We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff makes the place special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly staff makes the place special”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Looked for reasonably priced hotel within short drive to Lake Michigan and this hotel was perfect match. Took our kids to the beach and they loved the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite room with a seperate bed in a pull out coach and that was nice. We found all the bedding in the room! We last minute asked for a play pen and it was at our room in seconds flat. We also asked some questions and the courteous staff pointed us in the right direction. Free breakfast was full of choices and I used my first ever automated pancake machine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    68
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
63
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here one night with our two year old daughter. Location is right off the highway and a couple miles from downtown South Haven. It's two doors down from Sherman's Dairy Bar Ice Cream, a must-stop. The hotel itself could use a little more TLC, it seems they're trying to update it on the cheap. The hallways smell of paint and stale smoke. You can tell they've tried to clean the hall carpet - the corners are dirty black (like they couldn't get the carpet cleaner to get all of it), and there are several spots where it's terribly dirty. The pool area is a bit tired, and they seemed to have trouble keeping a fresh supply of pool towels handy, even though hardly anyone was using the pool while we were there. But once we entered our room - it was much nicer. Big clean room, no smell, nicely updated beds and decor. Big bathroom with tub and tons of counter space. Comfy beds. No road noise. And a room fridge, which really came in handy for our left over pizza from Amicarelli's Vineyard! The complimentary breakfast was pretty good - omelets, sausage, oranges and bananas, pancakes, yogurt, assorted breads and muffins. While it was a decent stay, if we stay in South Haven again we'll likely check out someplace new.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Dirty rooms, mold in shower, carpets are filthy. Place is dated and not clean. After they cleaned the room we had to ask for the towels and wash cloths. Stayed on second floor, had to go to first or third for ice. Sheets were pulled, linens were week and not very nice. Breakfast was discusting and they did not have much in the way of healthy options.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnhartk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Good value, average free breakfast. Hotel was clean although carpet in the hallways needed to be replaced. Would have preferred to be closer to the beach but overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

When we first saw this hotel in South Haven, we were extremely disappointed. Part of our disappointment stemmed from the fact that we had stayed in a wonder Holiday Inn Express in Holland and were expecting something similar. It's surprising that these two hotels are even in the same chain.

The room, which had two queen beds and a twin sofa bed, was spacious with a small refrigerator and microwave, but not clean. Someone had smeared the mirrors in the room and there were also a child's fingerprints. Mildew lurked above the shower stall as did a spider squatting in a cobweb. There was one piece of tissue in the dispenser in the bathroom. In the hallway a ceiling tile had fallen down and crumbled on the floor. The pool is small, there is no real place to sit. The windows around the pool area were clouded with steam and hard water deposits. We contemplated finding another room, but because it was late, and it was for only a couple of nights, we decided to stay.

For the two nights we stayed there the room was adequate. The beds seemed clean. The room didn't smell. Some of the shabbiness of the hotel should be addressed through a renovation.

I would probably have given this hotel two stars if it weren't for the wonderful service. The people working at this hotel are very friendly, in our experience more friendly than at many of the other hotels we have stayed. On our last day there, the employee managing the breakfast area noticed that we didn't make it down for breakfast in time, and gave my husband a tray of food left over from the breakfast period. That kind of kindness and personal touch made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STherese05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
357 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
147 reviews
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
191 reviews
37.4 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
39.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Address: 1741 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-7150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price range (per night): $125 - $414
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, IHG, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing