We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Nearby Hotels
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
USD 141*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
USD 121*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 100*
USD 97*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 140*
USD 136*
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth(Duluth)(Great Value!)
USD 115*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 204*
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitger's Inn(Duluth)
USD 222*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 96*
USD 91*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
South Pier Inn on the Canal(Duluth)(Great Value!)
USD 174*
USD 158*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
USD 205*
USD 192*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
436
175
35
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
436
175
35
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslift bridgegreat locationwafflescanal parkclosest hotellake viewwithin walking distancethe breakfast areabalcony roomking suitefree appetizerssitting arealake superiormaritime museumgreat roomexcellent breakfastthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The location is the best! you can walk to everything in Canal park. Free parking. Anna at the front desk was so nice and friendly. We were able to get upgraded to a lake view. Thanks Anna! The breakfast is good, standard fair. Walls are a little thin, as are the floors, but we were on the third floor so no problems for us. Overall, our stay was very nice and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: go for third floor. I am sure the people below us could here us walking around.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julieax_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park! I sincerely thank you for the comments, and am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The best thing about the hotel is its location -- right on Lake Superior, with free parking. The pool had two hot tubs which was also nice. The suites are a little small, especially with 5 people. When using the sofa bed, there was nowhere to put the coffee table. If you have more than 4 people, you have to ask for an extra of everything -- an extra towel, an extra pillow, extra shampoo, etc. Breakfast was good with variety every day. They didn't keep fresh, hot coffee during the day. The wifi was very, very slow.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Coleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Coleen,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time exploring the area and all it has to offer! We do offer hot coffee in our breakfast area 24 hour a day, 7 days a week. Please don't hesitate to let the front desk know if the coffee is ever empty! We try our hardest to keep it hot and ready for our guests, always! If there is anything else we can do specifically to further improve, please don't hesitate to reply to contact us directly. We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

So, we stayed for two nights at an exorbitant rate over $300 per night. We waived housekeeping. Our room was not what we reserved, when we attempted to enjoy the covered patio off our room...the one cushion on the chaise lounge was drenched! No cushions for the other two steel chairs. We hunkered down and rested for two days. As we were leaving today packing and making trips back and forth, our room key would not work. Hubby got a housekeeper who's key would not work. Hubby attempted to go through outside via the deck, then instead went to the front desk. While he was gone Angela showed up with the housekeeper. She looked me up and down and said "why do you want into this room?!" And then "how do I know your suppose to be here?" I offered to show identification and she retorted "I don't know who you are or what you want out of that room" I was flabbergasted! I'm not usually lost for words, but, I was speechless!! By this time hubby was back, now maintenance is at the door and trying to get us in. Ironically they never asked any questions just took us at our word that it was our room.
I am utterly disappointed with how I was spoken to by a member of the Comfort Suites staff. I expected management to appear at the door to apologize, nadda!
We have stayed at this same hotel numerous times, never again!! I was humiliated in the hallway in public by an employee of Comfort Suites and management does not/ did not care.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Naamphong O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanellDuluth_MN, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor regarding your circumstances with the keys to your room. I apologies that you were deeply embarrassed and offended that our executive housekeeper was questioning whether you were guests in that room or not. She was following proper procedures in making sure that you were guests of that particular room. The reason is to make sure that all of our guests and their belongings are safe while staying at the Comfort Suites. I understand that there was an issue that maintenance had to come fix the door. When your husband went to the front desk, it was verified at that time that you indeed were guests of that room.

Please accept our apologies for having embarrassed you. Please understand that as a hotel, we know that we are responsible to make sure that people do not enter rooms that are not registered as guests. This is to prevent theft and the safety of all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hotel has the perfect view of Lake Superior and great location in Canal Park. Everything in Canal Park is within walking distance. Furnishings are like new, bed was comfy, and good breakfast.The staff were all pleasant. Great place to stay for a family. We had a 1st floor balcony room facing Lake Superior and it was exactly as advertised. This hotel made our trip to Duluth one that we would love to come back and do again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnorgaard2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your balcony suite! Our balcony suites certainly do offer the most breathtaking views of the ship canal and Lake Superior! We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to the Duluth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

So convenient at Canal Park. The staff were friendly and nice. Janelle, the general manager, was great. We stay here every year when we go to Canal Park. Nice complimentary breakfast as well. The rooms are always clean.

Room Tip: Parkside is great if you want to watch the ships come in.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marlarwestrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We appreciate you continuing to come stay with us year after year! We aim to please our guests and earn their loyalty! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews