We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Nearby Hotels
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 114
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 257
USD 232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)(Great Value!)
USD 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,410)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveller rating
628
371
232
119
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
371
232
119
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful groundsafternoon teajunior suitebeautiful hotelfour poster bedthe rivercocktail barsconesluxury hotelbeautiful roomrelaxing weekendwedding anniversaryspecial occasioncooked breakfaststaff were attentivelovely settingsteam room
Filter
Updating list...
1,288 - 1,293 of 1,410 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at the Danesfield house for a weekend break, it was pure relaxation I can definetly say the view's from the house are breathtaking you can see the river thames and the hills of the valley. We had a very nice time at the Adam Simmonds restaurant the food was superb and high appealing to us. We found there was some areas in the hotel to be very outdated and old fashioned. Having said this, the house is ancient and there is lots of decor from the English heritage. The spa facilities are good I loved the Hydrotherapy bath, it was lovely and the jacuzzi and swimming pool is good also. The hotel is far from Marlow and Henley roughly 5 miles away, you definetly need to have a car if you take a taxi it will cost you £10 there and back. Overall we both had a good stay here would we visit again maybe in the near future. We would recommend this place to younger and middle age couples not really family groups.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kishnnina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed here on a Saturday night and were kindly upgraded to a Junior Suite. Check in was very quick and easy. Breakfast was good. Decent spa and pool area. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The only reason we stay here is to eat in the fantastic Adam Simmonds restaurant which is easily one of the best in the country. We have dined here many times and the food is always faultless with superb clean flavours. The level of cooking here is as good, if not better, than many of the 2 star Michelin restaurants we've dined in and it should only be a matter of time before it gets the recognition it deserves from Michelin.
As well as great food the staff also deserve praise for their friendly and professional service, many of the staff,including the chef, trained and worked at Le Manoir and it shows.If you enjoy fine dining this place is a must go to restaurant, we only wish we lived locally so we could dine here more often.
We agree with previous reviews that the hotel could do with a little TLC the public rooms and gardens are stunning with lovely views over the Thames and surrounding countryside . We usually stay in one of the executive rooms which are large with views over the gardens and river. The main thing they need to do is replace the old TVs with a large flat screen preferably with DVD player and new/better hairdryers I think the main problems are with the standard rooms which are more hit and miss and could probably do with a spruce up.
The spa and pool are also excellent and a great place to relax and unwind it also makes the most of the amazing views. Only minor niggles would be that the pool is a bit on the cool side and it could do with some new cushions on the loungers. To bring it in line with other spa hotels in the area it could really do with an outside pool and/or hot tub with a larger outdoor terrace with loungers.
All in all this is still one of our favourite places to stay as it is a lovely hotel and spa with a fantastic restaurant - can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOOLS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights and in general had a good experience. We loved the building and it's surroundings. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Car parking was spacious and plentiful. For the amount of money being charged, the rooms are in need of a refresh. There is only so far a set of Molton Brown toiletries will get you. We had a room facing the gardens which I believe is one of the pricier rooms and it had a great view. No tea and coffee facility, four poster bed lacked any curtains and looked fairly beaten up. TV was an old smallish CRT affair. However the room was spacious, clean and the bed very comfortable. We dined at the Orangery and had breakfast there, both were good. £15 extra for a cooked breakfast on top of the buffet was a bit much. Views from the Orangery are fantastic. The Orangery was spotlessly clean and the food was very good and not too expensive (for a 4* venue). It was rather let down by using very young staff who clearly have little experience. Not their fault but the hotel for thinking they can get away with it.

Whilst we were there we saw 3 different weddings (in 2 days) so it's definitely a wedding reception venue which might affect whether you want a quiet get away or not.. They didn't really affect us at all.

In summary, great building, slightly let down by tired rooms and inexperienced staff in the Orangery. I'd stay again but only at the right price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megablst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Whilst recent criticisms are obviously valid, I have nothing but praise for the Danesfield. We were allocated a wonderful family room provided at a great price late in the evening when we were struggling for accommodation and welcomed warmly by each member of staff. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, the toiletries plentiful and the room temperature just right. We left the window open to keep the air clean and the silence outside was deafening (bliss after London!). The only vaguely negative points were a few scuff marks around the corridors and having to pay extra for eggs at breakfast. Other than that, a perfect overnight stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipscaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews