We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful relaxing break.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkconnel, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven O
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing break.”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My wife and I have just returned from Donella Cottage with our dog Teddy.
We had a lovely relaxing 3 nights in this beautiful cottage.
It has everything you need and more, the decor is excellent and the beds and bedding very comfortable.
The hot tub is a bonus, we used it every day.
There’s some great walks around, we were given a few pointers from the very friendly gentleman who lives there, we ended up doing the ‘8 bridges’ nature trail one he recommended that starts from the village and follows the small river up to a pine forest then meets the road which comes right back to the cottage. It’s quite muddy this time of year but if you have the gear on it’s a fantastic walk for a couple of hours.
Dumfries house is about 20 mins drive and well worth a walk around the gardens.
We also had a drive to Ayr which is about 45-50 mins drive.
Thanks very much Katrina we look forward to returning soon. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
Thankyou very much for your kind words Steve and for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed your break at Donella Cottage and I’d love to welcome you back sometime.
Thankyou so much.
Katrina x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thankyou for your kind words. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I trust you will want to return in due course. Thank you once again
Katrina x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kgoddard1...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just back from a wonderful relaxing stay at Donella cottage, would highly recommend! Katrina has thought of everything! Will definitely return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Thankyou for your kind words. Much appreciated and of course you are welcome back any time. It was my pleasure to host you. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistykidd...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was great, had everything you need, hot tub fantastic, not over looked, brilliant for taking your dog, separate part for dog to run freely, local shop and pub just 5 mins away....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to review Donella Cottage. I'm glad you enjoyed your break and found the cottage to your liking. Best wishes Katrina x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fillipe-f...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in the cottage and it was lovely and cosy - still can't believe we were less than an hour away from home. There was everything we could have needed and the dog enjoyed his first holiday with lots of country walks and learning to swim! Will hopefully be booking up again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
Thankyou very much for your kind comments and I am glad you all enjoyed your break including your pet. I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Katrina x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing