We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
185
125
53
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
125
53
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beachsister propertywafflescontinental breakfastbeachfront roomgrand beachindoor poolplenty of chairsbeach viewfirst floorfamily suiteevery morningground floorbeach chairsthe breakfast areaboiled eggsnice resort
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This place is a great find ON THE BEACH!!Staff is friendly and helpful with local questions. A short 10-15 minute ride to downtown where you will find great restaurants and a lovely walk path along the lake. Try an early morning walk at sunrise, or after dinner enjoy watching the sailboats glide through the water. I would definitely stay here again. I found my better rate with a general google search of the town and they matched the online rate!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is wonderful that you were satisfied with our great location and views here on Grand Traverse East Bay! We are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to have you book directly, which is why we love to price match rates for all of our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a beautiful resort with a wonderful location on our favorite bay. Unfortunately, our stay here was not optimal. We love the private beach, but, apparently it is not private anymore. People NOT staying at the resort just park and use the beach and help themselves to the limited number of beach chairs/umbrellas. Yes, we witnessed that more than once. And I'm paying how much a night for a private beach??? The last night there the fire alarm went off. Waited and waited and waited outside, midnight, 1 a.m., while the fire department checked it all out. One young hotel clerk was on the midnight shift and was not experienced in handling the situation. No explanation from the hotel the next day, no apology, no nothing. Shoving a piece of paper with an explanation/apology under the door along with our bill would have been a professional move. People were standing outside in the chill of the night, many with young children in their pajamas. Do request a room away from the breakfast buffet. It was super noisy in the morning, no sleeping in.

Room Tip: Do not get a room adjacent to the breakfast room (the bridge) if you want to sleep in. Super noisy on the weekends. Sound travels.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat26S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As we are located directly on East Bay we do have a favored location here. One of the benefits of not being located directly next to one of the public beaches is that we do not usually have, nor do we allow random people to come use the beach. We do even employ beach attendants to make sure that the beach is one of our prized amenities and well taken care of. In saying this, we do however, offer the water sports rental company on part of the beach and it is open to everyone our guests included. This does then carry some overflow in people waiting for their boat and parasail appointments. We sincerely apologize that the fire alarm went off during your stay. We do understand that it took longer than we would have liked for the fire department to complete their check, however, they were doing their due diligence to make sure that everything was okay for our guests and staff. My apologies again for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel in Traverse City. The interior of the hotel and rooms have been tastefully refreshed.

They asked for a mobile phone number at check in and sent us text messages and answered any questions we had via text throughout our stay; a great idea in my opinion.

A beautiful location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tres K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your visit to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is superb that you are pleased with our new renovations and updates to the property! Our mobile texting service is a favorite of ours to make sure that we are here for you at anytime during your stay, we are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do! We hope to have you with us again during your next visit to the beautiful Traverse City area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Love it every time I stay! This stay was treat after picking up and reuniting with a former shipmate; and what better place than by the water (although shark & salt free;)!! Comfortable beds, clean facility- including the pool area, and a friendly staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BeeEwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. I am delighted that we are able to keep you coming back and remaining a treasured loyal guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! Bright, beachy themed inside and out. Clean rooms, comfortable bed. The complimentary breakfast was ok. It got us started on our days- cereal, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, breads. The people behind the desk were all very friendly. We'll definitely stay again! Loved being right on the water.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeinOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is wonderful that you were pleased with our newly renovated property and rooms. I am glad that our staff was welcoming and friendly during your stay here. We look forward to seeing you on the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews