We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
USD 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
USD 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 204
USD 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveller rating
639
380
237
123
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
380
237
123
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful groundsafternoon teajunior suitebeautiful hotelfour poster bedthe rivercocktail barsconesluxury hotelbeautiful roomrelaxing weekendwedding anniversaryspecial occasioncooked breakfaststaff were attentivelovely settingcouldn't fault
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Room the size of a broom cupboard, had to crawl on the floor to plug the kettle in. We were given an alternative room which was much bigger but when we drew the curtains the metal windows were painted and a massive amount of paintwork had peeled back and I cut myself opening the window. At dinner we opted for the steak, requested mustard which didn't arrive until we had finished our meal. We wanted to sit outside but the cushions had been left out all night in the rain and were dripping wet. The breakfast was awful, we were told that the full English was not available on the Sunday. At £450 for one night for dinner, bed and breakfast we felt this was a "rip off".

Room Tip: Corner suite
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Christine W

Thank you very much for your review and feedback, as you will see your review is very much out of kilter with our other reviews and we certainly have no record of any of these issues being reported, had they been they would have been swiftly rectified at the time as we absolutely want all of our guests to have the most wonderful time at the house. Being a listed building the majority of our rooms are in fact very spacious and I can state categorically that we have served a full English breakfast every day at the house since we opened as a hotel in 1991.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We booked to go to Danesfield House for afternoon tea to celebrate my son's birthday. The reception area is confusing and unwelcoming, and although we'd booked and were clearly on their list they didn't seen to be expecting us. Although our individual waiter was good when he finished his shift we were left to our own devices being asked to leave the room by another member of staff and then trying desperately to get someone's attention to get our coats and the bill. The food was ok although the sandwiches were dry where they'd been left out. The hotel had come recommend for afternoon tea but although a lovely setting it fell short of it's recommendation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Sandi L

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I am very sorry to note your disappointment on what was meant to be such a celebratory occasion, this is certainly not typical. We serve hundreds of afternoon teas each week and usually receive glowing reviews about both our food and service, please be assured your feedback will be fully taken onboard and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We spent the most wonderful day at the spa. The building and facilities are absolutely amazing. We had a very warm welcome on arrival, followed by a complimentary coffee as we made our lunch selections. We were offered a tour of the facilities to start our day off, then we changed and began our lovely day of pampering and relaxation. The pool was fabulous, as was the whirlpool and sauna. The quiet relaxation room was absolute heaven. Our treatments, facials, wraps and tired feet massage were all absolutely out of this world. Lunch was delicious and we left having had the most wonderfully indulgent day. I would recommend it,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank trudiestottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear trudiestottor

Thank you very much for your excellent review! The team will be delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time at the house, the spa is such a wonderful space perfect for relaxing and unwinding! Thank you once again and we shall hope to welcome you back for another relaxing break soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Attended a lunch in one of the ground floor rooms. The approach as you drive in is very impressive as is the building itself. We had drinks on the terrace which has lovely views. The food was superb as was the service. Would like to stay sometime

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Geoff F

Many thanks indeed for your excellent review! The approach as you come up the drive and first see the house is a truly breathtaking experience and the sheer impressiveness builds and flows as you explore the stunning public areas and then through to the restaurant with the most incredible views across the gardens and sweeping hills beyond. I am delighted to read also how much you enjoyed dinning at the house and you must come back and stay next time! Thank you once again and we shall hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

I found the best booking deal on Trip Advisor for a double room and was pleasantly surprised that the hotel gave us a junior suite in the Courtyard Block room 232 Temple. The room is right next to the bridge for entry to the Spa and gym. The living room and bathroom are on entry and then stairs up to a large bedroom area with a toilet and basin. We felt spoiled it was my partners birthday so a nice treat. The massive super king bed was incredibly comfortable. We had breakfast in our room as I was poorly in the night. Nothing was too much trouble. The spa was great, water was not cold and pleasant and the jacuzzi was nice also, robes and slippers provided and nice changing facilities. I mentioned to staff that the room climate control needed attention as was only blowing warm air additionally, they need a mirror for the desk for hair and make up.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P, Manager at Danesfield House Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Louise H

Thank you very much for you excellent review! The team will be thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay ,and I am very pleased that you liked the complimentary upgrade to help celebrate your partners birthday. Thank you once again and we do hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions.

Kind regards

Robert
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews