We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have liked to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Petoskey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would have liked to stay longer”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We visited Petoskey in August 2011 and stayed just one night at the Perry. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were large with extremely comfortable beds. We weren't there king but would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmac1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    160
    44
    23
    16
See reviews for
137
355
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Polk, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I loved the history behind the hotel, but the hotel itself was not as impressive as I thought. Our intial room was VERY small. We had a room with 2 queen bed and I had to unfold my pack and play for my daughter... it didn't fit in the room. So, we had to switch to a different room with just one king bed and more expensive, but it would fit my pack and play. The carpets also look like they need a good shampooing. Overall disappointing. The breakfast was amazing though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Marie P:
Thank you for being a contributor to Trip Advisor and for taking the time to write about our hotel. I apologize that the room(s) you experienced did not meet your needs and expectations. There is no excuse for a dirty carpet and we have all of our carpets cleaned in the Fall and Spring each year. We are an historic hotel and as such our guest rooms tend to be smaller than modern hotel rooms. Overall size of a guest room is one consideration we use to set the rate, along with the view. As a note, we do have a few smaller pack and play units that we provide for the convenience of our guests.
Sincerely, Reg Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel is in a great spot, but we were eating at the bar of one of their restaurants
and the bar staff was arguing over something. They were loud and rude to each other and a little snappy with us.

Room Tip: If you stay eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Patty 1953,
Thank you for being a contributor to trip advisor and for bringing to our attention a situation that needs to be addressed with our staff. I apolgize for the unprofessional behavior you witnessed and poor service that you experienced. If you would like to contact me personally we would further investigate the situation and make amends where necessary. I will bring this issue to our staff's attention and our goal remains to provide service to every guest as they would recieve from friends and family at home. Sincerely, Reg Smith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The accommodation was very comfortable, the dinner was delicious and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We were in Petoskey for Cross country skiing at Wildwood and were not disappointed but hope that next year the Xskiing will be better. We'll be back if they continue to cater to our group.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The premium for the premium rooms is worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Fahrter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, IN
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Perry is a charming hotel in a great location in beautiful Petoskey. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and they have the softest sheets ever! It's an old, historic hotel, so know that it's different from a modern hotel- set your expectations accordingly. They take great care of you. If your drain is stopped up, they're there in a flash.
As far as food goes, they cover all the bases. The breakfast in the Rose Room was outstanding- beautiful presentation, absolutely yummy (and they give you a $25 voucher for it). I highly recommend their egg white omelet with aspargus, spinach and feta cheese! Great wait staff in the mornings. The Noggin Room's food is casual and tasty-having entertainment that's good for young and old is a big plus (weekends in the winter).

You can walk a block and have fun shopping and other dining (I recommend Chandler's).

If you want a lovely, comfortable place to stay in Petoskey that's within walking distance of downtown, the Perry's it. (If you're looking for something even more restful, check out Stafford's Bay View Inn.)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackinacMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerReg, General Manager at Stafford's Perry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the followers of trip advisor. Petoskey is a great destination any time of year and we are proud to be the downtown hub of our resort town. As you mentioned, a 110 year old building does have its challenges from time to time but our staff is quick to respond so that any issues are resolved. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petoskey
1.7 km away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
2.5 km away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
738 reviews
6.0 km away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford's Perry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford's Perry Hotel

Property: Stafford's Perry Hotel
Address: 100 Lewis St, Petoskey, MI 49770-2449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Petoskey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petoskey
Price range (per night): $159 - $457
Hotel Class:3 star — Stafford's Perry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petoskey's only downtown lodging establishment is a charming, full service, boutique hotel that has been welcoming travelers since 1899. 75 individually designed guestrooms and suits, many of which are newly remodeled with individual climate controls, tiled showers and in room refrigerators. Larger suites and ADA accommodations are additional new offerings. Overnight stays at the Perry Hotel include vouchers for a full service cooked to order breakfast in the H.O. Rose Dining Room overlooking Little Traverse Bay or seasonal dining outside on the Lewis Street Porch. Evening activities include craft cocktails, local brews and pub fare in the Noggin Room pub. Downtown Petoskey is just steps away and features outstanding restaurants and unique shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stafford's Perry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffords Perry Hotel Petoskey
Staffords Perry Petoskey
Stafford's Perry Hotel Petoskey, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing