We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable, charming, absolutely perfect!”
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ellery House
Ranked #5 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable, charming, absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Jim and Joan were hospitable and kind. People rave about "southern hospitality" but I think these Yankees are on to something. Breakfast was absolutely delightful and the suites were gorgeous. They did an amazing job decorating and keeping the house (built in 1890!) up. I recommend for anyone and everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
557 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have to mention the breakfast was wonderful and elegantly prepared. We had an egg souffle with strawberry rhubarb muffins, fresh fruit platter and great coffee. The inn was decorated with beautiful antiques which were comfortably arranged. Our room the Ellery Suite was spacious and the beds were very comfortable and luxurious. We completely enjoyed our stay and felt extremely at home . The innkeeper was very helpful with advice and had a kind personality. The inn is very convenient to the Duluth sights plus the North Shore route was very easy to navigate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MominOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were in Duluth for a friend's wedding and decided to stay at the Ellery due it its gorgeous online presentation and affordable prices. It was our first time to MN and we loved every minute of it. Why anyone would chose to stay at a hotel over a bed and breakfast is beyond me, especially when you have the option of such a beautiful place as Ellery! We stayed in the Ellery Suite and felt like WE were on our honeymoon thanks to the luxurious amenities, amazing breakfasts (the breakfasts are truly memorable - homemade rhubarb muffins!), gorgeous landscaping, wonderfully friendly hosts and a beautiful golden retriever to make you feel at home. We even took advantage of the in-room breakfast; just amazing. We've stayed in plenty of B&B's and this was, BY FAR, our favorite.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ellery Suite - great front porch, amazing linens, wonderful bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We decided, rather last-minute, to travel to Duluth for our "post-wedding-getaway." It was amazing! We stayed two nights in the Ellery Suite, and the third night was spent in the Daisy Suite. Both were fantastic! We chose to have breakfast served to our rooms each morning, which was DIVINE each and every morning, overstuffing us for the day! The roses and chocolates that greeted us upon our arrival from the "Romance Package" were gorgeous and delicious, and we had our champagne on the final evening which was also excellent! We were not much for talkers (we kept to ourselves most of the time we were there), but our hosts were gracious and available if we needed anything. I don't believe we will ever forget this experience, and we know we will be staying at the Ellery House when we return to the area! Absolutely no reservations about highly recommending the Ellery House to visitors- it is worth the money!!
**If staying in the Ellery Suite, do take your coffee out onto the balcony- that was our favorite part of the morning! Beautiful view, memorable quiet time together enjoying watching the area kids head off to school :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnifer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Thomas Wahl room for two nights and it was very nice. I saw a glimpse of the two larger rooms and they seemed better for an extended stay or if you like a lot of space. The price for this B&B is very reasonable compared to others in Duluth. The house itself is beautiful and the decor is tasteful. The breakfast is so scumptious! Hearty egg bakes, muffins and fresh fruit that was beautifully presented. We had breakfast in our room which we loved! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.0 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.6 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.3 km away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.2 km away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Property: The Ellery House
Address: 28 S 21st Ave E, Duluth, MN 55812-2102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price range (per night): $67 - $168
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing