We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Wife and I have been there before. So looking for an overnighter about 2.5 to 3 hrs away, this is perfect. Nothing extra special but worth the trip. Old established inn /bar/ restaurant. About 7 rooms above the bar/rrestaurant. Very nice and up kept with interesting decorations. Fun on the weekends for sure. Walking distance to the St Clair river with a gorgeous boardwalk. Walk/sit and watch the huge lake freighters go by accompanied by go fast boats. You feel as though you can almost touch Canada.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twaflstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the second time I've stayed here, and even though it's only a half-hour from home, it feels like being on vacation. (My husband & I often come for dinner.) The building is historic and the decor of the rooms reflects that. Staying here feels cozy and laid-back.

Be advised that all the rooms are on the second floor, up several stairs. Also, If you would rather sleep than take part in the festivities in the bar, I recommend you request a room in the back, and bring earplugs. Check-in is at the hostess station between the dining room and pub, so female solo travelers might feel a bit self-conscious if they're checking in when the joint is jumping. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, though.

The continental breakfast of coffee, tea, juice, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, and cerals is more than ample to send you on your way. Enjoy it on the Inn's beautiful front porch and watch the town come to life.

The only advantage of staying at the St. Clair Inn vs the Murphy Inn is that the St. Clair Inn is right on the river, and if your room is on the river side, the freighters go right past your window. Otherwise, the Murphy Inn is the far better choice, and it's a short walk into town where you can freighter-watch to your heart's content.

Room Tip: The pub side of the dining areas has live music and karoake, so request a room toward the back of the building, and/or bring earplugs.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank lostvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We decided to stay here on our last night of holidays. Drove all the way from Port Austin down to Clay and back to St. Clair (I picked St. Clair from our travel book "Discover the Blue") and randomly chose this hotel. My husband was already pleased that we could stay here and eat here-the restaurant is part of the Inn. When we went inside to inquire about a room, the lady at the front desk said "We're glad you stopped here first" (nice welcome) and got the manager, Jenn to find us a room. She was also very pleasant and offered to show us the available room which was quaint and comfortable, we decided to stay and she informed us there was a continental breakfast included in the $80 room charge. She also advised us the food in the restaurant was really good and hoped to see us soon enjoying a pitcher of Margaritas and relaxing. We also had dinner in the downstairs restaurant that night: we shared the drunken mussels, seafood enchiladas and chicken quesadillas since it was Mexican night but they also have a regular menu with lots of variety to choose from. The food was delicious, the service amazing. We had the continental breakfast the next morning before leaving. It was a great experience staying here. The location was good, the value for our money, great, the cozy room with it's comfortable bed and pillows and lot of soft, fluffy towels was a plus. What really makes this place stand out: every employee we met was smiling and eager to please, they make you feel like family! We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Excellent, pleasant, friendly staff!!! Adorable 7 rooms above the restaurant which comes with a complimentary breakfast. A great place to have fun, meet people, karaoke, bands and a great menu. I have been back more than once and soon to go back again for a weekend getaway. Walking distance to a plaza, some restaurants and a beautiful park with a view of the river. A nice road trip from the Canadian side to the Walpole Island Ferry across to Algonac, Mi and 20 mins. to St, Clair is well worth it. Thanks to the Murph :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisagirl0029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We were wanting to stay at the Bluewater Motel and have dinner at River Crab, but unfortunately the motel was full, so we thought we'd give the Murphy Inn a try, since the St. Clair Inn is a definite never again. We were so glad we did. What a charming old house. Rooms are clean, bedding very fresh and the owners very welcoming and friendly. A beautiful little continental breakfast was provided for the four of us in the morning with fresh fruits, muffins, cereals, fresh coffee and juices. Although we did not have dinner there, the restaurant was full with people waiting to be seated. It was obvious they had a thriving repeat local business. We were cautioned by the owners when booking that it was a Karoke night in the bar and the noise level would be quite high in the rooms, all they could do was put us in the back of the house...so we took the opportunity to stay up and enjoy the Karoke which was real fun...they had some fabulous singers. This is a great fun little place to stay, and we will definitely be back to stay again and next time have dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews