We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than zero”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahnomen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shooting Star Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Wow! We knew gong in that this was going to be our last weekend bus trip as the hotel doesn't need the business. 14 years of going and enjoying. The hotel and staff could not have made it any clearer that our businesses was not welcome. On the way down we discussed changing to a weekday trip. Forget that. We will take our business elsewhere. In no particular order:
1. Our group was spread out all over the hotel on different floors. All adjoining room requests were ignored. Stood in line at reception to be told to go up stairs to Group Services. Richard works there. Wow F for service. He could not have cared less. When I tried to approach to discuss why we wanted adjoining rooms he said I had to leave because I had an attitude. Richard, I was approaching you to tell you that one of our foursome has stage four cancer. We were shocked that she made the trip. This was going to be our last shooting star trip. I did not want to yell that over the other people in the room. No worries Richard as the kind strangers in the adjoining room (who drove in and got the adjoining room about an hour before us) gladly switched with us.
2. Smoke restaurant. 20 minute wait with tons of empty tables. Clearly not enough staff. However server was wonderful and food was great.
3. Deli is not open in morning? So Tim Hortons or buffet. Buffet is a long line with one cashier as you have to pay first. Than sat and waited forever for coffee. It a lot of choices but it was okay. Asked for orange juice. Nope
4. Entertainment. None. Just karaoke all weekend. No thanks
5. Smoke in casino was ridiculous and we had to leave early
6. Buffet Sunday morning was ridiculous. Long long line ups. One cashier? Dirty tables everywhere. No food! Had to find a table. No milk! No orange juice! Are you kidding me. Server was clearly overwhelmed.
7. Room cleanliness. Zero. Bugs in bath tub and rooms. In both rooms unbelievable. We returned from shopping to find that my friends bed just had the top cover pulled up. (Our friends all said they experienced same) My bed wasn't touched. The pillow cases were pulled off and pillows were thrown on chair. The mattress cover was ripped and could not cover the mattress. The gentleman who came when we called was very nice.

We will never be back.

If your aim was to prove how invaluable our dollar means to you, you succeeded.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Capette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 15 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

We found this property pretty much in line with the TA reviews. Were not expecting much which upon arrival proved to be correct. The front desk staff were less than helpful regarding directions to "our" room location - in fact it took a bit of driving around until we were able to locate our room location/parking area - for 1st timers not easy. The room was OK for one night - food options and services - not so good. Would not recommend nor again stay at this property.

Room Tip: If an over-night - plan for another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

A decent price for a comfortable night's stay. Our family gathered for our Grandmother's funeral, and it was nice to be able to meet up for a meal or snack/drink at night. Everyone was friendly and my accommodations were good.
Many memories of Grandma playing the slot machines there. I enjoyed it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

this is the 2nd year we were there for a slo-pitch tournament.last year we had bug in our room and the tv didn't work.it was as though they didn't care.we ate at the new smoke restaurant were the service was suspect.the food average.we have a banquet at the end of the tournament and the service was somewhat suspect.we asked for tea and the server was in a bad mood and let us no in no uncertain terms,its not in the contract.we asked for more coffee and the server literally slammed it on the table.very poor service.not only that they ran out of food and when more food was brought in it wasn't cooked properly.alot of the people on our bus complained of house keeping and general service.THE ONLY SAVING GRACE WAS 2ONE8.WHERE MONICA PROVIDED EXCELLENT SERVICE AND THE FOOD WAS GOOD.

Room Tip: cannot recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lionel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and well taken care o and the staff was all very friendly! The casino has a lot of variety with great card member perks! I cant wait to go back again!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank kittylout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shooting Star Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Casino & Hotel

Address: 777 SE Casino Rd, Mahnomen, MN 56557-5014
Region: United States > Minnesota > Mahnomen
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahnomen
Number of rooms: 380
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Hotel Mahnomen
Shooting Star Casino And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing