We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
51
7
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
7
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suiteporch swinghot tubbed and breakfastmy husband and ihouse is beautifulyard
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Very nice house and rooms. Eating on the porch is nice, though it doesn't encourage talking with the other guests because the tables are too spread out. The first morning was raining, so we ate in the dining room, and people really enjoyed being together and talking. Breakfasts were very good. The bathroom was so-so. No door for privacy. The shower was very nice except that the shower head didn't spray properly, probably clogged. The room had an electric fireplace on the wall and a towel warmer in the bathroom. Rooms in South Haven are all pricey, even cheaper hotels, but I think this B&B is overpriced at $200/night.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank czook52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Nancy has a lovely bed and breakfast. The location is a very peaceful
Setting but a short drive to shopping and beaches. Wish we could have stayed longer! Hope to get back to Monroe Manor this fall for a bike tour or this winter for
crop country skiing.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed there shortly after we both retired. The host, Nancy, was very friendly and gracious. We had the Magnolia room; not overly spacious but very clean and extremely quiet. Besides, who needs a spacious room in the summer when you are close to the lake shore. There is a large front porch that wraps around 2 sides. We had breakfast there all three mornings we were there.

Room Tip: Parking is just enough for the 5 rooms and wouldn't accommodate an RV sized vehicle.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve0451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is our third BandB in the South Haven area so we may be a little spoiled but we found the Monroe Manner nice but a bit lacking. The area was very nice, removed from town, but not too far away. You can get to town in less than 5 minutes. The grounds were nice and well kept and the actual house was clean and room was nice. Breakfast was delicious! Very good food and great variety each day. We stayed four nights. The staff is friendly and pleasant.
The issues we had were that the room itself needed a little more TLC. There was some pretty big cobwebs and it needed a once over with the Swiffer. The hardware in the bathroom was a bit loose and things just needed tightening up by a maintenance person. The cold water shutoff leaked when you turned it on and there were multiple bulbs out in the room and bathroom. No deal breakers, just a little neglect. Also, the 'art' in the room was completely inappropriate. Pictures and paintings of naked people. This surprised us and made us very uncomfortable.
The other issue we had was the missing owner. She was a delightful lady when we talked, but she was hard to find, gone most days and when she did appear, really didn't give us a good overview of the Manor or how things worked.
Lastly, their materials were out of date. They advertised wine and snacks every day at 6, but when we showed up one day, the owner told us she hadn't done that in years. They write that you can eat inside or outside, but when we sat in the dining room one morning, they took our food outside as if that was the only option.
Again, all small things, but just a few constructive criticisms that we think could make this place really sing.

One thing to note about the Master Suite specifically: There is no way to shower, just take a bath. No big deal, just a surprise for us.

Again - This is NOT a horrible place. Very nice, overall. We just noticed a few things that were weird to us and things we didn't experience at our other BandBs.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DareFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights in the Monroe Room. The room and Inn are quaintly decorated. Located in a quiet area away from town noises. The bed was very comfortable and the shower divine. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews