We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable condo and we look forward to returning!”
Review of North Shore Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Shore Inn
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife, daughter and I just spent 2 nights on New Years weekend. The check in and payment process was easy. Upon unlocking our condo, we were greeted with a small Christmas tree to the delight of my family.

While the condo was small, it worked perfectly for us. It had a queen bed and a pull out sofa. The kitchen was well stocked with pans, plates, utensils etc. the fridge was ready for us to stock. A small dishwasher was also included although we handwashed our dishes.

The only concern is the bathroom. It does not have a tub which wasn't a problem for us. The shower is small but was fine for us, may be a tight fit for larger people.

The living room area included a 42" flat screen TV. A DVD player was also supplied. A walk out balcony is off the living room providing a great view of the bay.

As we're there in the winter, we didnt use the pool area or decks. There is a nice boardwalk leading out to the beach and water. We walked down to take some pictures.

My wife is already talking out booking this facility again for next NYE or maybe a long summer weekend.

I would definitely recommend this hotel/condo!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekHoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Hello,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and photo! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay from the moment you walked in! I hope you were able to watch the Cherry Ball Drop downtown to ring in the New Year! It's always a fun crowd with plenty of music and excitement! I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Traverse City!
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
Phone: (800) 968-2365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

We travelled to Traverse City for the first time in Oct 2011. We rented a 2 bedroom condo at the North Shore Inn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The condo was very clean. My only complaints that I would have is the light that shines in on the 1 bedroom that was facing the stairwell. The problem could be fixed with new windowcoverings. Also, the condo could use some updating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review! October is such a beautiful time of year to visit Traverse City! I apologize for the extra light that shined into your room. We will take care of that situation right away! I hope you consider staying with us again on your next trip to Traverse City!
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
Phone: (800) 968-2365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We recently stayed at North Shore Inn and this is the first review I am ever writing online. I agree with previous reviews that the one bedroom units have very small bathrooms, especially the showers. If you drop the single bar of soap you get look out, you can't pick it up without turning off the shower and opening the door! But in fairness the unit was very clean. Furnishings need to be upgraded. Our TV was small, old, and poor quality compared to all the flat screens out there for cheap. We happen to hit bad weather and baseball playoffs were on. It would have been nice to have a quality TV. Finally the bed was a small queen for two adults. Mattress was soft (old). All in all the room was really designed for tiny adults. I am not one of those. Since the building manager cannot rebuild the units I finish my review on a positive note: clean adequate room, nice front desk, beautiful water view.

Room Tip: Corner suites 2 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Hello,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at the North Shore Inn! All of our owners are currently making several updates in their units. Every room in our building will have a new bed(s) by spring. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the water view! I hope you consider staying with us again on your next trip to Traverse City!
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
Phone: (800) 968-2365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

For many years our family has enjoyed staying at North Shore. We have stayed there in every season. Spring for weekend getaways, July for Cherry Festival, Autumn for the beautiful Fall colors and one year, my daughters and I spent January and half of February in one of the loft units. It is always clean and comfortable. The staff is wonderful...always very accomodating. The beach is superb. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else while in Traverse City. This place is simply THE BEST!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Hello!
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm pleased to hear you've been able to enjoy Traverse City with us during all seasons of the year! A lot of people only think to travel here in the summertime (which is undoubtedly an AMAZING time of year) but Northern Michigan has so much to offer year round! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Traverse City.
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
Phone: (800) 968-2365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

My wife and decided to stay at the North Shore Inn because of it's location and view of the water. We booked our reservation about a month ahead of time, and had no problems with booking the place. We reserved a 1 bedroom, 1 bath condo, which was on the 2nd floor, and had a nice view of the water.The place (Room #202) was very clean, and very nice. Perfect size for the two of us. The kitchen, bedroom, and family all decent sizes for two people. The one drawback was the bathroom size. The shower is a stand up shower that is on the small side, and Im sure that is why they don't mention much about the bathrooms on their website or in the pictures they show. I am about 5'11 215lbs and the shower was pretty small for someone my size. It was not horrible, but it would have been nice if it was a little bit bigger. My wife also stated that she had a hard time shaving her legs as well. The only other drawback is that the windows in our unit were pretty drafty. It was VERY windy (40mph winds) that weekend, so that could have been the big reason, but they could use some weather stripping on the windows and doors.
All in all, we would definitely come back. Very clean, good location, good price, and when we arrived back after our first day there, there was a halloween candy bag, which was very thoughtful. Another nice benefit to this place was that it also includes free passes to "Fit for you health club" in Traverse city, which is nice if you want to hit the gym.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double-O-Negative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean6484, General Manager at North Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Hello,
Thank you for taking time to write a review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return to the North Shore Inn during a future trip to Traverse City. I'm also happy you enjoyed your goodie bag! We like to do special little things as often as possible for our guests to let them know how much we appreciate them!
Thank You,
LaBonte Management
Phone: (800) 968-2365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
4.6 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
433 reviews
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1.3 km away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Inn

Address: 2305 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $105 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Inn is a charming New England style condominium hotel on Grand Traverse Bay. With a picturesque beachfront setting with private sandy beach, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, and 26 spacious luxury 1 and 2 bedroom units with completely equipped kitchens and sleeping up to 5 people, the North Shore Inn offers a perfect setting to enjoy the four-season beauty of the Grand Traverse region. The hotel enjoys a great central location convenient to dining, shopping, golf, snowmobiling, skiing, two nearby gambling casinos and numerous award-winning wineries. In the off season, reduced weekend and mid-week packages are featured, as well as Auto Club, AARP discounts.(offered November- April) Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing