We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Gitche Gumee
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2015

5 star place to stay, friendly, and family owned, extremely clean, great view of Lake Superior, bon fire every night, fresh coffee every morning, I will not go anywhere else when I am going to Duluth...Been going for my annual visit every year for eight years. Each room has a personality of its own decorated so uniquely, Butch the owner creates and builds each room. It is fun to stay in different Inn each year. Shelley

Room Tip: Bring food and cook your own meals or go out. Hiking shoes, walking stick and a camera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2014

My wife and I were driving late on hwy 61 along the shore of Lake Superior, looking for a place to stay and happened upon the Inn on Gitche Gummee. We spoke with a couple out front taking an evening stroll and they highly recommended the place. Venturing to see if they had anything available, we wandered in and, speaking to a gentleman asked if they might have a room with two beds. He replied that he might just have what we were looking for and we walked up a flight of stairs to a gorgeous full home on site overlooking the Lake. We were treated not only to "two beds" but an entire home with two huge bedrooms, fireplace, full dining facilities, hot tub, full kitchen and living room with a huge TV! We were astonished at the offering and asked the price of an overnight stay. It turned out that the stay cost about the same as we had been paying for motels along the way. We were served a delicious breakfast in the morning in the lake view alcove of our "home" at no extra cost. The owners were very nice folks and we couldn't have been happier. This is a place I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We chose this inn for a last minute weekend getaway. The inn sits on a hillside across the road from Lake Superior. Although the room description claims a “view of the Duluth Harbor Aerial Lift Bridge”, you will need your binoculars to actually see it. Otherwise, it does have a nice view of the lake, and that is about the best I can say for the inn (and apparently how they justify their prices).
The overall condition of the room and the property, in general, was poorly maintained. The parking area for inn requires you to drive between the inn and what is apparently the owner’s house, taking you through a junk-strewn area containing an old pickup truck that is full of garbage and a garage that is floor-to-ceiling with more junk. As we walked to our room, we had to pass 3 overflowing garbage cans that absolutely reeked. The room was small, but clean. There was what appeared to be a handmade door on the bathroom which did not have any handles or locks and did not fully close, so bathroom privacy is nonexistent. The window screen frames in the bedroom were bent, so they just stuffed the gaps with paper to keep insects out. Whoever the “handyman” is didn’t seem to be so handy. There is constant traffic noise from the road out front. The tiny balcony on each room has motion-sensing security lights mounted directly above. If you sit outside after dark, every twitch of a muscle triggers the spotlights, and worse, if you are in bed and your neighbor comes back after dark, they trigger both your lights and theirs, and the light shines right into your bedroom. To top it off, we had to tolerate the smoke detector going off randomly at 5:30AM and then again at 7:00AM for no good reason. They do provide a tasty, and substantial breakfast for one morning of your stay - consisting of a meat (ham?) omelet with bacon and pancakes. Unfortunately, they choose to imprint a religious message into your pancakes (which is a little weird and creepy). Sorry, but keep your religion to yourself. If you are an atheist vegan, beware!

PROS: Nice view of the lake. Good breakfast. Room itself was clean.

CONS: Overpriced for what you get. Just far enough from Duluth to be inconvenient. Poorly maintained property. Fairly noisy. Creepy religious-themed pancakes. They could do much better.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esteban1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Clean, friendly owner and staff. cool rooms, great breakfast, relaxing place to stay, Nice relaxing place to sit outside and look at Lake Superior.. Love it, love it. On old highway 61, across the road from lake superior. quiet, all rooms have a theme.. I like them all, but the wolfs den is my favorite. Can have a bon fire in the evening. Close to Duluth, but not in town, nice country setting.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shereen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was our second stay here in two years. Each has been wonderful. Butch and Julie are very accommodating and welcoming people. The suite in which we've stayed each time is dog friendly, so we can sit on our deck with our Golden, watch the lake, and enjoy a pizza that we've picked up from Clearwater Grille, just 1.5 miles up the road. The North Shore Scenic Drive/Old Highway 61 had recently been resurfaced so it is great for biking. The shoulders are very wide but are not officially marked as bike lanes. I suspect it will eventually be part of the Gitche Gammee Trail from Duluth to Grand Marais. Back to the Inn, last year there was no screen door on our room, and we wanted to enjoy the fresh lake air at night. We asked it one could be installed when we reserved this time, and when we arrived, there it was. Butch makes pancakes each morning for the guests and delivers them with a big smile. We are looking forward to next year. It's not a Marriott, but it's exactly what we enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sschurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
15.2 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
15.3 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
11.3 km away
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Willard Munger Inn
Willard Munger Inn
#8 of 11 in Duluth
96 reviews
15 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
14.9 km away
The Inn on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Gitche Gumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Gitche Gumee

Address: 8517 Congdon Blvd, Duluth, MN 55804-2745
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inn On Gitche Gumee Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing