We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nelson's Resort
Nearby Hotels
Grand Ely Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
USD 181*
USD 170*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
USD 108*
USD 105*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(Ely)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Lodge(International Falls)
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
16
8
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
8
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

.Hard to believe that such beauty exists in the midwest.. Nelson's is on the edge of both the Boundary Water Canoe Wilderness and Voyagers National Park. Voyagers is accessably by boat so if you don't bring your own be sure to rent one and and ask the staff for directions. Chef Chris prepares some of the best food I've eaten anywhere. Because you are on the border with Canada it is a good idea to bring your passport. You can enter Canada by boat. Hiking, boating, fishing, and relaxing are the main activities. No TV, no phone, no interuptions. Casual elegance on the edge of true wilderness. We keep coming back, year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HikeMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have been going to Nelson's Resort for 23 years and love it! The resort sits on the edge of one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the world. A short boat ride brings us to the most incredible scenery that totally re-arranges our outlook on life. This year the food in the lodge at Nelsons Resort has taken off--everything is delicious. Our family (and friends) have enjoyed everything from amazing sandwiches at lunch to filet mignon at night to homemade rhubarb crisp to relish trays with vegetables grown in the resort garden. We have been up to Nelson's twice so far this year and are planning a third trip in August. Highly recommended for a totally relaxing getaway!!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank PineNoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We want to convey our appreciation for teh fantastic evening we had on June 23rd. Our group enjoyed the piano music and delicious Smorgasbord from the hors d'oeuvres to the desserts. The dining room was wonderful and the service superb. Thank you for your kind hospitality and happy memories. The Greenwood Seniors.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenwood44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Rented The Point cabin. It had 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds, no kitchen, and small bathroom. The location was great. No foot-traffic from other cabins through our area and great view of the lake from the front of our cabin. The only problem with the location is that you could not drive directly to the cabin. We had to haul our gear about 75 yards to the cabin. Not a real big deal but kind of annoying. The cabin is not on the beach so is not the greatest spot for a family. A kitchen sure would have been nice since the food at the lodge was marginal and expensive. The water pump broke down the last night we were there and we had no plumbing the remainder of that night and part of the next morning. That was certainly less than ideal. It's an old resort and I'm sure takes a ton of maintenance. I kind of felt sorry for the owner. Bottom line is that it was way too expensive for what we got. I'm not sure I will stay there again for that price and the overall condition of the old resort. And the fishing was only average. Some small walleyes even though we hired a guide (which was also very expensive).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cartersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Our family planned a wonderful 7 day vacation at Nelson's Resort, Crane Lake. The 2 bedroom cabin was beautiful, the scenery was fantastic, but we had a mouse problem.
Unfortunately, we ended our stay early because the owner's only excuse for mice in the cabin and eating area was, "this is an old cabin". Not a good excuse for the price we paid. I don't think the owners allow mice in the lodge where they serve the public!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank forester_fsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelsons35, Owner at Nelson's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We have taken the appropriate steps to fix this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews