We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique beachfront resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I found an off season internet special on this beachfront studio at a price I could not refuse. The studio was about 4x the size for a motel room with full kitchen, 2 queen beds and a queen sofa sleeper. There was a huge flat screen tv between 2 sliders that lead out to your huge private balcony overlooking Grand Traverse Bay. I probably can't afford their high season rates but this was a great introduction to the property.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach frontage. You have to go outdoors to get to the indoor pool so dress according...
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kainay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Pinestead Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016

We have been coming here for 9 years. The people are so nice and especially Kim. She is very helpful. They are always doing things to improve the place too. I love to look out the window and look at the water. It is great for families. The water in the pool is warm too.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank iep806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We have been coming to Traverse City for over 25 years now and have stayed at several different properties but for at least the last 15 years there has been nowhere else to stay but the Pinestead. Its location on the beach is great and because the property is spread out and set back from the beach it is less crowded than other places. The units have been kept up with carpets and furniture changed and updated. We really never use the pool so can't comment on that. It is walking distance to several restaurants and just a short drive to downtown or the malls.Free wifi and cable TV. Just our favourite place to enjoy Lake Michigan.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children request ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northshoretraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Right on the beautiful beach, great view of the bay, nice sunsets. Rooms are large and roomy. Full size bedroom with 2 queens. Living room, dinette and 3/4 size kitchen with full size fridge and oven/stove which is nice when you just don't feel like going out. Pool is decent, although we spent all our time on the beach and in the bay. Ski jet, paddle board, kayak, etc.. Rental within walking distance on beach.

Room Tip: Get one on ground level for direct access to the beach
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Delbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Been coming here since the 80s as a kid. Now I take my son here. Great beach, great pool. The game room is dated though, old games that kinda work. My door in unit 335 stuck badly too. Great place over all.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
294 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
5.1 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3632
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $118 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing