We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
124
126
88
45
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
126
88
45
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mackinac island room was clean great view electric fireplace waffles hot tub lakeside room watch the sunrise sausage stayed two nights view of the lake family vacation mini fridge beach area upper peninsula definitely stay here again great room
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights while on vacation reserving a lakeside jet tub king bed with a balcony. The price was very reasonable for booking online. Arrived at the hotel about 2 in the afternoon and was told the room was not ready, but they would call when it was.
Two hours later they still hadn't called back, so I called them only to be told it wasn't ready yet. I informed the desk person the time we first arrived to check in, and had been waiting for a phone call from them about the room for two hours, and were wondering what was going on. The 2:00 desk person never said check-in was 4:00. Finally got into the room at 4:30... not to impressed with how it was handled.
The room was comfortable, but a little tired looking. The beautiful view of the sunrise both mornings made up for it. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pile of pillows. The jet tub was a great relaxer after a full day on Mackinac Island.
The breakfast was served in the building across the parking lot where their front check-in desk is located making a little inconvenient each morning. It did have a good selection of things to eat. However, if you like some other meat with your egg rounds, they only serve sausage.
The hotel is only a few blocks from the ferry docks to go over to the island making it convenient. Took the advise from another reviewers to take your own bikes over. We were glad we did. Arnold Line is the cheaper of the ferry boats in both person tickets and bike ticket compared to the other ferry services.
All in all, not a bad experience, but would have to consider whether to stay here again or not.

Room Tip: The lakeside balcony is worth the price.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jalag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear jalag58,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. We regret that your stay did not meet our resort's usual high standards.

We have taken steps to address the issues you experienced, so they will not happen again.

We hope that next time you visit the area, you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Breakers Resort St. Ignace Lakeside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for one night stay in August. Unexpectedly got an upgrade to a lake view room. Clean and well appointed room with a fireplace and a balcony. Pool was nice and stayed open late. Pleasant little beach area on the property.
An outdoor shower would be nice to cut down on the people tracking sand into the pool area, from the beach.
Continental breakfast was cereals, waffles, eggs, sausage yogurt and fruit. Fruit selection was a little thin, but still alright.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank pippijonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear pippijonjones,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We enjoyed hosting you as our guest, and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the area.

Your comments have been shared with our staff and department supervisors.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Breakers Resort St. Ignace Lakeside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Our room was clean, the lakeview is very nice. The hallways smell strongly of cleaning products, which didn't bother us too terribly but may some. The beach is not well kept- goose droppings are everywhere in the yard and on the beach.

The check in staff member we dealt with was courteous and professional, yet some of the others were not as much. The breakfast was your basic continental, again, fine but not extraordinary.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Whitney B,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it allows us to improve our resort for future guests. Your comments will be shared among our staff and management.

We enjoyed having you as our guest, and look forward to hosting you again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Breakers Resort St. Ignace Lakeside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed at this motel last week. We didn't see any of the clean bathrooms. There were layers of hair, dust, etc in the bathroom floor. The front desk clerk was THE RUDEST I have ever spoken with in my years of being a motel guest! The area around the motel and beach side was so covered with sea gull droppings that it was not possible to be outside. The air conditioner will not cover the noise level at the motel! Look elsewhere for a motel on your vacation, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel is my best advice
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilyfarmer1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear lilyfarmer1963,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay, and regret that we fell short of your expectations.

Your experience does not meet our standards and is not typical for our hotel. We will be looking into the issues you experienced and they will be discussed among our staff and management team.

Please give us a call if you wish to discuss your stay further. We strive to provide an enjoyable, quality stay to each and every guest.

We hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Breakers Resort St. Ignace Lakeside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

It is obvious to Choice Hotel members that this used to be a Comfort Inn. Not much has changed but the name. As Comfort Inns go, this is about average. It still has the typical breakfast menu, but you'll have to walk to the main check-in building as the restaurant is not in the hotel. Take an umbrella if it looks like rain. The view from the rooms is very appealling. Ask for the upper floors. There is a nice beach, but the flying insects make evening outside less enjoyable (same with all hotels in this town).

Room Tip: upper floors for best views of Mackinac Island. Lower floors for the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tiphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackinawAJ, Manager at Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear tiphys,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and enjoyed our great lake views.

We enjoyed hosting you as our guest, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
Breakers Resort St. Ignace Lakeside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews