We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, comfy, clean and quiet... a wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Parlour

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cottered, Hertfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
duckym0
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice but room for improvement”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location and layout of the farm barns is ideal. Like others, we appreciated the two en suite bathrooms and spacious living area. The furnishings are cozy and well considered. The local breakfasts at Church Farm were also a highlight.

A few details could have been better. The hot water is on a timer. Apparently it was incorrectly set so we had cold showers our first morning. We phoned and asked for it to be fixed but it was then again incorrectly set so I had a second cold shower on day two. (But to be fair the owners explained how we could set it ourselves so the rest of our group had warm water.) On the third day I was the third one to shower in the morning and apparently all the hot water was gone! Limited hot water is not what we expect from a 'luxury' property, and a place with room for four adults needs to accommodate four showers.

Also the place needs a deeper clean. The second bedroom shower has mildew between the tiles and the corners of the floor, some dishes were put away with dried bits of food on them, and the iPod dock was crusted with grime.

With a bit more conscientious care this place could be great. As-is it was okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
We are truly sorry that there are a few things that need improvement in The Parlour and we are now on the case to rectify these straight away as we take all negative comments very seriously and pride ourselves on being a luxury property.

In regards to the hot water, unfortunately when the barns were built, hot water tanks were installed, therefore on the odd occasion when the hot water from the tank has been used you do unfortunately have to wait a little while for it to heat up again. This is not something that guests usually complain about, but in light of your comments we are now looking into other ways of having the hot water running constantly for our guests.

With regards to the cleanliness of the barn, we can only apologise as we do have a team of cleaners who are supposed to deep clean the barns whenever someone leaves. We will be passing this information onto the cleaners and making sure that we continually check the standard of the cleaning.

We really do appreciate your feedback and maybe we will see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Jenny and Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbrianJ...
Arnside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, comfy, clean and quiet... a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just back from a wonderful stay in The Parlour at Harestreet Farm Barns. Beautifully kept, clean and exceptionally spacious. A quiet location too. The cottage had everything we needed. Many thanks Emma & Owen, we had the holiday we were hoping for! :-)

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay - thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaF17
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday in the country, but so close to the buzz of London - Perfect”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Parlour catered for all of our needs. It is clean, modern and comfortable. We like to take our dog on holiday with us, but do not like to feel that we are in an inferior place because of this. It was great having en-suite bathrooms to both bedrooms too, especially when our family joined us with baby.

Train to London Kings Cross only takes about half an hour and is an extremely regular service, with plenty of parking at station. Great if you want to pop in for shopping or a show.

Had lunch in local pub "The Bull". Lovely food and certainly not what you would call "pub grub".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and clean place.
Liked least: Wifi good, but not great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasmine12...
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful converted barn, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great week at the very well equipped accommodation. Would stay again and would definitely recommend to friends

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending us - you're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara30...
Oundle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Rural Retreat”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent barn conversion with all amenities. Fully equipped, nicely furnished and very comfortable. It is in a very attractive rural setting surrounded by footpaths and bridleways in open countryside.
Both bedrooms have an en suite with a third bathroom so excellent facilties for a grown up family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ensuite facilities
Liked least: Towells were on teh small side
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 146
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing