We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
253
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented chaletsgame drivesgreat hostsself catering cottagethe reserveat homea special placepool deckyour doorstephis wifefell in loveperfect guidewild animalsstayed for two nightswindy weatherstar accommodationtook great care
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Muweti Bush Lodge is a small private lodge in the Grietjie Nature reserve which is in the Balule and forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. Because of the size of the lodge it is a very intimiate lodge with a lot of soul.You will only get the best personal treatment from Mike and Laura.

I had the wonderful previlliage of getting engaged at Muweti this weekend and I have to say that It could not have been more perfect place.When I told Mike and Laura what my plan was for the weekend they did everything they could to make it as special as it was.From the moment we stepped into the gates of Muweti we were treated and spoiled like we were royalty. I have to compliment Laura for the food it was absolutely fantastic.Being a bush lover myself I had a great time going on game drives with Mike who is a endless source of konwledge on the bush.

If I have to describe Muweti with one word(which I can't) it would be PASSION!! Passion for the bush passion for their guests and passion for life!! At Muweti you won't get the feeling of being at home at Muweti you will know that you are home.

Thank You Muweti for giving us a lifetime of memories!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DieLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraJoLimpopo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Hi Nico,

What a wonderful weekend and so special to be able to share in one of the happiest days in your life. Congratulations on your engagement and Mike and I wish you both all the very best for the future.

Laura & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stopped off at Muweti for two nights on our way from Satara rest camp in Kruger to Phalaborwa and wished we had booked for a longer stay! The property is within Balule Nature Reserve by Kruger National Park and you never know what might cross your path as there are no fences between it and Kruger. The elephants were elusive but we knew they were close by because of the tree damage and we could hear lions calling at night. But plenty of other game to see made it very interesting especially as our hosts, Mike and Laura, are so knowledgeable about not just animals but also trees and plant life. Speaking of our hosts - they are a lovely couple who made our stay so enjoyable and their love of and enthusiasm for Africa in general and Muweti in particular is so apparent and makes your stay even more special. The accommodation is stunning as well as practical and comfortable. You wouldn't think a tent could have so many mod cons! The public area around the pool is beautiful and the food is great. I don't eat red meat and Laura made sure I was well fed with fish and chicken! We were the only people staying at Muweti at the time so we had the place to ourselves but if the other tent had been occupied there would have been plenty of space and privacy. You can do as little or as much as you want - lounge by the pool with a book or go out on the morning and afternoon activities. Sundowners and breakfast down by the river was magical. We would definitely return and recommend Muweti for a wonderful South African bush experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasperTurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muweti, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

We look forward to your return trip to de-stress, as you put it to us. We hope we will be able again to allow you to do that. Thank you for the excellent review and gald you enjoyed your weekend with us. We wait for your next visit. Kind regards from all at Muweti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here when I was on a photographic safari with Natural Exposure Photography & Safaris. The lodge is very well appointed, and the "rooms" have every mod con - especially since they were permanent tents - timber construction, thatched roofs and canvas walls. The public area has a well stocked bar, swimming pool and deck overlooking the bush with its constantly changing display - lots of different birds, elephants, giraffes, kudu.

I was the only guest and Mike and Laura made me feel very comfortable and welcome. Meals are eaten at a large shared table which made the evenings very convivial, and Mike pours a mean Gin and Tonic.

Mike is very knowledgeable about all things bush and the sunset drives were interesting and relaxing, with sundowners on the river bank to the sound of hippos - except when the lions decided it was a good spot for their own sundowners.

Phalaborwa gate is about 30 mins from the lodge, and covers an area of Kruger National Park that is less visited so much pleasanter than the busier south.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here - and have already done so.

I can't really comment on the value as it was booked as part of a package but I was happy with the accommodation as part of the price paid for the package. Marking down on sleep quality is more due to my being a very light sleeper, so kept awake by the high winds we had one night buffeting the tent walls.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraJoLimpopo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Hi Kathy,

It was great hosting you at our lodge and very interesting to hear all about your photography course. I hope your trip to Namibia is fabulous, enjoy.

Warm regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkhulujo, Owner at Muweti Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews