We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family stop for travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good family stop for travel”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had the basic room and it was fine. Clean, reasonable size. The breakfast was fine. Good pool facility.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbanks945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    15
    10
    13
See reviews for
47
40
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tilbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We spent the weekend for a shopping excursion.
We spent 104.00 for 1 night.
A bit dated decor however it was air conditioned nicely! We were given Rm 428 non smoking. The room smelled like smoke. I'm sure the rooms must have been 'smoking' back in the day. I sprayed some body spray to eliminate the odour. That worked.
The bed was comfortable firm, lots of pillows! The bathroom was clean.
We went swimming. The pool and hot tub floor was dirty looking. But we felt comfortable enough to swim. The water temp was perfect. No life guards, just friendly adults with their children. There was a play area for children in the pool area and an outdoor private area with patio furniture for adults. There is a game room with video games, a computer room and the morning paper is offered during breakfast hours.
The breakfast was below average, sorry. They served biscuits with 'sausage gravy' and eggs. The eggs were powdered and very watery/mushy. The sausage gravy, i had to ask what it was first before i dipped into it. What a combination for breakfast, sausage bits in what seemed like mushroom soup for your biscuit but it was good. There was a waffle maker that made perfect waffles with lots of syrup on the side. The coffee was very watered down. Management should change the breakfast. Real eggs, strong coffee and adding real meat could change a bad review into a positive one. Nothing against the kitchen workers, they only work with what they are given. The young student worker was the friendliest of them all. She said good morning at least and answered my question about the gravy dilema. All bread, cereal, donuts, bagels, milk, juice, yogurt and fruit (bananas) were full and stocked!
We had wireless internet, easy access from our laptop with the code.
The hotel staff were very nice, not a problem. I would have charged 60.00 per night.
Check in was 3pm and check out was 11am. We had more than enough time to enjoy the hotel room, relax in between meals, shopping trips and the beach at Lakeside Park.
Lovely trip... but it didn't take pictures of the room. It was nice and clean!

Room Tip: Ask for a genuine non smoking room, not refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prudence89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

To avoid any unexpected border delays, I checked in late around 11 pm to this hotel on August 1st in preparation for my appointment with an immigration officer at CBP the next day to get my US work permit. Given that this is a small town, my rating will be based on the availability of nice hotels in the area, not in comparison to the hotels that I stayed at in large cities. In other words, if you come to this hotel expecting the same type of accommodations from NYC, you would be disappointed.

PROS:
1. Clean and friendly staff
2. Comfortable beds
3. Breakfast was OK, it was free
4. Free parking
5. Just a stone throws away to the border/bridge

CONS:
1. The room smelled like a dog has been sleeping in my room when I entered. Partly because someone probably smoked in my room before (not allowed to smoke, there is $150 penalty). I hate smoking but did not complain as it was late and I only needed it for 1 night.
2. CRT Tube TV, LOL. It's the 21st century, time to update your TV as there is not much to do in Port Huron other than watch TV.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again when needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaikikiTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I stopped in at 1am and after a long ordeal of "king bed please" "you want double right" "no, king!" We finally got our room. Well we turned around and walked out after 2-3 minutes because it smelled horrible. It seemed like it used to be a smoking room- the whole hotel is supposed to be non-smoking now. We went to ask for another room, but ended up waiting in line forever while she checked in one family and gave another the right room key after messing it up. So at 2am when it was finally our turn in line, we decided to leave instead of trying another room to see if it smelled better. She refused to refund our money because we entered the room. We preferred sleeping in the car at a rest stop instead of paying for a night at this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tabstab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

You get a lot for 89.00. Good breakfast, pool and clean rooms and newly decorated. What's not to like after leaving pricy Canada?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jangling2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Huron hotels
1.4 km away
Best Western Port Huron/Hospitality Inn
7.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Port Huron
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn Port Huron
Hampton Inn Port Huron
#3 of 10 in Port Huron
492 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Huron
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Port Huron
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1720 Hancock St, Port Huron, MI 48060-2865
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Port Huron
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Port Huron
Price range (per night): $103 - $197
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port Huron, Michigan, a place like no other. The Quality Inn and Suites of Port Huron is conveniently located at the end of I-94E off of Exit 275 with easy access to Canada via the beautiful Bluewater Bridge and Lake Huron. If your preference is the beach, boating, fishing, diving, shopping, golf, business or pleasure, we are the perfect location for your home away from home. Port Huron, Michigan offers something for everyone and is located 60 miles northeast of Detriot, one hour east of Flint and 2 miles west of Sarnia, Ontario in Canada, allowing several day trips from our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Port Huron
Quality Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Port Huron
Port Huron Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing