We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean hotel friendly staff, good pool for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blaine
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Clean hotel friendly staff, good pool for the kids”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Rates were good, staff friendly, pool area nice and warm, over all good place to stay. FYI the breakfast was a little on the lite side, very basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    70
    44
    15
    26
See reviews for
105
32
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I had read the mixed reviews before booking my hotel, but figured we were not going to be spending much time there except for sleeping and because if its location we would give it a try. In retrospect I am unsure how anybody can give this hotel a good rating. When I checked into the hotel I was told the only room they had left was a smoking room. (Even though I requested a nonsmoking room.) I was not happy but thought well mistakes happen let’s make most of this.

Right before I walked into the room I knew there was a problem. I could smell the stench before I had even opened the door. I had smelled smoke before but this room smelled like someone had died and they had not cleaned the room in quite some time. There was no way I could spend the night there.

I went back to the registration area and double checked that there was not another room available. (There was not.) When I explained the problem and said I could not stay in the room the women at the reception desk said she understood and seemed to imply this is not the first time this happened and that she would have to call her manager. When she called the manager he explained to her it was past the cancelation time and that we had already checked in. I could not believe what I was hearing! Well I was not going to stay there for the night so I left and stayed at another local hotel. (Paying for that as well)

I called back there the next day hoping that there would be a manager on location that would be friendlier. When I called back the next day I was told there was no manager on duty but to give them my phone number and he would call me back. I am still waiting for that call. The customer care was the worst I have ever experienced. I will never stay here again and would recommend others to do so as well!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReliableTripReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwmcd, General Manager at Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recent review you posted informing us of the 3rd party online booking engine trouble you had. With all 3rd party booking engines they unfortunately can not guarantee a non smoking room type when there is no availability. We apologize for the confusion that occurred during your check in.

We understand the 3rd party booking engine has not refunded your money for putting you into a smoking room when you requested a non smoking room. At the time if we had a non smoking room available please know we would have accommodated you. We have contacted the 3rd party booking engine ourselves on your behalf to get your money refunded, we have not heard back from them.

Let me assure you in the future if you would like to make a reservation at our location please contact us directly and we will make everything right for you. We again apologize for any and all inconveniences you experienced. Let us know what else we can do to keep you as a customer.

Sincereley,

General Manager
Super 8-Blaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blaine hotels

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I booked a room and then went to cancel it 30 minutes later but was stil charged for the full nights stay. Call customer care and they were the rudest, meanest, hateful person I've ever spoken to. She eventually just hung up on me without any resolution.

I will never stay at a Super 8

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandJamie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwmcd, Manager at Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent unforturnate experience you had while booking your online reservation at Super8.com. We have good news, the charge to your account did not happen at the property level. knowing this we have contacted customer care to get your charges reversed. We are not in the position to loose one customer and we know we have lost your confiendence and I would not expect you to return to Super 8, but if you decide to give us a second chance we at the property would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate our passion for hospitality. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next reservation.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Not many options in the small city of Blaine. Arrived to find out the room I booked on Expedia with a King Bed did not match their records. The gal at the front desk was very nice and acknowledged that I did book a room with a King Bed however their system had me booked with two queens. She confirmed they did have open rooms with king beds however she couldn't put me in one even though I had the printout showing I booked the King. Room itself is a little outdated. Room did come with microwave and fridge which is a plus. The curtains were pretty thin so it was very bright in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAlFromSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The Blaine MN Super 8 is a great place to stay in the Twin Cities suburbs. Considering it is near Mpls, it is a very good price, clean, nice rooms, and whole hotel. They serve a nice continental breakfast, have a nice pool and hot tub area, and the staff is VERY friendly, and helpful. We stay there often.

My only complaint is they don't have a sauna if you like those, but not a necessity. And during the big snowstorm for 3 days while we were there, their plowing wasn't great. They should use a different plowing service. We got stuck in the lot, there were lots of bumps and ruts like the plow guy didn't finish the job. BUt all i all the hotel is one we will always go to when in that area

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ivansgirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus Blaine at the National Sports Center
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
4.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Best Western Plus Coon Rapids North Metro Hotel
3.1 km away
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis Coon Rapids
8.8 km away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis North / Fridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Blaine

Been to Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area

Property: Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area
Address: 9410 Baltimore St NE, Blaine, MN 55449-4336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Blaine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blaine
Price range (per night): $114 - $172
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Blaine/Mpls/St. Paul Area Hotel Blaine
Super Eight Blaine
Blaine Super 8
Blaine Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing