We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“East Coast Excellence”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Mill Stone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chapel St. Leonards, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SaffiShef...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“East Coast Excellence”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Close to Chapel St Leonard's lovely beach are Mill Farm Cottages. Two are on one level with wheelchair access and wide doors and one is a two-storey building. The setting of these cottages is lovely and peaceful and a must to try are the farm's own eggs which are yummy. It was lovely to gaze out of the window whilst having breakfast and watch the resident horses and sheep.
We stayed in Millstone Cottage and having read the reviews on the booking agent's site which were excellent, we were still bowled over with this property. Everything is of high quality, including all the furnishings, bedding and pillows and extremely comfortable beds. We were greeted by Sally (Oh and Jenson the black labrador) who are both lovely and friendly. Sally offered lots of information about the surrounding area as well as providing us with a very scrummy Victoria sandwich cake. Sally is easily accessible by text if you have any problems etc.
The bathroom and en-suite were of good quality and offered plenty of hot water. Heating of the property is via under-floor heating and we were lovely and warm as the weekend we were there was fairly horrible and cold.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would need if you wished to self-cater. There are some restaurants nearby at Chapel for those that wish to eat out which offer good choices. Do visit the beach there and also the little beach bar - it really doesn't look that much from the outside but is very quaint inside and you are met with a friendly welcome and real ales - bonus!
Last but not least is the luxury of having a hot tub - all the properties have them. Give it a go even if the weather is horrible - we did and loved it! It was very relaxing. The other bonus is that these properties are dog friendly. You don't always get the quality with 'dog friendly' properties as we have found out in the past but Sally's properties are the exception. Give them a try!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, extremely comfortable and warm
Liked least: absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashb2701
Hull, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the roosters cottage over Christmas and new year and had a lovely time, Sally couldn't do enough for us.
We had such a good time when we got home we booked to go again.
Thanks a lot Sally

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just got back from our family honeymoon and we must say what a wonderful place this is. Everything about it was simply fantastic. We took our 2 and a half year old son and enjoyed every minute of our stay so much that we are already looking to book again next year. Everything from the accommodation to the country surroundings was picture perfect. The traditional country decor suited the surroundings magnificently. It actually felt more like we were living in home in the country rather than a holiday home. We received very warm welcome with a divine victoria sandwich waiting for us on the dining table (thank you Sally). Exceptional local knowledge helped us make most of the week and having the animals in the surrounding fields was fantastic beyond words. Especially for our little one. Will happily recommend staying here, as we will no doubt do again ourselves. Very highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: coming home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just a perfect family holiday - again”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We returned to Sunrise Barn for our fifth year and once again it was an idyllic week. Neil and Sally are the perfect hosts and one can feel the tension of everyday life simply slip away as you turn into the property and savour the peace. Sunrise is always impeccably presented and all the grounds are constantly maintained and are spotless.
The charming village is a few minutes away and the beach is quiet and lovely. The sea felt like a new home, we spent so much time in it.
As a family, we are genuinely fortunate to have stumbled across Mill Farm cottages five years ago, and it is difficult to imagine spending our summer break anywhere else. The chilfdren love playing with the dogs (Archie was, and is, my favourite) and such is the friendly nature of the dogs that our youngest, aged 5, who was wary of dogs after one scared him slightly at a friend's house, ended the week totally at ease surrounded by them and has since complained constantly that he misses Rex.
There are childhood memories being embedded here that will stay with our kids forever, and it's such a delight to see them so happy and for us to get some valuable family time together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powerllp
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation and surroundings”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our first stay in a cottage in the UK and this was over and above our expectations, I stayed with my partner and my son age 9 - the cottage was very very clean and furnished to a very high standard, the hot tub was excellent, the beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with everything you needed self catering wise - showers ensuite and in the bathroom were lovely perfect hot and cold running water - a delicious victoria sponge greeted us as we entered the property and the owner Sally filled us in on everything we needed to know. We had beautiful weather and we loved the surrounding farm and the dogs were very well behaved and played football with my son, he loved it and so did we. We will definitely book this again we couldnt fault anything we were so relaxed.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing