We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveller rating
465
183
35
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
465
183
35
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lift bridge great location canal park waffles closest hotel lake view within walking distance the breakfast area balcony room king suite lake superior sitting area maritime museum excellent breakfast great room third floor sleeper sofa
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 703 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We only stayed this trip one night. My spouse stays here from time to time. It was expensive for one night in Duluth. Even compared to some of the other Canal Park hotels. We enjoyed the view but did not have a balcony. Watching sunrise over water was great. Extremely pretty. The room was a good size and had a sofa. It was clean. We were surprised not to get upgraded to a balcony based on spouses status with Choice.Not a huge deal as it was a busy weekend. The room was loud. We could hear the nieghboring rooms conversations.

The parking was ok; however they only allow one car per room. Not a problem for us on this trip. It was in heart of Canal Park and easy to walk to pier, shopping and resturants.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JyssicaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Jyssica,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and got to catch a beautiful sunrise over Lake Superior! They are certainly breathtaking! We apologize for not upgrading due to the Elite Choice Privileges status, however, these upgrades are only based on availability. We are more than happy to do so when availability allows. Parking is at a premium here in Canal Park during the summer months, as it is a big tourist spot. If there is anything else we can do to improve, please don't hesitate to give us a call. We hope you will think of us again during your next visit to the Duluth area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We had a fantastic experience at Comfort Suites. We had a city view room and we could still see the lift bridge. The patio on lakeside was beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed having so much to explore within walking distance. We will definitely be back for another stay!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Stacie,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and had the chance to sit out on our patio overlooking beautiful Lake Superior! We hope that you will think of us again during your next visit to the Duluth area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

My family has stayed at the Comfort Suites Canal Park location a couple of times and it is our preferred spot to stay in Duluth. This hotel is the closest spot you can get to the lift bridge and shoreline activities. You can walk to pretty much everything including restaurants, stores and attractions like the Maritime Museum or Aquarium. For families, I don't think this location can be beat.

The hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. Our rooms have always been comfortable and quiet. There is a large, free breakfast included as well as a free appetizer in the evening. The staff here have always been polite and helpful.

Hotels in Duluth, particularly in the summer, are pricey no matter where you stay. If you want to save a little try staying during the week and also prepay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and had the chance to explore all that Canal Park has to offer! We sincerely appreciate your comments, and are always looking for ways to further improve our accommodations. We hope that you will think of us again during your next visit to the Duluth area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We spent a fair amount for one night and were not overly impressed. The cost w/ tax was $239. USD for a city view. I asked the nice guy at the front desk for a water view and he did give us one (which I believe for the price was only fair in Duluth market.) They were suppose to have free snacks and didn't until later than stated and only some chips. No drinks. The hotel is a busy one and is right in the heart of Canal Park hence the price. We walked to the pier, museum, Grandmas Saloon, and various interesting small shops all in the same area. Very convenient. The fog horns kept us from sleeping all night. Didn't even think about fog horns till they started. However, that was our bad as we were right next to the light house. Not sure if we'd stay here again. Maybe try one of the other Canal Park resorts.

Room tip: Keep windows closed on foggy nights or you will not sleep w/ the fog horns going off.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maryCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. Our location in the heart of Canal Park is certainly convenient to area attractions and restaurants. Canal Park is also a tourist destination, especially during the summer months. The fog horn is all a part of the experience of staying near the ship canal! If there is anything we can do specifically to further improve, please don't hesitate to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night only and wish we could have stay longer! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a great view of Lake Superior. The front of the hotel has a large balcony and gazebo and looks like an inviting place to people watch or read a book! Hot tub was the perfect temperature!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MN_Traveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Canal Park. We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy your time here with us, and able to relax a bit! We hope you will think of us again during your next visit to the Duluth area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews