We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,465)
Filter reviews
1,465 results
Traveller rating
657
383
237
126
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
383
237
126
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds afternoon tea junior suite beautiful hotel four poster bed the river cocktail bar scones luxury hotel beautiful room relaxing weekend wedding anniversary special occasion cooked breakfast staff were attentive lovely setting couldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,465 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Danesfield, it's a beautiful venue steeped in history and the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. We slept well as it's so quiet and the bed was really comfortable. Very much recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sarahc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear sarahc1000

Thank you very much indeed for you wonderful review! The house is absolutely enchanting and has such an extensive and fascinating history, if only the walls could speak! We shall hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

What a lovely weekend at Danesfield House. Located outside Marlow, the hotel is set in beautiful gardens with spectacular views.

The house is over 100 years old with some great features. Many of the communal rooms have vaulted ceiling, well decorated with an array of paintings and pictures. The corridors thread like a warren which takes time to get familiar with.

The bedrooms are old but in good conditions, the bed itself was very comfortable. All the usual fixtures and fittings.

We dined in the restaurant and the food was excellent.

One of the best elements is the team, all very efficient and very willing to help and ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Beautiful venue..

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear David K

Thank you very much indeed for your review and feedback and also your outstanding comments on the team, they are one hundred percent guest focused and will be thrilled to read you had such a great stay! Due to the nature of the building it can be a bit of a warren but what a fabulous place to get lost in an explore all the beautiful artwork and old pictures, all part of the experience! Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We were treated like royalty for our special occasion from word go, room upgrade, cake on arrival, champagne with dinner and magical truffles at the end. I cannot thank the staff enough they were all amazing and we will come back for future special occasions. The little extras go a long way, thanks to all the staff

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kellawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear kellawa

What a wonderful review thank you so much! The team will be delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we shall hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions, thank you once again.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Beautiful setting, grounds, building and historic interior. Without exception, the staff were welcoming, cheerful, polite and very helpful - couldn't have done anything better to make one feel welcome at a personal level.

However:

Dinner was disappointing - pumpkin soup, sea bass terrine and dessert were good (nice not great) but the focus of any meal - the main course - was tough, under seasoned, pheasant accompanied by some kale that had not had the stalks removed and was stringy and unpleasant and just looked like a mush on the plate. Other vegetables good. Of the 37 of us there for special dinner, most left some or most of this, their main course. Everyone on my table of 10 expressed disappointment. Hopefully the kitchen noticed the high number of returns of plates with food on to improve for the future. As this dinner was specially laid on for a group of specialist 'foodies' it was, to say the least, surprising.

The bedroom was very disappointing. Newly refurbished I believe. On a November night it was freezing when I went in - they knew the room would be used so why not put on the aircon in advance to make the guest welcome? I had to fiddle about myself to work out the numerous controls in the room - far too confusing and unwelcoming. Once I had got the heating working, I could not find out how to close the electric blinds - called reception - they took over 5 minutes and 4 attempts to answer - he came and did not know either. Whilst he went off to find help I found a control that with a ch+ and ch- sign looked like a TV control - turns out it controls the blinds. So resolved, but by this time really quite annoyed at how challenging it was to settle into a room. I never did work out what all the light and sensory buttons were for - complete waste of time and pretentious nonsense.

Woke in the morning - no underfloor heating so stepped out onto freezing floor (because no carpets, which is fine, but.....). Shower pulsed hot and cold - not by design. Loo seat loose - one of the things cleaning staff should check routinely every morning and report to maintenance. No shoe horn.

The luxury hotel market is expensive and highly competitive - so Danesfield House failed by quite a wide margin to meet expectations.

Room Tip: Don't - stay elsewhere or maybe the older rooms in the main house don't suffer these problems I had in the courtyard room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhuh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017


Dear Mhuh2

Thank you very much for your review and feedback and also your lovely comments on the team. I am very sorry to note your disappointment with dinner especially as we usually receive glowing feedback on those particular dishes, and I also note that you have to described yourself as a 'specialist foodie' so perhaps the food was not quite to your specific requirements however the overall feedback we have including from official awarding bodies is that the menu and textures are very well balanced and it is also very popular with our guests. Our new Stable suites and rooms are packed with the latest technology which whilst popular with most I understand is not for everybody so we certainly could have arranged a room move had we been made aware of your full disappointment at the time. Thank you once again and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Room the size of a broom cupboard, had to crawl on the floor to plug the kettle in. We were given an alternative room which was much bigger but when we drew the curtains the metal windows were painted and a massive amount of paintwork had peeled back and I cut myself opening the window. At dinner we opted for the steak, requested mustard which didn't arrive until we had finished our meal. We wanted to sit outside but the cushions had been left out all night in the rain and were dripping wet. The breakfast was awful, we were told that the full English was not available on the Sunday. At £450 for one night for dinner, bed and breakfast we felt this was a "rip off".

Room Tip: Corner suite
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Christine W

Thank you very much for your review and feedback, as you will see your review is very much out of kilter with our other reviews and we certainly have no record of any of these issues being reported, had they been they would have been swiftly rectified at the time as we absolutely want all of our guests to have the most wonderful time at the house. Being a listed building the majority of our rooms are in fact very spacious and I can state categorically that we have served a full English breakfast every day at the house since we opened as a hotel in 1991.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews