We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Can you picture yourself relaxing in this exquisite space for a weekend?
1000 square feet of luxury and privacy, Call to ask about Writer's Retreat rates
Two person Japanese size soaking tub with air bath bubbles
Vessel sink from local potter Lu Ommen expertly placed in Amish cabinetry
The perfect anniversary getaway
Homemade bread, Amish eggs, coffee, tea, etc provide breakfast when YOU want it
Sheets, towels and yukata (Japanese bathrobes) are lined dried  on site, most seasons
About us, after teaching for 25 years in Japan we are enjoying sharing our love of Japanese culture
Japanese farmhouse style cabinets made by the Amish master Mr. Yutze of Granger MN
Yes, we have cable television and wifi but also a fireplace  and jigsaw puzzles.
Japanese antique chest and Chinese style chair with
Only 5 minutes from Harmony/Root River Bike Trail, the Loft has an interior and exterior entrance.
The wild flowers are beautiful this year, saw two monarch butterflies in August.
Along the bike trail, stop to see the sinkhole exhibit provided by the Harmony Historical Society
Asahi Beer glasses found at the flea markets in Tokyo will hold your favorite beverage.
Your view from your private deck complete with new Sunsetter awning.
@Hegel photographer overhead view of hibachi
If you see our chortan (pile of rocks) you are at our driveway. Welcome!
Newly opened business Weddings at Asahi.
Repairing shoji doors and window covering
Large closet hidden by shoji doors.
Winter season is also popular with our guests. Doug loves to blow snow  from the driveway.
We have a great connection for cross country ski and snow shoe rental
Although the summer flowers are gone, on a sunny day you can enjoy relaxing in sunshine
Sections of the bike trail only need a small amount of snow to be enjoyed.
We have hosted honeymoons and many anniversary celebrations but Rosie and Vern 'take the cake' 64 yr
New sign marking the interior entrance to the Asahi Loft.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harmony, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a fantastic stay at The Loft. Everything was as it was pictured, all the comforts of home plus more. Having eggs, homemade bread, homemade jam & coffee provided is a huge plus. And tasted awesome. The air tub is also a huge bonus, we absolutely loved it. It's in a quiet setting in a charming town. Highly recommend staying Here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you Bonnie, for taking time to write the review. I will send you details of the soaking bath soon. We spent many months researching to make it more "Japan-like".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was our first visit to the area and to the Loft...and it won't be our last! The Loft was so much more than we ever expected and it was so relaxing, a nice change of pace. You can tell there was a lot of thought put into the design of the Loft and the little "extra's" like the Japanese robes and slippers and the homemade bread make it such a neat experience.

Highly Recommend!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
....and you were FABULOUS guests. We look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for taking time to submit this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinar K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & Authentic Place”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed one night at Asahi Loft and absolutely loved the place. The loft is huge and luxurious. The Japanese concept is very authentic. The hosts are very friendly. If you come to Harmony or nearby, you have to stay at Asahi Loft!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thanks for the review Cinar, glad we could accommodate you on short notice. Hopefully we can host you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MplsTrave...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Peaceful, private and comfortable!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay in Harmony. It's a very friendly place with lots to do. Cindy's hospitality was tremendous. There were fresh flowers on the table, tasty treats in the fridge. There are really clear instructions about the loft as well as many brochures and magazines about things to do in the area. The bed was very comfortable too. The location was perfect - easy to visit the Amish farms, Decorah and Spillville as well as close proximity to the Root River Trail. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking time to write this great review. I will remember to send more people to Spillville! We look forward to hosting you again. Cross country ski season is coming right up. I mean is coming in several months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shuchika
1 review
“Perfect balance of coziness and luxury”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Asahi loft was so comfortable it felt like home yet it had some unique, luxurious features which assured we were on a special vacation. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there. The room, bathroom, and kitchen were spotless. The juccuzi was very nice too. The loft is in a very quiet neighborhood surrounded by relaxing nature. We were very much delighted by the wonderful hospitality of the owner. Thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thanks for finding the Loft and spending your honeymoon here. Japanese guests seem to especially appreciate the yukata (bathrobe) and other touches that remind them of Japan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing