We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Causeway on Gull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Causeway on Gull
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent a week starting on the 8th of July, 2011 and I have to say it was very nice. The staff was exceptional, they went above and beyond to make our stay there enjoyable. Our unit was very clean, quiet and comfortable. All positives. We traded through our Interval International travel group and it was excellent and we'll be going back throughout the year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirkdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Had a great time. My sister in law won the trip, so we got to try out a new place for free. Had a great time!
The cabin was very spacious and even included a hot tub, right in the sweet! The kitchen was well equipped and all the common spaces were large with high ceiling and large windows.
We signed up for one of the crafts, and my 6yo really enjoyed decorating a tshirt for her new teddy.
My husband and his sisters rented bikes (for free) and had a fun time with that as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leahbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We just got back from a short snowmobiling trip. Checked in on Friday - no problems. The colors were a bit dated but it was roomy, clean, big and met all our needs! Loved the indoor hot tub and the fireplace! :-) The beds were comfy and the showers were awesome! Check out was just as easy as check in. We did not use the pool or the activities center but took a peek and it looked like a fun place to hang out. We were able to sled right out of our unit and right on to the lake! It was getting warm so the trails were getting a little rough but we were still able to ride..no worries there. I would recommend Causeway to anyone! IT ROCKS!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voltech2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Causeway on Gull was a very nice resort. Our family of four stayed in one of the Sixplex Units. A two bedroom unit + a one bedroom lower unit, a lockout. It does have it's own grill. It was extremely roomy, we certainly didn't need all the space but it was very nice. We rented a Golf cart for one day - it was fun and useful to get around to the pool and the nearby restaurant. Speaking of restaurants - Zorbaz (adjacent to the property) was quite good, we ate outside looking over the lake, pizza was great and the kids liked hanging out on the sand volleyball court after we ate. Our unit was on a hill above the indoor pool/hot tub/tennis court area. There was a VERY small workout room at the indoor pool and it was in pretty sad shape. The elliptical machine sounded as if you were on board a train. It was a five minute walk to the outdoor pool, where there was plenty of room to hangout and also a nice hot tub. We did go out on one of the free canoes and tried to use the paddle boat, it was pretty hard to steer. We decided to rent a pontoon boat for a 1/2 day (five hours), pricey though, with gas it came to $200. We had a good time, cruised down to the tip of Gull Lake, stopped at a sandbar to swim for a bit. Fished too, but didn't catch anything.

Downtown Nisswa is really nice. Just a five minute drive north on the highway. Lots of nice giftshops, my girls loved The Chocolate Ox - a candy/ice cream store. We also enjoyed the Turtle Races that they have every Wednesday afternoon. You "rent" a turtle for $3 and they race 20 at a time - winner gets a ribbon. It's very popular. We were turtle number 293.

The only major downside was that this resort has no beach area. We did drive to nearly Pelican Lake (about 15 minutes) and it has a VERY shallow large swimming area. You could walk out forever and still only be up to your waist.

Overall a fun, relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Crismont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We recently stayed at Causeway on Gull Lake and did not enjoy our stay. My parents booked the week. We were sold on the twin homes, but got a town home. They definitely weren't as nice. With the twin home, they sold the basement as a separate unit and just put a door at the bottom of the hallway. It was really noisy if the other family was in the kitchen or talking.

There is no lake shore/sandy beach for kids to play on. We were really disappointed by this.

We were not impressed with the maintenance of the property. We witnessed a half-brained mother empty her child's dirty diaper all over the pool deck. Then she proceeded to rinse it off over the pool. We reported the problem to the front desk and maintenance crew. We didn't ever see anyone show up at the pool. To our knowledge, the pool was not shut down as is typically required by the state.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank frenchiemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
13.2 km away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
290 reviews
13.9 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
450 reviews
16.3 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
16.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
2.5 km away
Grand View Lodge
Grand View Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nisswa
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway on Gull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway on Gull

Address: 8087 Lost Lake Rd, Nisswa, MN 56468-2523
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway on Gull 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway on Gull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway On Gull Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing