We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danesfield Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Each year a small group of us head out for a girlie weekend with spa/facials and a jolly good time. This has been a tradition for the last few years and is generally in the Bucks/Berks region.

This choice was a disaster and as a group we decided on a rating of 2 stars as the hotel is now memorable for all the wrong reasons.

The hotel grounds are magnificent and the public areas for guests and visitors are superb. The Grand Hall directly on entering is majestic with a huge fire place and a log fire. A log fire is a deliberate choice of words as there really was only 1 log burning. Ceremoniously another 1 log would be laid .... of course this is inadequate to heat any part of the room, it really was just for show.

Issues:
1. The main issue was a non-working toilet in a room shared by 2 of the guests. Despite reporting the issue to reception before dinner, it was not fixed. The guests used the WC at Reception during the night as it was too embarrassing to risk using the loo and it not flushing. The problem was reported to Reception again the next morning and someone from Concierge was sent up (not a plumber). It was confirmed that the cistern wasn't working.

A bill adjustment was offered but the room should never have been rented out with this problem.

2. Pre-booking of twin rooms: Despite assurances that the hotel offered twin-rooms, on check-in the rooms were doubles.

3. Bathroom shower curtain: The shower curtain is not long enough and doesn't cover the outside of the bath, so as a consequence all the water from the shower will flow outside of the bath. In the other ladies' guestroom, the bathroom ventilator wasn't working so after 1 person had a shower, the other guest couldn't have one till the floor had dried the next day!

4. Restaurant: Dinner was booked for 8.00 pm and the service was very slow. A package was booked to include evening dinner, but the menu/vegetarian options were not very appetising so we all ended up ordering from the a la carte menu.

5. Spa/Bar Lunch: We had 2 x lunches, one at the Spa and one from the Bar. The soups were good, the sandwiches were mediocre. On one of the sandwiches the bread was stale.

We were all thoroughly disappointed with the overall experience and would not recommend nor stay again!

Room Tip: garden/spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HeatherMegaMauriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear HeatherMegaMauriFan

Thank you for your review and feedback. I can only apologise for the unfortunate issue with the plumbing and other issues you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately we did not receive a request for twin rooms prior to your arrival, however this was swiftly acted upon and to clarify for safety's sake the shower curtain is designed to go inside the bath to prevent water going out.
We did however take full ownership of the issues we were made aware of at the time, which when our guest relations manager spoke to you at length about you were happy with the outcome and he was also under the impression that everything had been resolved to your complete satisfaction before you left as we do genuinely want all of our guests to have an amazing time at the house and I am very disappointed to read from your retrospective comments on this third party website that this was not actually the case. Thank you once again and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Danesfield, it's a beautiful venue steeped in history and the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. We slept well as it's so quiet and the bed was really comfortable. Very much recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarahc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear sarahc1000

Thank you very much indeed for you wonderful review! The house is absolutely enchanting and has such an extensive and fascinating history, if only the walls could speak! We shall hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

What a lovely weekend at Danesfield House. Located outside Marlow, the hotel is set in beautiful gardens with spectacular views.

The house is over 100 years old with some great features. Many of the communal rooms have vaulted ceiling, well decorated with an array of paintings and pictures. The corridors thread like a warren which takes time to get familiar with.

The bedrooms are old but in good conditions, the bed itself was very comfortable. All the usual fixtures and fittings.

We dined in the restaurant and the food was excellent.

One of the best elements is the team, all very efficient and very willing to help and ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Beautiful venue..

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear David K

Thank you very much indeed for your review and feedback and also your outstanding comments on the team, they are one hundred percent guest focused and will be thrilled to read you had such a great stay! Due to the nature of the building it can be a bit of a warren but what a fabulous place to get lost in an explore all the beautiful artwork and old pictures, all part of the experience! Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We were treated like royalty for our special occasion from word go, room upgrade, cake on arrival, champagne with dinner and magical truffles at the end. I cannot thank the staff enough they were all amazing and we will come back for future special occasions. The little extras go a long way, thanks to all the staff

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kellawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear kellawa

What a wonderful review thank you so much! The team will be delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we shall hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions, thank you once again.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Beautiful setting, grounds, building and historic interior. Without exception, the staff were welcoming, cheerful, polite and very helpful - couldn't have done anything better to make one feel welcome at a personal level.

However:

Dinner was disappointing - pumpkin soup, sea bass terrine and dessert were good (nice not great) but the focus of any meal - the main course - was tough, under seasoned, pheasant accompanied by some kale that had not had the stalks removed and was stringy and unpleasant and just looked like a mush on the plate. Other vegetables good. Of the 37 of us there for special dinner, most left some or most of this, their main course. Everyone on my table of 10 expressed disappointment. Hopefully the kitchen noticed the high number of returns of plates with food on to improve for the future. As this dinner was specially laid on for a group of specialist 'foodies' it was, to say the least, surprising.

The bedroom was very disappointing. Newly refurbished I believe. On a November night it was freezing when I went in - they knew the room would be used so why not put on the aircon in advance to make the guest welcome? I had to fiddle about myself to work out the numerous controls in the room - far too confusing and unwelcoming. Once I had got the heating working, I could not find out how to close the electric blinds - called reception - they took over 5 minutes and 4 attempts to answer - he came and did not know either. Whilst he went off to find help I found a control that with a ch+ and ch- sign looked like a TV control - turns out it controls the blinds. So resolved, but by this time really quite annoyed at how challenging it was to settle into a room. I never did work out what all the light and sensory buttons were for - complete waste of time and pretentious nonsense.

Woke in the morning - no underfloor heating so stepped out onto freezing floor (because no carpets, which is fine, but.....). Shower pulsed hot and cold - not by design. Loo seat loose - one of the things cleaning staff should check routinely every morning and report to maintenance. No shoe horn.

The luxury hotel market is expensive and highly competitive - so Danesfield House failed by quite a wide margin to meet expectations.

Room Tip: Don't - stay elsewhere or maybe the older rooms in the main house don't suffer these problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhuh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017


Dear Mhuh2

Thank you very much for your review and feedback and also your lovely comments on the team. I am very sorry to note your disappointment with dinner especially as we usually receive glowing feedback on those particular dishes, and I also note that you have to described yourself as a 'specialist foodie' so perhaps the food was not quite to your specific requirements however the overall feedback we have including from official awarding bodies is that the menu and textures are very well balanced and it is also very popular with our guests. Our new Stable suites and rooms are packed with the latest technology which whilst popular with most I understand is not for everybody so we certainly could have arranged a room move had we been made aware of your full disappointment at the time. Thank you once again and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medmenham
3.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
5.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
9.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
3 km away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
104 reviews
12.6 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danesfield House Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danesfield House Hotel And Spa

Address: Henley Road, Medmenham, Marlow SL7 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow > Medmenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medmenham
Price Range: $480 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danesfield House Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danesfield House Hotel and Spa is located between Marlow and Henley-on-Thames in Buckinghamshire, just 30 minutes away from central London. Surrounded by 65 acres of landscaped gardens and parkland with the River Thames and Chiltern Hills as a backdrop this romantic country house is home to 79 individually and beautifully presented bedrooms and suites, some with traditional luxury and others in a more contemporary style offering extra space over two floors. The Restaurant at Danesfield House is known for using seasonal local produce with menus changing regularly to reflect this and in warmer months The Terrace is ideal for alfresco dining especially enjoying a quintessentially British afternoon tea overlooking the gardens. Spa Illuminata at Danesfield House is an award-winning spa, specialising in overall wellbeing and relaxation. Featuring a 20-metre azure blue swimming pool, eight treatment rooms, studio and fully equipped gym, the spa offers residential experiences, day spa, treatments and health club membership. Visit Danesfield House Hotel and Spa, relax and experience ultimate British hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Danesfield House Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfield House Hotel And Marlow
Danesfield Hotel Marlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing