We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabins and great food”
Review of Nelson's Resort

Nelson's Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crane Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson's Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crane Lake
Nisswa MN
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cute cabins and great food”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great lodge with wonderful food at dinner and breakfast. Reasonable prices. Quiet dining area. Good bar with music on many summer weekends.

Cabins are nice and all offer front row seat on Crane Lake, gateway to Voyageur's National Park in Northern MN.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisswatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

.Hard to believe that such beauty exists in the midwest.. Nelson's is on the edge of both the Boundary Water Canoe Wilderness and Voyagers National Park. Voyagers is accessably by boat so if you don't bring your own be sure to rent one and and ask the staff for directions. Chef Chris prepares some of the best food I've eaten anywhere. Because you are on the border with Canada it is a good idea to bring your passport. You can enter Canada by boat. Hiking, boating, fishing, and relaxing are the main activities. No TV, no phone, no interuptions. Casual elegance on the edge of true wilderness. We keep coming back, year after year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HikeMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have been going to Nelson's Resort for 23 years and love it! The resort sits on the edge of one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the world. A short boat ride brings us to the most incredible scenery that totally re-arranges our outlook on life. This year the food in the lodge at Nelsons Resort has taken off--everything is delicious. Our family (and friends) have enjoyed everything from amazing sandwiches at lunch to filet mignon at night to homemade rhubarb crisp to relish trays with vegetables grown in the resort garden. We have been up to Nelson's twice so far this year and are planning a third trip in August. Highly recommended for a totally relaxing getaway!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank PineNoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We want to convey our appreciation for teh fantastic evening we had on June 23rd. Our group enjoyed the piano music and delicious Smorgasbord from the hors d'oeuvres to the desserts. The dining room was wonderful and the service superb. Thank you for your kind hospitality and happy memories. The Greenwood Seniors.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenwood44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Rented The Point cabin. It had 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds, no kitchen, and small bathroom. The location was great. No foot-traffic from other cabins through our area and great view of the lake from the front of our cabin. The only problem with the location is that you could not drive directly to the cabin. We had to haul our gear about 75 yards to the cabin. Not a real big deal but kind of annoying. The cabin is not on the beach so is not the greatest spot for a family. A kitchen sure would have been nice since the food at the lodge was marginal and expensive. The water pump broke down the last night we were there and we had no plumbing the remainder of that night and part of the next morning. That was certainly less than ideal. It's an old resort and I'm sure takes a ton of maintenance. I kind of felt sorry for the owner. Bottom line is that it was way too expensive for what we got. I'm not sure I will stay there again for that price and the overall condition of the old resort. And the fishing was only average. Some small walleyes even though we hired a guide (which was also very expensive).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crane Lake
2.3 km away
Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Pine Point Lodge & Resort
#2 of 5 in Crane Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
37.7 km away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#5 of 10 in Orr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
39.7 km away
White Eagle Resort on Lake Vermilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson's Resort

Property: Nelson's Resort
Address: 7632 Nelson Rd, Crane Lake, MN 55725-8023
Region: United States > Minnesota > Crane Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Crane Lake
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1931 John and Millie Nelson held a dream of a first class resort on the edge of the wilderness. You can find this dream still alive and nestled on Crane Lake in the north woods. Still operated by the Nelson family, the tradition of friendly hospitality, impeccable cleanliness and individual service awaits each and every guest. Each of our log and pine paneled cabins along Nelson's 1-1/2 miles of lakeshore awaits your visit. Nelson's Resort is truly a vacation paradise. Bordering Voyageur's National Park, Nelson's Resort is a scenic 5-hour drive from the Twin Cities and only a day's drive from such cities as Chicago, Des Moines, Milwaukee and Omaha. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson`s Hotel Crane Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing