We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE/HORRIBLE BEDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This is an older Hotel but very clean and nice. But, the beds were so hard none of us were able to sleep, I am not sure if they replaced the mattresses and they downgraded or if we ended up on an old ones. I have stayed here many times and never had an issue. If they did upgrade all there mattresses then they need to re-think it, we will not be returning, none of us could sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeeAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear LeeAnn J

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback like yours helps us improve. I am sorry you found the mattress too hard for your liking. I will be sure to look in to this issue with the housekeeping staff.

Sincerely

Maria N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Great location. Nice hotel but getting a little tired. Rooms are nicely laid out open suites. Good internet and tv service. Breakfast was a disappointment...room was messy and many food items empty. Helpful staff. Great access to Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdavef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear JDavef

Thank you for choosing the Kahler Inn and Suites for your recent stay in Rochester. We are happy you enjoyed the suite, internet and TV service. I will pass on your feedback regarding the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Maria N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

My mom and I stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites for one night on August 6, 2017. She has stayed their several times through the years when she has had checkups at the Mayo Clinic because it is conveniently located nearby and within easy walking distance through an underground tunnel. We stayed on the 8th (top) floor and it was very quiet. The included breakfast was very good, with a nice variety of cereal, fruit, waffles, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, Nutrigrain bars, and several different options for beverages. Our room was clean and there was a refrigerator in it, which was nice, but we wished it would have had a microwave in it, too. We asked an employee if there was anywhere in the hotel that we could use a microwave to reheat something, and he said that unfortunately there wasn't, but he also wished the rooms would have microwaves in them because people frequently ask him that same question. The beds were comfortable, and although the hotel is showing its age in a few areas, I would highly recommend it. I am giving the hotel four stars instead of five, only because our room did not include a microwave.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear M S

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the convenience to the Mayo Clinic. I will pass on your advice regarding microwaves in the rooms or at least available for guest use.

Sincerely,

Maria N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We visited the Mayo Clinic recently and wanted to stay nearby. We found the location (across the street from the Charlton building, kitty corner from the Mayo building) to be the best feature of the hotel, with a small but nice Caribou Coffee attached to the lobby. Customer service was uneven and we didn't find the pricing to be a good value for the money.

We checked in late due to a delayed flight and were unimpressed with the disinterested woman at check-in - she neither greeted nor thanked us for choosing the Kahler Inn and Suites, was vague about where to park, and was a terrible representative for Kahler; we thought that she belonged in the back of the house where she doesn't need to interact with customers. On the other hand, one of the guys at the front desk cheerfully fixed a billing error (I was charged half a day for staying 2 hours past a previously agreed upon 1PM late checkout, so be sure to review your bill before checking out) and stored our luggage at the front desk for a few hours while we attended to some last-minute appointments.

We got a corner room (well one with an interior corner) which was dated but ok - we would have been fine if it was $100 less than we paid, so we found the room to be a poor value for the money paid. The bed was reasonably comfortable and we liked having a small fridge.

There is a parking garage right across the street to the east of the hotel but as others have noted the parking spaces are incredibly narrow - I had to exit my car via the passenger seat, so beware of door dings.

We asked for a late checkout (no mention of an additional fee) and had to extend this a couple of hours due to some last-minute appointments at Mayo. While we understand that hotels want to keep occupancy rates as high as possible, we didn't like being surprised at checkout with a half day charge when the 1PM late checkout was agreed upon. We would stay again only if the nightly rate was a lot lower and/or we got an updated room with better and more uniform customer service.

Room Tip: Book early for best room selection and if visiting the Mayo Clinic, ask for the discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travellingbug07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time the time to provide your feedback. We will be sure to address your concerns with our front desk staff, as friendly and helpful customer service is a top priority at Kahler Inn and Suites. I am happy the staff was able to assist you with your bill and rectify your concerns. Please call us directly prior to your next stay so that we may help you book the perfect room for your needs.

Sincerely,

Maria N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Be careful when booking a Standard Room through a third party.Got half a room
( most of the room was taken up by walls covering a stairway}and the very last room down a long hallway; Breakfast room was a joke. Juice machine didn't work; VERY little food to be had. My last day, Friday. at 7am. this line was clear down the hall waiting for food to show up. When food did show up, there was not enough for number of guest waiting.Over the years this place has spiraled downward.
The only plus as ai see it, is the proximity to the Clinic.

Room Tip: If have ambulatory problems, ask for room near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvercloud84277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

I apologize that you were not happy with your room. I will share your concerns regarding the complimentary breakfast with the appropriate staff. We would love another chance to impress you in the future. Please call our front desk to assist you in booking the perfect room for your needs.

Sincerely

Maria N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 km away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 50 in Rochester
1,308 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $144 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing