We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

So many choices to choose from as far as hotels on the water in Traverse City. This is a pretty clean Hotel and I love the colors that they used which makes you feel like you are in a hotel in Florida. The pool area and jacuzzi we're also really clean, not so much of a breakfast in the morning but you can find something there that will fill you up. Stay there for 4 nights and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad to hear that you chose our resort to stay at with many to choose from. We just finished the renovation in the spring and we are very proud it so we are happy you enjoy it too. Our guest's feedback does mean a lot to us so we will pass on your feedback about our continental breakfast to our Director of Operations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This place is a great find ON THE BEACH!!Staff is friendly and helpful with local questions. A short 10-15 minute ride to downtown where you will find great restaurants and a lovely walk path along the lake. Try an early morning walk at sunrise, or after dinner enjoy watching the sailboats glide through the water. I would definitely stay here again. I found my better rate with a general google search of the town and they matched the online rate!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is wonderful that you were satisfied with our great location and views here on Grand Traverse East Bay! We are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to have you book directly, which is why we love to price match rates for all of our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a beautiful resort with a wonderful location on our favorite bay. Unfortunately, our stay here was not optimal. We love the private beach, but, apparently it is not private anymore. People NOT staying at the resort just park and use the beach and help themselves to the limited number of beach chairs/umbrellas. Yes, we witnessed that more than once. And I'm paying how much a night for a private beach??? The last night there the fire alarm went off. Waited and waited and waited outside, midnight, 1 a.m., while the fire department checked it all out. One young hotel clerk was on the midnight shift and was not experienced in handling the situation. No explanation from the hotel the next day, no apology, no nothing. Shoving a piece of paper with an explanation/apology under the door along with our bill would have been a professional move. People were standing outside in the chill of the night, many with young children in their pajamas. Do request a room away from the breakfast buffet. It was super noisy in the morning, no sleeping in.

Room Tip: Do not get a room adjacent to the breakfast room (the bridge) if you want to sleep in. Super noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat26S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As we are located directly on East Bay we do have a favored location here. One of the benefits of not being located directly next to one of the public beaches is that we do not usually have, nor do we allow random people to come use the beach. We do even employ beach attendants to make sure that the beach is one of our prized amenities and well taken care of. In saying this, we do however, offer the water sports rental company on part of the beach and it is open to everyone our guests included. This does then carry some overflow in people waiting for their boat and parasail appointments. We sincerely apologize that the fire alarm went off during your stay. We do understand that it took longer than we would have liked for the fire department to complete their check, however, they were doing their due diligence to make sure that everything was okay for our guests and staff. My apologies again for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel in Traverse City. The interior of the hotel and rooms have been tastefully refreshed.

They asked for a mobile phone number at check in and sent us text messages and answered any questions we had via text throughout our stay; a great idea in my opinion.

A beautiful location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tres K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your visit to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. It is superb that you are pleased with our new renovations and updates to the property! Our mobile texting service is a favorite of ours to make sure that we are here for you at anytime during your stay, we are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do! We hope to have you with us again during your next visit to the beautiful Traverse City area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Love it every time I stay! This stay was treat after picking up and reuniting with a former shipmate; and what better place than by the water (although shark & salt free;)!! Comfortable beds, clean facility- including the pool area, and a friendly staff.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BeeEwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sugar Beach Resort Hotel. I am delighted that we are able to keep you coming back and remaining a treasured loyal guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.9 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.9 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,440 reviews
4.1 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1773 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $102 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel is situated on over 300 feet of the sugar sand beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay leading into the gorgeous waters of Lake Michigan and is as sweet as the name implies. Fully renovated in 2017, Sugar Beach Resort Hotel gives you the perfect location for local eateries, wineries, breweries and local shopping as well water sports right on the beach. The pillow-top mattresses ensure a great night’s rest and the view overlooking the bay while you enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast simply cannot be beat. After a day on the town relax in our heated hot tub, take a dip in our indoor pool, or work off the day’s indulges in our fitness center. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a spacious living room, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Sugar Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Traverse City
Sugar Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing