We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Evening at the Timberlake Lodge in Grand Rapids, MN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberlake Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Evening at the Timberlake Lodge in Grand Rapids, MN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels/motels I have ever stayed in. It was very, very clean, quiet and the staff were all so very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevjmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    36
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
70
46
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
277 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Being the professional business traveller, I always prefer to stay in Marriott Hotels when available. This business trip took me to the northern part of Minnesota to Grand Rapids. Being a small town, there were really no chain hotels close by so I opted for the Timberlake Lodge, and what a truly GREAT place! This place exceeded all my expectations. From the moment I entered the rustic lobby, I felt as though I was in a nice ski lodge. The front desk staff were welcoming, and friendly. Entering my room, I was pleasantly surprised to see how clean and new looking everything was. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves, a large flat screen TV, and a very comfortable bed. There is a nice desk for working, and two comfortable chairs. Very spacious rooms! I saved the best part for last (or almost last). The bathroom was large, and had a huge walk in shower, with shower heads on two walls. But wait, there's more. In addition to the two shower heads, there are two body sprayer jets on each side for a total of two shower heads and four jets. I couldn't wait to get in after a long day of work to walk into the shower, and just stand there being sprayed from all directions. I wouldn't get out until I was almost a prune. Glad I wasn't paying the water bill. The only thing missing was my wife. You get the picture. On top of the already top notch room, there was free wifi in the rooms, and breakfast was included. What more could you ask for? Now, if you have your kids with you, or if you are a big kid, there is a large indoor pool area with a water slide, large hot tub, and climate controlled so you don't have to worry about freezing. The entire place was very clean, with top notch service from the entire staff. The General Manager here really knows how to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. There is also a great restaurant here on property, with excellent food at reasonable prices for a hotel. Usually you can always find a negative no matter where you stay, but I couldn't. This place is a hidden gem in northern Minnesota. Whether here for business, pleasure, or romantic getaway, this is the place. If you are a Judy Garland fan, this is her hometown and there is a museum in the town as well. When back in this area, I will always stay here. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Timberlake Lodge for New Years. The staff at the front desk were great! Rooms were clean :)The kids had a fantastic time in the pool area, they loved the slide! The breakfast the next morning was delicious. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was my first stay at Timberlake Lodge. I was there for a week on business. I just loved it. Everyone made me feel welcome which made it easier to be away from my family. The rooms are lovely. I especially liked the giant tub in the room with two queen beds. The breakfast in the morning has a wonderful variety of hot and cold choices. In the evenings, there are daily dinner specials that are budget friendly and tasty. Another bonus is there are no hidden charge for room service. I am going to be back in the area again for three weeks this summer and I have already booked my room. I would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiejenrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed here 12/17-12/18 for a quick getaway and loved it. We were allowed to check in an hour early which was very nice since we had been Christmas shopping and were looking forward to the hot tub. The pool area was clean and well maintained. There are artificial plants around the hot tub's waterfall and they were even dust free!
When the waterslide is on, there is an attendant that sits and monitors the swimmers coming down which is nice because it keeps people in check.
We stayed in a king room and it was spotless and the double shower was such a nice luxury. There isn't a bathtub (not sure if any of the rooms have them?), so keep this in mind if that is a necessity for you.
We went to the bar later on and the apps were great as well as the drinks. The staff does a great job of making the patrons feel welcome and keep the hotel looking great. Next time we are going to try the restaurant.
The breakfast in the morning was the usual eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.
We definately will be staying again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesrelaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timberlake_Lodge_144, Public Relations Manager at Timberlake Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Hello lovesrelaxing: Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our property. We are relatively new still (3 ½ years) and want to keep everything looking as good as it did on day one! Thank you also for the note about the bath tub. We have two room types with bath tubs, the Double Queens and the Children’s Suites (which is a kid friendly bunk bed room attached to an Executive King room). The other room types have the oversized, dual headed shower with body sprayers which we get constant raves about. Please do join us at the on-site restaurant next time, you certainly will not be disappointed. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.1 km away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Itascan Motel
The Itascan Motel
#8 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
24.7 km away
White Oak Inn & Suites
White Oak Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Deer River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlake Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlake Lodge Hotel

Property: Timberlake Lodge Hotel
Address: 144 SE 17th St, Grand Rapids, MN 55744-4278
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price range (per night): $141 - $258
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Northern Minnesota, Timberlake Lodge™ is Grand Rapids’ premier full service hotel. A three-story craftsman style building with 84 unique and beautifully furnished guest rooms caters to the business traveler, couple on a getaway and vacationing family. Business amenities include wireless internet, a full service business center, fitness center, lending library, and boardroom for special meetings. Family amenities include a convenience store, family adjoining room suites, full kitchens and mini kitchens with refrigerator and microwaves, coffee pot, as well as large flat screen TVs. For the young and young at heart Timberlake Lodge™ is home to Grand Splash® water park that includes an over sized hot tub, lap pool, kiddie pool with frog slide and a 98ft tube slide! All Timberlake guests are treated to a full, hot breakfast buffet each morning. Handicap accessible rooms are available. All under one roof the lodge is host to the 17th Street Grill that features daily lunch specials, regular weeknight specials, and the best of fine dining in the Grand Rapids area. Weddings, birthday parties, social gatherings, Timberlake has the right space for you throughout the lodge and in our Grand Event Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timberlake Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing