We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
58
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski trails hot tub family tradition labor day weekend detroit lakes sauna guests skiers
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I have been to maplelag a total of three times. The first 2 times were in the summer and my most recent was during the winter. I love this resort in every season but it was exceptionally fun in the winter because the cross country skiing trails were amazing and it is so nice to come back to the cozy lodge and just hang out, get a massage, or swim in the very large hot tub. Maplelag has so many cute traditions like the weekly talent show, or the cookie jars that are always full. One of my favorite things to do is play hide and seek in the massive lodge. There are these two really cool towers you can hang out in and look out at the rest of the property. Maplelag cabins are also great! Each one is set up slightly different and there are also refurbished train cars you can stay in. Overall I would highly recommend Maplelag, it is the kind of place were families have been going every winter for many generations because they love the family that owns it and the great community feel of the resort.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplelagResort, Owner at Maplelag, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for the review and highlighting the family fun at Maplelag. A priority for us is to have everyone feel at home and comfortable. It has been a joy to see the families come back each year, watching the kids grow up and now those grown up kids are having kids! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We went to Maplelag to cross country ski in January 2017. The conditions were excellent and the trails were well groomed. We also snowshoed and rode fat tire mountain bikes. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The delicious meals were served family style and we enjoyed meeting fellow guests. We were treated like family by the owners and staff. We have taken many winter trip to the western U.S., but this was the best ever!

Room tip: Not all rooms have a private bathroom
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplelagResort, Owner at Maplelag, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for your visit this past winter and taking the time to write a nice review. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I enjoy staying at Maplelag and the skiing is always fun. They do a great job of making the best of whatever snow they have. The food is always good and plentiful.

I've been staying at Maplelag since the early 90s and plan to continue to return however it would be great to see the cabins updated and some remodeling. Frankly things are falling apart and just plain should be replaced. This includes the pads on the beds, toilets that aren't at the standard necessary for having 15 people in a cabin, showers that need replacing, heaters that don't work, curtains that must be 20 years old, and in some cases missing from windows. I really hope to see more care for the cabins. The lodge is great so it makes the cabins look even more dated and dingy.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplelagResort, Owner at Maplelag, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for your review and repeat visits. We appreciate it very much. We have taken note of items you mentioned that need improvement. We take the comfort and safety of our guests very serious and will do our best to make things better if we are fortunate to have you return. If at any time anything is not up to standards during a visit, please let us know at the office so we can do our best to correct something immediately if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We are a family of xc skiers of two generations. We travelled all the way to Maplelag from NC and it was well worth it. The accommodations were comfortable, the lodge, food and amenities were outstanding. The trails and the skiing were fantastic. The owners are interesting, friendly and attentive. The best part for skiers is the variety of trails. You can ski every morning and afternoon for several days and try new trails every time. We were very grateful for the effort in providing vegetarians meals.
Make sure to call because the internet might not reflect current availability. They respond quickly to email.

Room tip: Two lodges are very close to the main lodge which is helpful for getting to the pool and meals - Great Northern and Northern Pacific.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raleighite50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplelagResort, Owner at Maplelag, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for your visit this past winter and traveling so far to do so. We appreciate it very much. Thanks for the review and details on the particulars. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

My new husband and I have spent short weekends at Maplelag in the past for cross country skiing and mountain biking, so when we were looking to have a "destination type" wedding, where our guests could come stay for a weekend without having to rent a hotel or drive, Maplelag was at the top of our list and they did not disappoint. Everyone was wonderful to work with, they did so much planning and organizing for us that the weekend was nearly stress free for us. The hardest part of having our wedding at Maplelag was assigning our guests to the cabins. Since we know our guests best Maplelag assigns that task to the bride and groom so different friends and family can be grouped together. Even this task was made fairly stress-free with Maplelag's cabin worksheets. All of our guests were telling us it was the most fun wedding they had ever been to, they utilized the hiking/biking trails, the fishing dock, the basketball court, the canoes, ping pong, the hot tub, the cookie jars, etc. . .and Maplelag was so accommodating to all of us! Thank you Maplelag. There is literally not a single thing I would have changed about our wedding weekend!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaplelagResort, Owner at Maplelag, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks again for choosing Maplelag for your special weekend. It is always a pleasure to host couples special day! We appreciate the review and details on your weekend. We wish you only the best in the future and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews