We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BedBugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I know that bedbugs are probably one of the many nightmares that hotel owners face. However, this was a high class hotel and our one night stay was completely ruined by awakening to blood stains on the beautiful white sheets and the sight of several of the little monsters running around. Although the Orangerie restaurant was pleasant and the food nicely cooked, the choice was very limited for a table d'hote menu.
I would say though that all the staff were very polite, kind and helpful.
For the price, I don't think the weekend offer was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesscat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,253 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

I booked a weekend for my husband and myself at the hotel for our anniversary. Grotty weather (it was January!) but beautiful location near the Thames at Marlow, in acres of landscaped gardens and land. The spa was a particularly nice feature, with excellent facilities and very welcoming staff who kept guests well supplied with robes, towels etc and added to the relaxing atmosphere. Only slight niggle was that there were no loungers available when we first arrived, but then we spent our time in the pool, steam room and sauna. We also enjoyed treatments eg massage/oil and salt scrub provided by friendly professional staff in pristine conditions.
The hotel is a beautiful imposing Georgian country house and the bedroom was quaint and comfortable (inclduing a pink chandlier!)with a very modern ensuite - a nice mix of old and contemporary styles.
The bar was run by a young expert barman who entertained with his cocktail skills - not flashy just clever. Dinner was superb and in beautiful room adjacent to the terrace - I enjoyed 'melt in the mouth' chicken liver risotto followed by fish pie overflowing with a mix of tasty fresh fish. The staff were again extremely professional without being overly formal. Breakfast the next morning was available on the terrace or in the adjacent rooms, with a buffet offering a wide range of items inc fresh fruit, meats, cheese, croissant etc, with the opportunity to order the traditional English breakfast fare inc porridge!
All in all, I would very much recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing break but with the opportunities to visit local attractions inc a trip on the Thames. I will definitely be going back when the weather is better!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaB2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I recently stayed here on an overnight spa package and had a wonderful time.
The staff are an absolute credit to this place and everyone was polite and highly professional.
Food was amazing and we had great cocktails in the cocktail bar.
The spa is very high quality and we spent a long time relaxing here with lovely fluffy towels and robes provided.
The bedroom was big and the only disappointment was no hairdryer or tea and coffee in the room and that the beds were very soft but that is personal preference.

We had a really good relaxing stay here and felt wonderfully relaxed when I sadly had to go back to work on monday morning!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I had a business meetingat a nearby location so my wife accompanied me on this trip. While the room was a bit small, and could use a little fix up, it more than met requirements - and the bath was quite updated. The hotel layout had us in an out building - not part of the main building - but this wasn't really an inconvenience. The service was absolutely outstanding across the board. We only dined at the less formal restaurant. The menu was limited, but excellent and not overly priced. The bar was quite traditional with excellent service and stock.
This is a business hotel so there may be meetings/conferences going on that will cause some facilities to be crowded at times.
The hotel sits between the towns of Marlow and Henley - both have an abudance of excellent restaurants and the Danesfield will provide you with lists and maps.
Well worth the money - we would like to go back in better weather.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KjunCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We had a fantastic weekend. The stunning gothic buildings are set in beautiful landscape with amazing views. We received top quality service. We were very impressed with the continental breakfast served - the wide selection of ham, cheese, pastries and fruit were all delicious. The spa was lovely - unfortunately the jacuzzi was not working during our stay but the treatments, pool and sauna and steam rooms meant that we had a very relaxing time. One bad point is that the treatments are expensive. Our room was beautiful with grand country house styling and the bathroom had a very good shower. The three of us shared a twin room (with an extra bed) and we had plenty of space. Our room was on the ground floor so we were unable to open our windows which we would have liked to do to get a bit of air circulating in the room.
We did not eat in the main restaurant (which was very quiet) and chose to head to one of the local country pubs for dinner - the Royal Oak - where we had a delicious meal in a lovely cosy pub.
A very enjoyable weekend away in a beautiful country house where we were treated like special guests!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday100010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
3.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
5.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
9.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
28.2 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
727 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: $445 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing