We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
55
38
8
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
38
8
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari lodge kosi bay few hours game drives open area limited electricity boat trip lunch and dinner late at night kitchen staff pleasant stay under renovation outdoor africa light source beautiful elephants comfortable rooms thatch roof
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We were notified shortly before embarking that there was no electricity. Shouldn't be a problem we thought there is a generator. However the minimal number of hours it was run were inadequate and inconvenient. Finding no toilet paper in my bathroom in the early hours of the first morning I made my way in the pitch dark to the main building to find some.
Although it is advertised that WiFi is available, it isn't. Whilst we do want to get away from it all, we can't get away from family and/or business responsibilities and wifi is essential in case of emergencies.
Our accommodation included breakfast. Choice of fruit was an apple and that was offered only on request. There are no other restaurants in the vicinity so we had to contend with sub-standard lunches. The dinners were tasty and I must give credit that my request for gluten free food was fulfilled.
The rooms are lovely, the surroundings beautiful and the staff do their best in an understaffed hotel.
The elephants in the Park were delightful. Many to be seen and the hotel guides were helpful.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank leegA4900MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalThonga, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Thonga Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give an honest review, we do appreciate the feedback and we always strive for improvement!

Regarding the electricity, all guests are notified when they get sent an email from us confirming the reservation, however it is possible you did not see the mail and I can imagine that it is an unpleasant surprise when one arrives not knowing the situation with the electricity. On a positive note, we have finally been given approval to get connected to main Eskom grid and will soon have power 27/7. I am sorry this negatively impacted your stay!

Regarding the Wifi, you are 100% correct, our listing on booking.com incorrectly stated free Wifi in public areas, at the time of writing this response I have since changed it. I sincerely apologize for this!

It is disappointing to hear about your bad breakfast and lunch experience, we normally get good reviews for our food and it is very disappointing that you did not have a good experience. The lack of toilet paper is inexcusable. Please be assured that your review has not fallen on deaf ears and everything will be addressed.

I really hope you will visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to create better memories. I hope the lovely big elephants and the good guiding made up for the shortcomings during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We were here for two nights in the x-mas vacation with our teenager kids. We had a wonderful stay enjoying the big pool and the beautiful lounge dinner area with comfortable sofa's and chairs and a bar. books to read, water tea and coffee, very friendly helpful owners . The entrance to the elephant park is around the corner and we did a nice organised gamedrive early one morning and saw a jaguar walking! The guide took a breakfast along which we enjoyed on a stop during the gamedrive ( in a look- out with a beautiful view- safe from wild animals). Two of us had a great massage at the Lodge.No wifi but I heard some guests used 3G on their cellphones for internet. The cabins are comfortable, luxurious and big. Tell them in advance if you want to join for lunch and dinner there. ( There is no where near to eat elsewhere).Power / electricity comes from a generator. So in the morning and evening they switch the generator on for a couple of hours. If you want to read late at night take a head lamp along. I recommend this lodge!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank thomasfH4898VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalThonga, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Thonga Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for the great review, it is wonderful to hear that you had such good animal sightings! We will be getting full electricity in the next few weeks which will help with the cell phone signal too :) Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

A very nice hoel- The living room and the rooms decoration is awesome, the food is good and the staff is very friendly. I will definetily reccomend for travellers who want peacefu and out the crowd holidays.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cristinah2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

The Royal Thonga Safari Lodge is just outside Tembe Elephant Park, with the about 15 chalets lovely spread among the trees and the bushes. Each unit has an African theme and comes with a bedroom that includes a seating area, and a bathroom, as well as an outside shower, all tastefully done. The construction is based on natural materials and the decor is African. The swimming pool area is very pleasant, with sun loungers and the restaurant area is very inviting. The walkways set within the lodge are beautifully designed and we can hear the birds singing all daylong. It is a very beautiful and relaxing place to stay!

There is limited electricity (morning 5.30am until 9am, evening 5.30pm to 9pm). For me that was not a problem. It helps to relax and to change the usual rhythm of life.

The dining area is a beautiful open area under a thatch roof and the food is very good.

The staff is efficient and friendly.

Apart from enjoying the place, there are several attractions around. First of all, the Tembe Elephant Park. You cannot drive your car in the park but the lodge offers game drives at reasonable price. We spot many elephants and several types of antelopes. We also went in a boat trip across the three lakes system of Kosi Bay, which was very pleasant (it was also arranged through the lodge staff).

It is an expensive stay but it deserves every penny. It is a lovely place, where you have the sense of remoteness but at the same time you feel cosy.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The lodge is under renovation and will be very nice when done, and should not impact guests much going forward (they were almost done with the communal areas when we were there). It is situated just outside the Tembe elephant park. The rooms are a mix of tent and thatch, and are large and comfortably appointed. There is a mosquito net over the king size bed, but not over the kids bunk-bed nook (built into the wall, which they loved). The rooms are connected with a lit wooden boardwalk and are spaced for privacy. There is a warm outdoor pool with loungers. The food was home-cooked style food. Our guide was knowledgeable and we enjoyed watching 4 herds of elephant come and go from a watering hole.

Room tip: all rooms are close to the shared lounge/dining/bar and pool area.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganBrownJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews