We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This past week we stopped at the Inn on the Lake to overnight before driving back to St. Paul.
The location is in the popular Canal Park area, right on Lake Superior and walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The front desk person was friendly and helpful even though she was the only one handling walk ins and the phone. She gave us options of the specials and was very patient as we decided.
The Inn always has fresh coffee and offers S'mores over a fire every night. These are nice extras that make staying there worthwhile.
Breakfast was good and offered some options.
The pool area is handy and clean. My child spent a good deal of time swimming and we read during that time.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony over Lake Superior especially during shipping season. Its fun to watch the ships c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really appreciate your loyalty and recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    279
    88
    44
    22
See reviews for
541
374
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Inn is down in Canal Park area which is convenient to lots of touristy shops, bars and places to eat. Most you can walk to although one of my favorite spots is Fitgers and we did drive to that. It is a bit like Cancun where hotels are stacked up all along the beach (not quite the Tropical temps ) and there are plenty of pets running up and down the boardwalk as well so if you are looking for a bit of privacy to enjoy Lake Superior this may not be the best choice. As I said it is kid and dog friendly. They have an indoor pool, one on the roof top and smores by the fire each night facing the lake. They also have a decent work out area on the second level.
Breakfast was quite crowded with the make them yourself waffles being the most popular. A good selection for kids of cereal and bagels as well as yogurt and donuts. In your room we had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker so great to bring a tray back and sit on your balcony if the temperature allows. It stays 10 degrees cooler off the lake so even if it says 51 it was chilly and foggy.
Beds were comfortable enough but made creaking noises when you moved about. No noise issues even though the hotel was at capacity. We were there for a hockey event so nice and close to Amsoil arena and again very nice to walk to most places.

Room Tip: Facing the lake for great views and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay here. I love the Cancun comparison, and the fact that temps are not always tropical in Duluth. I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our great experience started when I called for reservations. Olivia was very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was excellent. It was a king bed with a sofa pullout with a lake view. It was on the 1st floor at the very end of the Inn. Our view of the lake was great, even on the 1st floor. Our room had 4, yes 4, large windows and 2 large flat screen televisions. The room was very clean. I was surprised how quiet our room was - I heard NOTHING except occasional outside voices during daylight hours, no neighbor or hallway sound at all.

The bathroom and counter/sink area separated the bed area from the living area. The free bath products/soap smelled wonderful. As we were checking for belongings when we were leaving, I opened the fridge (which we didn't use) and saw pop and water!

The breakfast area was quiet when we got coffee to take back to our room to watch the sunrise from our private patio. AWESOME. The weather was fabulous 3/9 & 3/10. The breakfast was very good, so many choices. We are already planning another trip and will certainly stay at the Inn. Next time we would like to try the 3rd floor to compare. Totally A+ from start to finish.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Donna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you very much for your recent visit and very nice review and recommendation. It makes us feel very special to know that we are the reason for your very first review on TripAdvisor. Olivia is terrific, and inspires all of us to do our best every day - I will make sure she gets the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. Since Northfiled isn't too far from Duluth, I hope you will make the trip and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Inn on the Lake lived up to it's billing...the staff are most helpful...breakfast was better than most..very dog friendly...lots of dining and shopping near by...lovely location on the shipping canal.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thanks so much for adding your comments and rating to our listing. Edmondton is a beautiful city, and we hope you have safe travels between here and there. Please let us know when you will be our guest again so we can welcome you back in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Overall was nice. Nice rooms. Nice service. Nice breakfast. Enjoyed the evening smores and the pool on the roof (even though it was only 15 above). Our first room was poolside and the chlorine was too strong, but they were very accomodating and let us change rooms. Our room was hot and the heater was loud, woke me a few times during the night. We had a coupon for 79/night that they wouldn't honor and we don't understand why as when we booked the room we told them we had the coupon. Was 84/night and with a line behind us we let it go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gransm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
I am very sorry for the confusion about your coupon, and will try to make it right if you will contact us privately. Thank you for your visit and nice review. I apologize for the noisy heater, and am glad you were able to enjoy the roof top pool and other amenities during your visit. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.6 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Property: The Inn On Lake Superior
Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price range (per night): $197 - $491
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing