We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinestead Reef Resort
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We prefer to stay close to the downtown area but had a hard time finding something with a kitchen on the water. Rooms were a good size but bedroom furniture was dated. Each condo has a large outside deck overlooking Lake Michigan.

Room Tip: Free wifi, lakefront, kitchen
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betsy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Pinestead Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

This was one of the best check-in experiences we've had during our travels. The terrific lady that greeted us on our Sunday arrival was very helpful with room selection, describing the property and suggesting local points of interest.
We enjoyed being here in the preseason. The evenings were pleasant and quiet. This resort is right on the water so listening to the waves was great.
We took a day to go to Mackinac Island and this was very doable from this location.

The one improvement we suggested was better smoking restrictions. Other guests were often smoking on their balcony near ours which made it necessary for us to close our doors. This was a let down. Coming from Arizona, listening to the waves was a real highlight when we could keep the doors open.

We really enjoyed the comfort and location and hope to return with more of our family in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedonacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We were spoiled for a night, we stayed on Mackinac Island and had a nice king suite, we did not think we would find anything like it. We did here!! We did not know they were condos. We were a little leery to walk in, from the outside it does not look the best but inside is updated. We got a room with 2 full size beds and a separate living area and full kitchen. The view alone was worth the price. In living and bedroom there was a sliding glass door that we could look at the Bay. It was beautiful!! We had the drapes open most of day so we could watch the waves. It was peaceful and relaxing! The only complaint I have is the front door was hard to close, it was catching on the top. Also, it is hard to get on the side of one of the beds. I have no other complaints. I can't wait to return. Do not let the exterior steer you away. No matter what room you are in you have a view of the bay!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Resort had great view of Grand Traverse Bay in rear area,was clean,but one bedroom was very cramped for even 2 people.Condo,or rather more like hotel suite(2 rooms) were clean and kitchen area was adequate.Rooms were very dark and depressing with very dark furniture,beds were killers,and even though there was an elevator a long way from room,the steps were killers for 2 seniors. Front desk reception was not very friendly,and the young lady at desk when we left,had pants on that exposed her entire butt crack,and didn't ask a word about our stay,and why we were leaving earlier than planned.Resort was on main road,so we listened to traffic all night,and somebody's car horn that kept going off,day and night in parking lot.....Not the relaxing visit I had expected....Was convenient to many restaurants......Would not go back,nor recommend to anyone....

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Queenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We spent a week there, April 10-17.We had a 2 bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. It was clean and comfortable. There is construction going on outside the property that started at 8am and was quite noisy. Luckily, we didn't spend the days inside so we tolerated it. The manager, Gary, came to see us to see if we needed to change or go to a daytime unit. It was lovely of him and we really appreciated his consideration, even though we stayed put.
We are glad to see our maintenance fees being put to work and to see the improvements each time we return. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1finesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
294 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Haus Resort
Beach Haus Resort
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
5.1 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3632
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $121 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing