We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
USD 166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
USD 286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maplewood Hotel(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
USD 311
USD 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Quarters Motel(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
USD 143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 443
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judson Heath Colonial Inn(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
USD 297
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Oaks Inn(Saugatuck)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Resort(Saugatuck)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
80
40
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
40
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscouples massageparking spotmy husband and ithe temperature controlwithin walking distancemiddle of townceiling fanfirst floorget awaykevincondonoisesinkromamicrowavedowntownbutler
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed at the Dunesville Condo, which is run and rented by Bella Vita through their website but is located at 315 Waters St. (not at the main hotel building). This review is specific to the Dunesville Condo. It was great, with some caveats.

PROS:
Modern yet cozy beach-themed decor
Lots of windows and natural light
Spacious
Comfy bed
Great location (across the street from the waterfront -- although no view of the water -- and within maybe a 4-5 block walk to everything in Saugatuck)
AC is powerful (only tried cold, although I assume heat works well too)
Free wifi

CONS:
Email confirmation said labeled parking space is available directly behind building -- turns out it was neither labeled nor directly behind our building (the lot was directly behind the building next to ours though, and the spot labeling had been washed away over the years)
Email confirmation told us the specific "unit" number (i.e. the apartment number) in this multi-condo building. While other condos had numbers, this one did not, making it harder to locate.
Email confirmation gave us door lock code but failed to mention that it only opens the door at the rear of the building, not the door lock of the main front door of the building (thank goodness we arrived before the front desk closed because we were able to call and find out how to get in)
TV set is big but unfortunately does not work (instructions on living room table mention DirectTV when they instead have Comcast cable box -- although in either case, the TV only gave static when the cable box was turned on)

NOTE:
They clearly state on their website that toiletries and daily room cleaning are not included. It turns out that this means they will give you towels, a quarter of a pump soap bottle for the sink, and lots of toilet paper. I wish they had said on the website that towels and toilet paper are included; luckily we didn't pack those, but I honestly had no idea what to expect until we arrived. Website could have been clearer so we knew in advance exactly what wouldn't be in the condo (bath soap and shampoo, but everything else except maybe a tissue box is in there).

OTHER: No breakfast included, but there's so much good food in Saugatuck that it doesn't really matter. It was a bit pricey, but not more so than most of the hotels and B&Bs in the area that are remotely decent.

CONCLUSIONS:
This place was great! Big, comfy, nice looking, centrally located. The only downside was that the website and confirmation email had lots of misinformation (wrong location of parking spot, said parking spot was labeled when it wasn't, said apartment number was labeled when it wasn't, gave door lock code that only worked for hard to find back door rather than also the obvious and easy to find front door, said it included cable tv when it didn't and the concierge didn't know how to make it work) or missing (didn't specify which toiletries were or were not included). Those downsides were more minor annoyances gotten out of the way fairly quickly, but they did make the hotel company appear to not know its own properties and seem much less professional than most hotels. They are also fairly easy to fix, either by actually fixing the problems (e.g., relabeling the parking spot, adding the unit number to the side of the building, recoding the front building door lock, fixing/actually paying for cable TV) or just warning the consumer in their confirmation email (e.g., clarifying that the parking lot is not actually behind the building, etc.).

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank amess002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for a nice relaxing night but there were some issues. First off the place is really nice and clean and the gas fireplace was a very nice touch. But the walls are paper thin and you can here everything and everyone! They even give you ear plugs and a noise machine. But the couples in the suites next to us were wicked drunk and made so much noise in the hallway we had to ask them to stop. But they didn't and were super loud for the next 2 hours. It was at least 2am before they were quiet enough we could sleep.

If you want quiet and relaxing without ear plugs I would not recommend this place. For what they charge I am sure you could find a quieter B&B.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Clawler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Reserved the Milano Suite. Received a written confirmation stating so. Upon arrival, we were escorted to the Florenzia Suite--Milano was occupied by another party. Supposed owner/manager Kevin was not available in person--only on phone. Kevin was extremely rude and unprofessional on phone stating that even though you receive a written confirmation requesting a room, it is not a guarantee. I stated that if my reserved suite was not available, Bella Vita should have called to inform me, giving me an option to cancel. Refrigerator in Florenzia did not work and smelled like a skunk. This was reported to service desk with no action taken. This was my second time here, but would never stay again. Extremely disappointed! Something has changed with this establishment.

Room Tip: Website has you choose a particular suite. You are NOT guaranteed this suite.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank cinderellasoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella-Vita-Saugatuck, Owner at Bella Vita Spa + Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

We are so very disappointed to read this negative review and feel compelled to share with our future guests more details of this particular traveler’s stay. Bella Vita Suites has a total of six rooms, each of which features a king bed, gas fireplace, flat screen television, kitchenette and dual head shower. The only difference between any of our rooms is the way in which they are decorated; every room has the exact same amenities. When a room is reserved we immediately send a confirmation via email stating the dates of the reservation and the particular room which has been chosen. Our GUEST ROOM POLICIES are also included in the confirmation which state the following verbatim: “While we will make every effort to honor specific room requests; we cannot guarantee specific rooms”. The reason this policy is in place is to ensure that if a room becomes damaged beyond being able to be immediately repaired before an incoming guest arrives we are able to move a guest to room that has no damage. In our seven years of business we have only had to move a guest to different room a total five times. In this particular case, a guest who was staying three nights and who had checked in the night prior (to the above reviewer) had reserved a room whose fireplace had been damaged by the previous guest. So, being a chilly October Sunday, we moved the guest to the only open room that we had in order to provide everything we advertise: king bed, gas fireplace, flat screen television, kitchenette and dual head shower. The day before this reviewer checked in they were sent a revised confirmation showing the room change. Upon arrival, this guest became extremely agitated and could not understand that the room we moved them to was identical to the other room with exception of different bedding and wall hangings. We tried to explain that we would have done the very same for them had the room they reserved become damaged before they checked in. The broken refrigerator mentioned in the review was not ever brought to our attention until the guest was checking out at our front desk. Had this issue been brought to our attention it would have been dealt with and resolved immediately. We are saddened that this guest did not have an enjoyable stay, however, occasionally rooms are damaged beyond our control which is exactly the reason that we do not guarantee specific room requests. What we do guarantee is that you will receive the same quality of room that you are expecting which is exactly what this guest received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

We rented the harbor view suite with another couple for a weekend getaway. The condo was clean, spacious and had a great layout. Kevin was very helpful with any questions or suggestions. Location is great for walking downtown and offers a great view of the water. Will stay again next summer.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

My sister and I were on a getaway for one night sans kiddos! It's hard to find one-of-a-kind places like this that will allow a one night stay (on a Sunday night, no less). I appreciated that that us just part of what they do. We stayed at the "Sandals on Butler" studio apartment above a shoe store. It was exactly as tasteful, modern, and clean as pictured. The kitchen was very modern. This place was perfect for us. One warning--the bathroom is tiny, and the shower is very small. The water pressure was awesome, but the (new, clean and nice) shower head was installed very low! I am 5'8", and had a nice shower, but anyone much taller will have to bend quite a bit to wash their head. The bed was comfy. We were still there, but just about to walk out, at 11:30 when the cleaners arrived, (checkout was 11), and they were totally understanding and friendly. Asked how our stay was, etc. One thing I'd recommend doing is changing the room's four digit entry password more often. I know it's been the same for a long time, by how worn down the numbers are on the keypad. I wasn't concerned for my safety since I'm well aware that Saugatuck is no crime capital. There are some that might be very nervous, though. Overall, I am very happy and would recommend this lovely apartment to any couple looking for a place to stay right in the middle of everything in one of my favorite MI towns.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank EMILY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews