We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Business friendly location- great access!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Detroit Troy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Business friendly location- great access!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for anyone doing business in Troy, Sterling Heights, Rochester and Bloomfield Hills. The hotel is clean, the rooms which are suites are very comfortable. The breakfast service starts at six which is earlier than other hotels in the area. By the way, dinner and complementary beer and wine starts at five Monday through Thursday. I have stayed her for several years and the service is always excellent. The staff knows the area and are great with directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    100
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
164
61
19
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I've had to stay in a hotel in this area many times in the last year, and I've tried other places, including the Radisson and the Townsend. This is just an excellent place to stay. The location is great. The accommodations are immaculate, the beds extremely comfortable, and the kitchen is perfect. I had a few maintenance issues, but they were fixed immediately and cheerfully. Each time I was given a voucher to use at the well-stocked (sodas, snacks, medicine, etc.) sundry shop next to the front desk. The housekeeping staff is very accommodating and gracious. Breakfast was great and included eggs. I didn't take advantage of the free dinner in the evenings. I was given a DVD player to use free of charge and the internet was free as well. I will stay here from now on. The only negative thing I can say is that the living room furniture is a bit dated and worn, but at twice the price, the Townsend has the same problem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellencarroll27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I checked many reviews to find a hotel that would be accessible to my parents' house, yet close to Detroit, and still safe for our family. This was the perfect location, and an excellent hotel. We stayed in a suite, which gave us plenty of sleeping space for 2 adults and 3 kids (ages 7 to 13). We liked having a refrigerator for our drinks and snacks. The hotel served a nice breakfast (eggs, oatmeal, cereal, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, etc.) The menu was different from the previous day, which was nice. In the evening, they also served free beer/wine and a few snack items. The room's heating/air mechanism worked well. There is an indoor pool, but no hot tub. For me, the only "minor" complaints were that our mattress wasn't equal to what we have at home (a common complaint with me, however), and the rooms seem to carry sound: The last night, we had someone above us, stomping around and slamming drawers. Luckily, he/she was quiet at night, so we didn't have any real issues with disruptive noise. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTheWorld-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for three long-term trips for 3-4 weeks per stay (Jan. 2011; May 2011; Feb 2012). I travel frequently to Detroit for business and I highly recommend this property for extended stay visits or even personal travel. The rooms are always very clean and housekeeping staff is very accomodating. The workout room is a little smaller than other properties I've stayed at, but the pool is great. Laundry facilities are also adequate - 2 coin-operated washers and 2 dryers. Detergent and bounce dryer sheets are provided free of charge, which is a nice bonus. Internet is free and reliable; I've never had a problem with connectivity and I connect through a VPN. A desk, chair, and lamp are also included in the suites, so it makes for woking on the road very easy. You can also ask for a DVD player; they are available at no cost.

Breakfast and dinner are included. I agree with other posters; the dinner is an actual meal and not snacks like the Marriott Residence Inn serves. Breakfast and dinner options rotate, and fresh fruit and vegetables are a regular part of the menu, so it is fairly healthy as well. My only comment is food does run out relatively quickly, and there sometimes is a delay in restocking.

There is also a strip mall next door with a Wal-Mart and several other smaller shops like Subway, so it's easy to pick up a quick meal or incidentals, but there are some questionable characters freqenting the strip mall.

The hotel is also very quiet and not overly crowded, which I also like. The hotel is set back away from the main road a little bit, so you're not dealing with road noise. However, the property does border the Oakland-Troy airport, which is a smaller airport for private jets, etc., but noise isn't really an issue, and I've always had rooms facing the airport.

Overall, I'd highly recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I only stayed here once- but it was for 30 nights! I was quite pleased in all respects....nice spacious suites, indoor pool, great service with a smile, wonderful location - you can't go wrong at the Homewood!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vudubabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesTroy, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Detroit Troy, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. Our staff was thrilled with your feedback regarding the Homewood Suites team and our hotel. We strive to make our hotel a home away from home for our guests and I am glad your 30 night stay with us was a great experience! We hope to see you back in Troy again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.5 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
6.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
2.9 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Detroit Troy

Property: Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Address: 1495 Equity Dr, Troy, MI 48084-7112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Troy
#2 Family Hotel in Troy
Price range (per night): $145 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites are equipped with full sized refrigerators, microwaves, dishwashers and stove top ranges. These suites are perfect for both short-term and long-term travelers with high speed internet access, high-definition televisions with a wide selection of programming choices, two phone-lines and voice mail. Our highlight features include: • complimentary high speed internet access• complimentary Suite Start (R)hot breakfast daily• complimentary Evening Social(R) meal Monday- Thursday• indoor heated swimming pool and on-site fitness center • business center with high-speed terminals, scanning and copying• fully equipped kitchens • High definition televisions with full HD Cable programming • 24 hour suite shop • 24 hour desk staff• on-site guest laundry • valet service • upscale décor in a secure interior corridor hotel setting• grocery shopping service • complimentary USA Today• Hilton's 100% Suite Assurance guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Homewood Suites Troy
Homewood Troy
Troy Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing