We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveller rating
662
383
239
127
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
383
239
127
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds afternoon tea junior suite beautiful hotel four poster bed the river cocktail bar scones luxury hotel beautiful room relaxing weekend special occasion wedding anniversary wine list cooked breakfast staff were attentive lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
1,354 - 1,359 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed two nights as a Spa package with my mum. The rooms need a refurb badly. Grounds are lovely and the staff are nice. I think they are too under staffed when there is a wedding on. Breakfast was ok but when we visited four years ago it was much better. They offered everything from a cooked breakfast to continental breakfast all included in the price. We was amazed to see that you now have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast but continental was included.

We had two treatments whilst we was there which was lovely. We also had a nice swim and relaxed around the pool.

On checking out the hotel we was not happy! They tried to charge us for an extra TWO treatments and spa food and drinks which we didnt have!! So we was overcharged nearly £200! As soon as we mentioned that this was wrong they did not question it. They took it straight off! If you do stay here then please check your itemised bill before leaving!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollylou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here last night as part of a birthday group. They'd negotiated a reduced rate, which is just as well - if I'd paid full whack for our room, I'd have been asking for my money back!

Website for the hotel is all very flash, so we had fairly high expectations. Rumour has it les Beckhams stay here when David is training with the England team - guess he can afford the bar bills.

Initial impact is impressive - fabulous exteriors, white walls, crenellated turrets, topiary. Then it goes downhill. Reception is a small area opposite the "Grand Hall" - so when we arrived we had to avoid being herded into the wedding reception taking place in there. The receptionists are by far the most helpful people we met. Except they gave us the poky-est room in the place.

Gosh, where to start!? The battered paintwork? The twin beds zipped together? The minibar that wouldn't open? The "closet" with the rails hanging from the ceiling? Or the tired carpets, the total lack of daylight? Or maybe the best bit - a sealable bag for you to put your valuables in for the hotel safe!

Okay. All sarcasm aside. Who puts the rails for a wardrobe on the ceiling? I had to get the husband to hang my clothes, and he's over 6 foot tall. Then there are just 2 shelves for clothes. Nasty white painted plywood shelves. There's a stand for you to put your case on - though there's nowhere to put the stand...

The bathroom was a cat's dream - definitely no room to swing him in there. Also, big clean towels, bathrobes and flannels. Loads of hot water with water pressure, Molton Brown bits. What would have been nice was an extractor fan that worked to get rid of the steam.

Desk with - get this - wired internet access - how out of date! And no hotel information folder. Cheap and nasty hairdryer screwed into the desk drawer. Battered cabinet housing the minibar, which wouldnt open. Chair with cushion - how much furniture can they cram into this room! Heavy curtains, entirely unnecessary as it was so dark we had to have the lights on all the time.

Walls are really thin, we could hear everything going on in the corridor, and in the room next door.

The bar is really small for a hotel this size; it's cosy though. Then it would have been nice to sit in the conservatory out of the wind, but it's full of tables for afternoon tea. Of course, you'll need to be sitting down when you get your bar bill; £6.20 for a small glass of wine! £13 for 2 drinks! I've bought cheaper rounds in London! You never saw so many sober folks at a 40th birthday.

As there were so many of us, we had a private room for breakfast, though I suspect that this is the norm for large groups. Beautiful room, trompe l'ouil walls, 20 foot high leaded windows, broken glass on the floor from the previous evening...

Breakfast was a bit of a farce too. We'd been told 9am; so as we'd woken bright and early without hangovers, a few of us got there at 10 minutes to the hour. 2 staff on duty to cover 30 people. Most of us were starving, owing to the fact that the hotel have a somewhat outdated nouvelle cuisine to buffet food. Seem they take the same approach to breakfast too.

We did walk around the ground afterwards, the view across the valley is amazing, the gardens are a wedding photographers dream.

Can't comment on the spa as we didnt partake. Didnt want our expectations shattered further!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed for a quick 24hr break and much needed rest at this hotel which was an absolute joke from start to finish. Where do I start? The rooms were basic- no tea/coffee facilities and the mini bar comprised of 2 500ml bottles of water! The heating was a small dimple heater etc. Could go on but the room was the best part although basic and offering extremely poor value.
Both lunch and breakfast was very poor with several items ordered just forgotten and the quality of the remaining food was no better than a cafe. Simple things like vegetables being forgotten, unwashed spinach laden with sand and generally poor quality with ropey service to boot.
The hotel is a wedding venue basically and they have no time for other guests hence the poor service. You cannot use any of the lounges, gardens and amenities of the hotel anther simply was not enough room. I suspect that most people here this weekend felt the same.
How you are expected to sleep over a disco is beyond me.
The fine dining restaurant is much better and the hotel does not deserve it's presence to be fair. I will review this separately.
Of the many quick breaks that I have had over the years this was the worst.

Save your money and go elsewhere until the reviews in this site gets better!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raywinblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have not stayed at this hotel but we had dinner at the restaurant, Adam Simmonds at Danesfield House, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although the hotel has some very mixed reviews on this site, we found the restaurant to be absolutely delightful and it is no surprise that it has been named as the top 13th UK restaurant in the 2011 Good Food Guide. From the moment we stepped through the door, the service was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and professional.
The restaurant (previously called The Oak Room) is in a light and spacious oak panelled room. We had the six course tasting menu: scallops, foie gras, brill, lamb, an orange and cardamon dessert and a chocolate dessert, interspersed with three amuse bouche. There was an optional cheese course which we didn't have but it looked very good too. Every single course was absolutely delicious and the wine list was extensive.
There was a wedding party elsewhere in the hotel and we had the added benefit of their fireworks display which rounded off the evening perfectly.
I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. It certainly wasn't cheap but it was the most wonderful meal and a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiopentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Some fabulous rooms, some a bit poky, depends on how they are allocated. Good grounds, some beautiful paneling throughout the interior of the building. The terrace is great for breakfast or evening drinks. Food was fine, but did not blow me away. The cute little bar is well stocked. Good gym and pool and ample conference facilities for up to 60 or so - any more would be a little cramped I think. Beautiful views and location in general, but do not stay here if wanting proximity to London.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishfact0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews