corridor. Perhaps the carpet had recently been cleaned but regardless of this it was not at all pleasant. The room itself was OK with a bed providing reasonable comfort. Air conditioning temperature could not be changed without contacting reception and was set on an uncomfortable 24 degrees which was not great in providing a good nights sleep. Didn't eat in restaurant but did have a couple of drinks in what was a fairly ordinary and small bar area. The outdoor area surely could be better used to allow for people to sit and relax with a drink or two.

The biggest issue however was the lack of thought when it came to parking. Staying on a Saturday night when an event was being held in the function room should be avoided at all costs. There is simply not enough parking in the hotel carpark or any of the surrounding streets. Hotel guests are not provided any priority over short-term term guests attending an event or eating in the restaurant which is just ridiculous. We ended up parking some distance away and walking back through the nearby Hospital where street parking was timed from 8am 7 days a week. Overall stay was very disappointing for a room that was not worth the rate charged in a Hotel no better than 3 stars.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hamish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Orning, General Manager at Mercure Sunshine Coast Kawana Waters, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Dear Hamish,
Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. We have since repaired the Air Con and the room can now be adjusted in the room again.
I'm sorry about the car parking, its hard to have enough space and sometimes we do run out.
Again, we are sorry that we didn't deliver and will do our best to do better in the future. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews